We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas but not a Spaniard in sight!”
Review of Olif

Olif
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Description: Olif is a 5 Star Restaurant with Rooms in Betws Y Coed, in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. During the day, the cafe offers breakfast using locally sourced produce, including favourites like the Full Welsh Breakfast, but also providing lighter option and options for vegetarians and vegans, including avocado toast with poached eggs and banana and peanut butter toast. At weekends, the restaurant opens during the day and serves hand minced 'Gourmet Burgers', a light tapas menu and indulgent Afternoon Teas. In the evenings the restaurant offers a Welsh-themed tapas menu, delivering a fusion of Welsh and Mediterranean small plates. Tapas ingredients are sourced where possible from local producers in Wales. This even includes the Chorizo and Salami, which is produced by Conwy farmers 'Cig Howatson'. There are also dishes using Camarthen Ham, which is rumoured to be a recipe stolen from the Welsh by the Romans who then called it Parma Ham! The only ingredient definitely not sourced locally is the olives which are grown in Seville. All of the above can be washed down with an impressive selection of bottled local ales, ciders and spirits, along with a great selection of Spanish and Welsh wines that won't break the bank.
Restaurant details
Description: Olif is a 5 Star Restaurant with Rooms in Betws Y Coed, in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. During the day, the cafe offers breakfast using locally sourced produce, including favourites like the Full Welsh Breakfast, but also providing lighter option and options for vegetarians and vegans, including avocado toast with poached eggs and banana and peanut butter toast. At weekends, the restaurant opens during the day and serves hand minced 'Gourmet Burgers', a light tapas menu and indulgent Afternoon Teas. In the evenings the restaurant offers a Welsh-themed tapas menu, delivering a fusion of Welsh and Mediterranean small plates. Tapas ingredients are sourced where possible from local producers in Wales. This even includes the Chorizo and Salami, which is produced by Conwy farmers 'Cig Howatson'. There are also dishes using Camarthen Ham, which is rumoured to be a recipe stolen from the Welsh by the Romans who then called it Parma Ham! The only ingredient definitely not sourced locally is the olives which are grown in Seville. All of the above can be washed down with an impressive selection of bottled local ales, ciders and spirits, along with a great selection of Spanish and Welsh wines that won't break the bank.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dining as a couple, we had a shared garlic bread whilst awaiting the main event. Our tapas dishes were really tasty & complemented by a glass of wine and a local beer. The chef obviously had a problem with the chocolate dip for our "churros" as it separated due to probable overheating. Expert help from the owner was at hand to resolve this and we had our dessert as a complementary gesture. Thankyou.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scubascubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I live locally and have been a few times. Fantastic food and great flavours. Always a nice welcome too.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank jamieMWilliams2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I recently traveled from the States to Wales. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel/restuarant to anyone and would love to go back sometime.

Room: We stayed four nights in Room 1, which was more than suitable for our needs. It had a nice bathroom and the towels were replinished daily. Nice coffee facilities for an inroom pot and a full size hairdryer. Although this room is right on the road, we had no problem with road noise, and could usually hear the river/stream which runs just on the other side of the road. We also had a view of some sheep. This hotel is walking distance to two small shops where you can buy pretty much everything you need, including beer and wine. There are also lots of pubs and restuarants nearby.

Parking: I was nervous at first about not having designated parking but we had no trouble at all. We were able to park on the street, basically in traffic (which again, made me nervous, seeing as we were driving a rental and it's not really done in the States), but again, no problem. And the more we drove through the small Welsh towns, we saw that this was the norm. People yield to one another with a friendly wave.

Food: We had breakfast here each day before our jaunts out to the castles. Two days we had hot breakfast, my favorite being the mushrooms on toast with smashed avocado. The other two days we opted for yogurt/fruit/cereal/etc. Coffee was also hot and strong. We had dinner here one night and wished we had gone twice. Food was excellent and wine was too. You must try the Angsley Eggs. Mari has posted the recipe on the facebook page, and I can't wait to add them to my Easter table. Even though I doubt they will be as good as hers.

In sum, if you are considering staying or eating here, do not hesitate. Mari and Aubrey run a perfect little hotel/restaurant. We can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank madmprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

Good selection of tasty tapas. Wouldn't say it was particularly Welsh or seasonal, but we enjoyed chorizo, king prawns, cod bites (very light batter but a bit greasy), beans and excellent hummus. Short but well priced wine list, good selection of unusual gins, friendly and very efficient service. Would go again.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Simon123xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Olif a couple of nights ago. The room was absolutely perfect, immaculately clean, really comfy bed and even dressing gowns in the room.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which was also delicious. A gorgeous selection of Tapas, a great wine menu and local spirits.

I wound definitely Recommend the hotel and the restaurant to anyone.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Vandajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olif also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Olif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing