We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, well equipped self catering at the foot of Snowdon”
Review of Dol Peris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llanberis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dol Peris
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely house in Llanberis. A well equipped kitchen and proximity to shops and restaurants made it an excellent self catering base from which to walk Snowdon and Snowdonia. Peaceful, clean and comfortable accommodation with a wonderful view (room 1). We plan to return.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GeorgieGirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 95 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed a week in Dol Peris House in August 2013. Hosts Phill and Lisa took a very relaxed and informal approach which made me feel really welcome and part of their extended hillwalking and mountaineering family. The house has been very nicely refurbished with simple but comfortable and very clean rooms and bathrooms, great communal areas, and a well-equipped catering kitchen. The hotel is centrally located opposite the pub and next door to a small supermarket so very handy. There is a good drying room. This would make a great inexpensive base for hillwalkers or for families holidaying in Snowdonia, as well as those taking Phills mountaineering courses. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquelineM155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Arrived here on Sunday afternoon, Lisa let us in early as the room has been cleaned! Lisa gave us simple simple instructions on how to enter the house/room!

We enjoyed the super clean/fresh room/facilities and were gladly surprised to find clean towels awaiting us in the room!

Kitchen has everything that you need to cook food, fridge has little baskets and has more than enough room! Kitchen is well stocked and the complimentary free tea/coffee/herbal tea was great!

Dol Peris is right next to the SPAR supermarket and opposite the lake, it also sits next to a flowing river, which is lovely and relaxing! Everyone was friendly and the common room had a piano and fire inside :)

Excellent location for Llanberis/Snowdon and surrounding areas! Catch the Sherpa bus (only £1 single and 25 minute bus journey (number 1,2,3), which is just 1 minute walk right out of the hostel, outside a hotel and opposite a walkers shop, to Pen-y-pass car park to start the walk up the mountain via the Pyg/miners track if you want to save on the car park/congestion around that area, or drive up to Nant pass free car park and catch the Sherpa bus there but arrive before 11 to secure a parking space!

Enjoy

Room Tip: Room number 7 away from rest of rooms and next to the shared bathroom/toilets! perfect room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy8619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Dol Peris only opened for business in July 2013 but between them Phil & Lisa have brought some rare ingredients together to make this place welcoming, easy-going and family friendly. If you are happy to cook for yourself, and share a very well equipped kitchen with others, then this is for you. Whether you are up in the mountains all day or simply sightseeing you can be sure that when you get back to Dol Peris there will be a warm fire to relax in front of, somewhere to dry wet kit and a friendly chat with other guests, Phil & Lisa.
I had a single room, and shared a bathroom which I never needed to queue for. The place is clean, warm, in the heart of the village and just a stones throw from Pete's Eats. A lot of hard work has gone into this place and Phil & Lisa are still opening up more rooms. So, for me, a lovely place which I would definitely recommend to others and return to when next in Llanberis.

Room Tip: Check that your room has en-suite facilities if this is what you prefer. And book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Only stayed 1 night but made very welcome. The property is recently refurbished to a high but un-fussy standard. Rooms comfortable and clean. Shared kitchen means you can eat in or out as you wish and they cater well for the outdoor lover with a drying room. Be happy to use again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Great place to stay, me and a friend stayed for 5 nights when we came to climb the local area, lovely rooms and very comfy beds, also very reasonable priced compared to some other places. Will definitely book with them again.
Wayne K

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our 2 young children, my wife and I shared a family room which was lovely. The location was perfect for the village and Mount Snowdon. The shared kitchen, log fire, drying room, games a plenty and the other guests who were as lovely as our hosts made it a super stay. V good all round stay and we are looking to come back next year and staying in room 8 again

Room Tip: We liked our view from the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard2006/7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.8 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 7 in Llanberis
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
780 reviews
6.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dol Peris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dol Peris

Address: High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4HA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dol Peris is a self catering guest house ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dol Peris Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing