We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but some short-comings”
Review of Lake View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located on the busy A4086 road to the west of Llanberis in Gwynedd, Wales. For those rooms at the front of the hotel, its lakeside location offers views of the picturesque (lake) Llyn Padarn. From the hotel, there is a 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Llanberis where there are many shops and restaurants. The hospitality offered to us by our host and hostess was superb and the food that they prepared for us was splendid. However, we encountered a few short-comings which would make us a little hesitant about returning again - at least to the particular room that we occupied (Room 7). The room was much smaller than we anticipated, particularly, in the bath-room area - wherein there was only sufficient space for one person at a time. Our room was also quite noisy due to passing traffic on the busy road outside. Indeed, I hardly got any sleep on Sunday night as a result of the noise made by passing vehicles. Being near a lake and lots of trees, we also found the midges around the hotel, and in our bedroom, something of a nuisance. Despite these short-comings our stay was reasonably comfortable.

Room Tip: A room away from the road may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

A very tired hotel that needs lots of TLC. The stairs to the bedrooms are very steep and have a loose banister rail, Mountain scrambling ability would be of help. The "Garden" consists of mountain scrubland and is not as attractive as nature intended, however the breakfasts were good and the staff frienndly

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lake view room as it is nice to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Lake View and had a great time. Mike, the host, is a character who really does look after his guests although sometimes disappears! The hotel is in need of refurbishment but is spotlessly clean. Nice bar and residents lounge. The bedrooms are quite small but adequate for a short break and the bathroom only had a small shower cubicle. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was well cooked. The menu was varied as long as you like chips or rice, salad garnish but lacking fresh vegetables. There is a road between the hotel and the lake and trees block out the view. Great staff and service this quirky hotel lives up to its 2 stars and is adequate for a short break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend as a base for climbing Snowdon. Good for basic 2 star accommodation. A bit tired in places but very clean. Food was very good, we ate in the evening and breakfast OK. Mike the owner is a real character and made our trip good fun, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely setting for the hotel overlooking the lake as the name suggests!
Clean and comfortable, a little tired but good or a short break. Meals in the restaurant were good as was breakfast. Hosts very willing to help and chat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel and I had a very pleasant few days. I don't understand some of the negative comments about this hotel. It's a 2-star hotel, and it more than delivered everything we'd expect from just that! The place was clean, warm and cosy, with a great atmosphere, but agreed there is some need of "doing up" - though again, for a 2-star place, this is not uncommon. The home-made food was excellent and plentiful after a day's hiking using local beef (very tasty!), and there's a nice bar to talk to other friendly guests. For a couple of walkers, it was everything we wanted and we had a great time staying there.
My only comment would be that it's very expensive for what it is - £72 for a basic double (not 4-poster!) - the Royal Victoria down the road is considerably cheaper (online at least) and is a 3-star. No doubt it misses some of the atmosphere of this place, but it might be a better option for some. I don't think this hotel justifies the price-tag, but is otherwise a perfectly pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is ideally located for Snowdon and surrounding walks, 10 minute walk into Llanberis. Several pubs, restaurants and tea rooms in town to suit all tastes. We ate at the hotel on the first night as we had endured a 6 hour drive, a varied menu served well and tasted good, so as we were exhausted after our Snowdon adventure we ate at the hotel a seond night. Also served well and of good quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast also good and served by a cheery pleasant lady. I could list the endless problems withe the decor, carpets, wall paper, dodgy electrics, loose sink in shower room, tiny plastic shower cubicle, not so private shower/ toilet room door BUT..... It is clean comfortable and served the purpose for our party this time, but I'm sorry I would not return

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
775 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View

Address: Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: $87 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lake View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Llanberis
Lake View Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing