We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bed, 4 poster
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Master bed, 4 poster
View from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BackPacke...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unwelcoming”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location is ideal for walkers and climber but we did not feel welcomed by the owner. There was no suggestion that our arrival was expected.
Freezing cold on arrival. Took 24hrs to warm the place.
Washing machine leaking and fused the electrics.
Boiler cannot run the shower adequately, so frequently runs cold.
Kitchen facilities and implements were old and some unclean.
Backyard entrance gave a very poor first impression looking like an abandoned builders yard.
We made the best of it and enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Dear Peter, I am sorry for the delay in response to your review, I wanted to ensure we had actioned your comments before I came back to you. I am sorry about your less than ideal experience. Unfortunately there was miscommunication between myself and my cleaner (which was my fault) as to your arrival time and so the heating had not been prepared so I am very sorry for that. I can assure you that the boiler is fully serviced and does run lovely hot long showers and we have had compliments on this, however since your experience we have provided further instructions to future guests as in hindsight the best adjustments for this are not very clear. We were also not aware of the washing machine issue and we arranged a plumber to visit after your review, there is now a brand new washing machine installed so thank you for making us aware of this problem. I am pleased despite this you enjoyed your visit to the area and I hope you would feel it a more welcoming location another time. Once again sorry it was not the case on this occasion. Kind regards, Jasmine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark11111...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay ”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have stayed before and it was as lovely as last time
A great central location for walking and canoeing with lots to discover every time we have been back we find something new we missed last time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally W
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful location”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Really enjoyed our three day stay in the Snowdonia national park ,
Directions by jasmine ( the owner ) were very good
The cottage was lovely and warm when we arrived with a very welcome basket containing a lovely bottle of wine plus biscuits.
Our two dogs liked the walks all around the area ,( plenty of choice ) and we
visited portmerion and Caernarfon castle which we enjoyed.
Local shop is in easy walking distance and a good pub .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark11111...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed March 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We had an amazing experience the cottage was warm clean and had everything we needed the location was perfect to explore north Wales you can see Snowden from the garden and even see the cottage from the top
it's surrounded by beautiful walks that you can access right from the door with out needing a car
It's dog friendly but you would not know it by how clean it was and great that we could find a place as beautiful that we could take three dogs to
We will definitely be going back as soon as possible

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D
1 review
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

What a fantastic place. Everything you could want/need is provided. The cottage has a great atmosphere and the surrounding area is stunning. Local shops nearby and mt. Snowdon just around the corner

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay......”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Riverbank Cottage is absolutely perfect. It is located in Capel Curig, with the most spectacular view, and a small shop for all your basic amenities. Waking up in the morning with the viewnof the mountains outside, and the river running through the garden is by far the best way to wake up. The Cottage is warm and cosy and and provides a perfect base for those wanting to go walking in and around snowdonia. Also lots of lovely walks around the cottage which don't require you to drive anywhere. Cottage is well equipped with everything you need. Good size conservatory to leave all ur wet kit in (a must when walking in Wales in November).....and a lovely hot walk-in shower which is perfect after a long hard day in the mountains. Communication with owners is 5*. Couldn't ask for anything more. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wozlow
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places”
Reviewed January 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2015

We have stayed at Riverbank cottage 4 times, the last time in April 2015 with my wife's parents, and undoubtedly it is one of our favourite places. We love the cottage, and once we get out of the car and get inside, time really seems to slow and it's really such a relaxing place to be.

Riverbank cottage is tucked away behind a row of more recent houses just a few metres from the junction at Capel Curig and the wonderful Pinnacle café and Stores. The cottage itself is a traditional welsh single storey house, but the owners have refurbished it sympathetically throughout and it is really very well appointed. On entering the cottage (through the back door which is at the front) you enter the small conservatory which can become a real suntrap when the weather is good, then it's into the cottage proper and through the modern kitchenette, and past the door to the shower room, into the main living room of the cottage. There are doors off to both the bedrooms (one a double four poster and one with a triple bed arrangement) and the living room is cosy and light, with a log burning stove where I tend to spend hours just gazing into the flames or where we toast marshmallows. However for me the best thing about Riverbank lies outside the front door (which is at the back). Here, at the bottom of the garden is a wonderful, tumbling, bouncy welsh river, complete with a tiny shingle beach and lots of slippery rocks to clamber along. There is something fantastic about watching the currents swirl around the rocks and dipping your toes in fresh welsh water. Its not a particularly deep river, so relatively safe and usually quite calm, but how wonderful it was to wake up to it, to take breakfast on the lawn and watch the continuous motion of the river, never the same twice.
Overall all the stays we have had at Riverbank cottage have always been terrifically comfortable and enjoyed by grown ups, children and dogs alike. The kitchenette, although not over-large, has everything you could need to cook up a hearty tea after walking on those Welsh hills, and the beds and furniture are all comfortable. The cottage has always been really clean whenever we have visited and there are loads of maps and games and other things that the visitor may need. It's in a fantastic location, with the café and shop next door, and pubs within walking distance, and there are some wonderful rambles from the cottage. So all in all Riverbank Cottage was a real find, ... and then of course there is that river ....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river at the bottom of the garden and the log burner at night
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer !!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing