We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B and B in Betws-y-Coed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ferns Guest House
Ranked #8 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best B and B in Betws-y-Coed”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Immaculately clean, the best breakfasts, whether for the healthy fresh fruit, or full monty traditional bacon and egg, - but still light and using local produce - this place cannot be bettered. Mark and Sarah are the perfect hosts, always helpful and friendly, and with excellent local knowledge about walking, climbing, or where to buy lovely Welsh cakes or try good local restaurants.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect. We like the top floor because you can see over the rooftops, although after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Maria,

Wow.... Thank you for your very kind review of us. It was lovely to see you both again and we were pleased that the weather was kind for your weekend. It was a shame that J & M couldn't make it this time..give them our best regards and tell J that Crib Coch might be a go-er when her foot is better :)

All the best
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
102
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Ferns and enjoyed it immensely. We were upgraded to a larger room, which was warm, comfortable and appeared newly decorated. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for a good days walking in Snowdon. Sarah & Mark were very helpful suggesting some routes for our climb. We would certainly stay here again. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamDRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello iamDRH,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review of us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you were happy with the room upgrade. We hope we'll see you both back this way sometime.

All the best
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A found The Ferns quite by chance and I am so glad I chose to ask if they had a vacancy. It was a really warm and welcoming B and B, and Sarah and Mark were the perfect hosts. They seem to have thought of every little touch that makes a stay special and guests feel valued, from a welcome cup of tea to filling a flask for a days hiking in Snowdonia. My room was very comfortable and the breakfast was as good as I have had anywhere, including posh hotels that charge far more. I would recommend this B and B to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Peter

Thank you for choosing to call with us and stay at The Ferns and for your very kind review. We enjoyed having you to stay with us and glad that you had a good time here in Snowdonia. We hope to see you again sometime - and bring some of that nice weather with you please :)

All the best
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welkenraedt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

warm welcome, nice room (little but ok), a lot of informations about the region, Mark and Sarah reservated tables for new year for us, made photocopies for walks, languagecourse in welsh, superbreakfast. Only the showerroom was a bit too cold.:) To recommand!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralf z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello folks. Thank you for your kind words and useful comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us. But we are sorry that you found the shower room in Room 1 a little cold - this is perhaps it is against an exterior wall. Did you have the heated towel rail in operation? We would recommend our future winter guests to take one of our other rooms which have internal shower rooms. All the best to you both. Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a beautiful guest house. Thank you so much Sarah and Mark for making our stay so pleasant, you are perfect hosts and do that bit extra to make our stay very special the nibbles and champagne was a delight on New years eve. The room was immaculate warm and cosy. What an amazing breakfast. I am only sorry we were only there for 1 night, but look forward to going back in the summer and for Next New Year hopefully. Thanks for being so thoughtful and kind, it was a pleasure to meet you. many thanks Barbara and John who stayed 31/12/13.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb_lavin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello Barbara and John. Thank you for taking time and writing such a nice review of us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your New Year's stay with us. Hope you can come back and stay with us again in the summer.
All the best, Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a lads (over 40's) weekend mountain biking in north Wales. The Ferns is a great place to stay. Sarah was a charming host and she made us all feel very welcome. Both our rooms were very clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. The en suite can be described as cosy. The beds and duvets were top quality and really comfortable. So comfortable it was a tough decision to get out of bed in the morning. The breakfast was excellent. All the ingredients were fresh and tasty. The location is good with only a 5 minute walk to the centre of the town for pubs and restaurants. We all enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a place to stay in Betws y Coed, the Ferns is worth a try.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank worcesterwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hell Worcesterwoody,

Thank you for posting this kind review. It was great having you all stay with us and we hope that the Mountain Biking was good. We are glad that the two twin/family rooms you stayed in were to your liking. The en-suite in our Room 7 is indeed "cosy", but you might be interested to know that we are modernising and increasing the size of this en-suite this winter. We're also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast too... we cook our breakfasts to order, so it is as hot and fresh as possible when it arrives at your table.

Thanks again and happy biking,
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Imaculate , Sarah owner very helpful, next time I go wales I'll be staying there if it's available , you would have to be really fussy to fault this place, or a saddo who winged about everything anyway

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shutyourface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive and entertaining review of us Shutyourface. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#7 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Guest House

Property: The Ferns Guest House
Address: Holyhead Road | Snowdonia National Park, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ferns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly 4* Victorian Guesthouse / Bed & Breakfast close to the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the Gateway to the Snowdonia National Park. We offer 7 comfortable and freshly decorated bedrooms all with: ●en-suite facilities ● digital flat-screen TV ●free WiFi ●generous hospitality tray ●complimentary toiletries ● inclusive breakfast We are perfectly situated for all the shops, restaurants, railway and major bus routes, including the Snowdon Sherpa service, and can offer our guests some private, off-road, parking. Get packed for Snowdonia's Mountains and Coast's activities and attractions: ● Hill walking & climbing ● Mountain Biking ● Canoeing ● Castles and antiquities ● Beaches, rivers, waterfalls and lakes ● Fishing ● Horse riding ● Golf ● Steam railways (including Snowdon Mountain, Ffestiniog etc) ● Mines and underground adventures ● The longest Zipwire in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ferns Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing