We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ferns Guest House
Ranked #7 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2008

I stayed at the Fern's for my first trip to Wales, the location was excellent, I came by train and it was only a couple of mins walk. Great location for all surrounding site seeing. The single room I was in was average, the en-suite wasn't the greatest and I personally would have expected a better quality for the price. Room was very basic but clean but the tv signal was pretty poor. The hosts were very informative and gave me a lovely welcome and even had menu's of places to eat for dinner...I recommend The Staples, lovely and offering a great range of food. The only downfull was the breakfast, the food was excellent however I found the 8-8.30 time slot very inconvenient and the fact that you had to order your cooked breakfast the day before very strange and if you didn't change it they presumed you wanted the same thing. I changed my order for the following day however this was forgotten and I was served the same breakfast, just making it more annoying that I'd had to order the day before, and the small time slot means everyone comes down at the same time making it busier. Overall my experience was a good one.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PartyGirlSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 289 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2008

Spent August Bank Holiday at The Ferns and thought we would write a glowing review. This is a lovely clean B and B with excellent hosts, Lynn and David. The location is very good as there are two great restaurants (plus pubs and other restaurants that we didn't visit) within a 10 minute walk so no driving in the evening. These are called 'The Bistro' (not to be confused with the Stables Bistro, part of a pub) and 'Ty Gwyn'. Both were recommended by the hosts and both were spot on. Not too expensive, good wines and lots of lovely food. Lucky we did so much walking really...... Betws-y-Coed itself is also a good location for walking in the Snowdonia National Park. Plenty of parking adjacent to it and a discount outdoor shop if you forget your walking socks.

The hosts are lovely, they kindly left our keys out as we arrived late on the Friday night (we have had B and B owners cross at us for arriving late before when stuck in traffic), and they were also kind enough to put our wine in the fridge for us the next day when we asked. Breakfast was excellent, and although there is a menu to choose from they were quite happy for us to basically select bits that we wanted, to avoid wasting food that we didn't want. Again, we have been to B and Bs where they have made us stick rigidly to the full English or nothing. It was also very nice to get into a cool room when we arrived, rather than the usual baking hot stuffy B and B rooms where the heating has seemingly been set to tropical all day before you arrive.

All in all we would highly recommend this guesthouse and we hope to return next time we are in North Wales. The owners also have a self-catering holiday cottage out the back, and you are allowed to come in for a cooked breakfast in the guesthouse if you want!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Welcomed at the door of this lovely stone home with a pot of tea and registration completed whilst relaxing in the lounge. The room was not large but adequate and the bed was supurb! Breakfast was wonderful with a nice range of cereals and a great hot plate! And what a lovely surprise...no need to quietly slip a banana into your bag "help yourself to the fruit for your day's travels"......
The helpfulness of Lynn and David was exceptional as was their smiling and warm demeanour. An absolute MUST STAY if you are visiting North Wales

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cruise5844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

The Ferns Guest House was a perfect introduction for us going to Wales for the first time. Our hosts were so helpful and pleasant. They took the time to answer our many questions regarding driving routes, restaurants, etc. The accomodations were exceedingly clean, convenient, scenic, etc. Our room was at the top of the grand staircase and we had a bay window that looked out over the road, a rustic pasture that was visited by a white horse everyday, and the room was big enough for the three of us to enjoy reading, socializing, etc. Betws-y-coed is a great town to visit. Beautiful setting, many restaurants and pubs to choose. We had an easy time driving to Snowdonia and seeing other sights. We can HIGHLY recommend The Ferns Guest House and will certainly repeat a visit there when we go to Wales again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sjcoorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenimMask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
Thank cristina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#4 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#8 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenwood Guest House
Glenwood Guest House
#6 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#5 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road | Snowdonia National Park, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ferns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly 4* Victorian Guesthouse / Bed & Breakfast close to the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the Gateway to the Snowdonia National Park. We offer 7 comfortable and freshly decorated bedrooms all with: ●en-suite facilities ● digital flat-screen TV ●free WiFi ●generous hospitality tray ●complimentary toiletries ● inclusive breakfast We are perfectly situated for all the shops, restaurants, railway and major bus routes, including the Snowdon Sherpa service, and can offer our guests some private, off-road, parking. Get packed for Snowdonia's Mountains and Coast's activities and attractions: ● Hill walking & climbing ● Mountain Biking ● Canoeing ● Castles and antiquities ● Beaches, rivers, waterfalls and lakes ● Fishing ● Horse riding ● Golf ● Steam railways (including Snowdon Mountain, Ffestiniog etc) ● Mines and underground adventures ● The longest Zipwire in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ferns Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing