We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for short breaks in Snowdonia”
Review of Y Gwynedd Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Y Gwynedd Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Llanberis B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal for short breaks in Snowdonia”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A bit tired here & there but helpful & friendly staff, great breakfasts & good & varied evening meals. Our room small double but comfortable. Great location in village, convenient for all attractions in Llanberis & Snowdon, with own small car park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
13
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

The service and food were excellent in the bar on Friday night arrival. Good tips gleaned from the bar staff for next morning including best route up Snowdon and using the bus not car to get to the starting point.

The bed was comfortable - the room clean. The shower was a trickle which was a shame.

Clearly a walkers hotspot it was good value, simple and clean.

We had a pleasant stay. Amstel and Peroni on draft helped as did the free wi-fi.

We also got recommended an Indian nearby which was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

staff couldnt be bothered, food was terrible and the place looked generally dirty and run down. Didnt view the bedrooms but definately would not stay there .......

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karriejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Just came back from 2 nights in Llanberis to climb Snowdon. Really happy with Y Gwynedd Inn. The room was clean and the food was lovely. The owner was very friendly and fixed our shower quickly when it broke. Would highly recommend. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuedeBres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Lovely hotel very clean and tidy, superb food and perfectly located for Snowdon. Great service and would use again and recomend to others.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a huge bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane186398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My family and friends were climbing Snowdon for charity and we stayed here for 2 nights. On arrival, there was a great deal of confusion over what rooms I had booked (2 doubles, 1 twin and a single). They insisted I booked 3 doubles and a single. I had the printed proof of confirmation but they still argued!!! And after all that unpleasantness on arrival they had a twin for us to use anyway.

Trying not to let the miserable start spoil the trip, we all went into the bar for a drink. My son (who is blind) took a sip of his drink and swallowed a small piece of glass, the glass must have been knocked on the pipe when it was poured. We explained what had happened and he was provided with a replacement!!! Fortunately my son suffered no ill effects, the staff appeared completely unbothered although when asked, they did come up with a telephone number for the doctor.

The rooms were very small, our ensuite had a sliding door which came off its hinges when we tried to use it. The large windows had tiny openings so no air could get it in, we had fabulous weather but this meant that the rooms heated up really quickly with such little ventilation. The bed was hard, it was very noisy all through the night with pub goers leaving, kitchen staff talking and smoking below some of the rooms and lots of road traffic noise in the early hours

Then we had dinner - 3 course table d'hote, was charged at £16.95. We went off the menu and choose other items as the choice was limited. I could write pages about the quality and quantity of the food. Disgusting pretty well sums it up. Most of us left more than half of the food on our plates as it was inedible, (even puddings were not eaten), yet not once were we asked if the food was okay. My husband and I didn't even order puddings having given up on the food, the bill for 2 starters and 2 dinners was just short of £40. The ingredients that we were served up probably cost no more than a couple of quid. We ended up eating our cheese rolls in our room!

Breakfast was equally appalling. No fruit or yogurt, just juice, cereal and then the fry up. Decaf coffee was instant. As we were walking up the mountain, we all went for the fry up. What a joke! the bacon was cold, and swimming in grease, the sausage didn't appear to contain meat! Mushrooms were wet (like boiled), egg over cooked - need I say more? Toast was from a plastic loaf. On the second day several of us opted for croissants instead (not as well - you could only have them if you didn't have the fry up). They had obviously come out of the freezer as there were wet bits in them - although not great they were an improvement on the fry up. One of my boys refused to even come into breakfast as the food was so poor.

Needless to say, on the second night we ate out!

Once we had checked out - paying over £700 between us, and were driving away, my friend said that they had tried to charge her for a meal on the second night. On checking my receipt I realised that we had all been overcharged. They had charged us for meals on the second night even though I had informed them that we wouldn't be eating in the pub. We drove back, and were told we couldn't get a refund onto our cards. I said we would take cash then, the guy said he would get into trouble and I just waited - eventually he 'found' the safe key and gave us the £99.90 that we had been overcharged in cash. He actually had the cheek to ask me for 10p change!!

Parking could also be a problem with room for only 2/3 cars in the car park most people have to park on the road.

Do not stay here, you would be better off camping. The rooms cost around £75 for a double, I wouldn't be happy to pay half of that for what you get.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, anywhere else, even camping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Hotel not open on arrival- only 1 off duty member of staff who let us in, otherwise we would have been not able to check in on arrival. The room was below average- really old fashioned and bathroom really terrible and so small you could not turn around properly.The shower totally needed replacing and was not pleasant to use. Thought cost of room was way overpriced as it was so basic and very old fashioned. the bed really lumpy too and no luxury duvet - it felt really uncomfortable like it had been used a million times.
Restaurant on first glance appeared well run and had a manager overseeing it. However the problems started when the chef refused to cook my husbands steak to order and then said how she was prepared to cook it and then when it arrived it was neither - just a cremated piece of meat and very opposite to what was asked for. very unprofessional kitchen staff to do that and did not like being told how we should order our food - it was ridiculous and a very old fashioned view on cuisine. Like lets burn it to a crisp or we cant serve it to you. Not very contempory approach and was more like school dinners or my grandmas cooking at its worst!!(no offence Grandma).

The bar was also a bit depressing it just seemed old fashioned in appearance and felt dated. Just not cosy and nice to snug up in and a bit reminicesent of working mans club.

I would not recommend this as a luxury or romantic escape. probably be best for walkers and school parties or passing overnight travel. It is definitly not for couples looking for a romantic retreat as it will really dissapoint. I think tariff was too high for what we got - i just felt dissapointed

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
#8 of 8 in Llanberis
40 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,286 reviews
13.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Gwynedd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Gwynedd Inn

Property: Y Gwynedd Inn
Address: Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4SU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Y Gwynedd Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Y Gwynedd Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Gwynedd Inn Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing