We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return visit even better than last year”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ferns Guest House
Ranked #8 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our return visit even better than last year”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visited Betws-Y-Coed in June 2012 and found the Ferns guest house a wonderful place to stay (see our review from last year) ,so this year we decided to revisit Betws and the obvious place to stay was of course the Ferns and once again we found it an excellent place to stay , we were treated like part of the family ( we were treated that way last year also) and Sarah and Mark are so friendly it makes the holiday so much more enjoyable . We have no hesitation of recommending the Ferns to anyone as everything about it is exceptional .

Room Tip: Best tip we can give is to visit this lovely guest house for friendliness, comfort and the most wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bramblesWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Folks,
Many thanks for another nice review. It was lovely having you stay with us again and we were both impressed with how much you managed to do during your week with us. Have a great summer. All the best, Sarah and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
95
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Ferns is well-appointed, well-run, and in an excellent location for walkers, train buffs and visitors to Snowdonia. Rooms are clean and nicely furnished (if sometimes the addition of en-suite bathrooms has left just slightly off-center geometry).

But if you're not a sound sleeper, note that you'll hear traffic on the road from most of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMcB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of us. We're sorry if you may have had some disturbed sleep from traffic noise, which can sometimes affect lighter sleepers. For those who do sleep lightly we do have a couple of rooms to the rear of our guesthouse which may be more suitable. Thanks again, Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, NJ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We popped into this guesthouse late one afternoon and asked if there was a twin room available. Sarah found room for us. She was very kind and showed us to our room. This was the only room in our whole trip where the twin room had two double beds instead of two twin beds. It was heaven!

The view from the room, out the back of the house, was a charming little cottage next to a hill. We kept the curtains open until late, just to appreciate the view as long as we could.

The bathroom was small, but the water pressure and heat were plentiful.

The wifi kept going in and out, it took me some time to get online and stay there. I did not mention this to Sarah, but it is possible she could have remedied the situation.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious.

The area around the guesthouse was gorgeous. Sarah recommended a few good restaurants for dinner, and the one we chose was excellent. There are many hiking paths all around the area.

This was one of the loveliest places we stayed on our trip. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We're both so glad you had a great time here in Snowdonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Friendly, clean with everything I needed for a couple of days of outdoor work. Great location in centre of Betws y Coed. Off road parking is a bonus given how busy BYC is during the summer. It's just a quick walk down to Y Stablau and the pubs and cafes. Bike storage is limited but Mark sorted something out for me and I understand that they have better storage facilities planned for next year. it's a great location for Marin Trail, Coed Y Brenin etc. and although its not obviously the venue for mountain bikers and outdoor pursuiters (the place is spotlessly clean) Mark and Sarah are very accommodating and happy to find a place for muddy boots and shoes :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noahsoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us. We're glad you had a good time with us for your cycling weekend. We've not applied for an official "Cyclists Friendly" award as we realise that we don't currently have sufficient storage requirements for most cyclist's needs... but we do hope to improve on this in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Couldn't fault our 2 night stay at the Ferns, absolutely fanastic b&b, greeted by Sarah who showed us to our rooms all newly decorated and spotlessly clean, breakfase excellent, freshly cooked with plenty of choice. On arrival Sarah brought us tea and cake in the very comfortable lounge and gave us plenty of information on bus, train and places to visit. Sarah and Mark were perfect hosts and would recommend the FERNS guesthouse everytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you and your family and we were pleased you had a nice time here in Betws y Coed. We hope you get a chance to visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Snowdonia and apart from the stunning scenery our weekend trip was made all the more pleasurable staying at the Ferns. Although our room was compact it was spotlessly clean with good tea/coffee making facilities. The breafast which has been mentioned on other reviews was top notch catering for vegatarian options if desired.
Sarah and Mark were very helpful hosts kindly giving their knowledge to other local amenities.
I had walked up Snowdon on the second day of our visit and although it was amazing the summit was shrouded in cloud with poor visability so on our last night I mentioned to Mark that I would be getting up very early (as the weather forcast was good) and would be walking up Snowdon again and to appreciate the superb vista, they then very kindly prepared a food parcel for me. I would recommend the Ferns to anyone with the knowledge that they would be well looked after by Sarah and Mark and we look forward to our next trip to Snowdonia. Mike C

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We're pleased to have been your base for your first Snowdonia adventure - did you get some good pics on your "dawn raid" on Snowdon? Hope to see you both again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have stayed here six times in the last two years. It's spotlessly clean with high quality decor and furnishings. The 'full breakfast' is to be recommended and there is always fresh fruit and cereal to start. Mark and Sarah are great hosts and can recommend some wonderful mountain walks, provide weather updates, bus times and nothing is too much trouble. Betws-y-Coed is a great place to base yourself when exploring Snowdonia and Anglesey. Plenty of good restaurants and pubs to visit in the evenings after a day spent walking. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Try Room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It always nice to see you all here at The Ferns and pleased that you managed to get some good weather for your walking here in Snowdonia and Anglesey. All the best Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Guest House

Property: The Ferns Guest House
Address: Holyhead Road | Snowdonia National Park, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ferns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly 4* Victorian Guesthouse / Bed & Breakfast close to the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the Gateway to the Snowdonia National Park. We offer 7 comfortable and freshly decorated bedrooms all with: ●en-suite facilities ● digital flat-screen TV ●free WiFi ●generous hospitality tray ●complimentary toiletries ● inclusive breakfast We are perfectly situated for all the shops, restaurants, railway and major bus routes, including the Snowdon Sherpa service, and can offer our guests some private, off-road, parking. Get packed for Snowdonia's Mountains and Coast's activities and attractions: ● Hill walking & climbing ● Mountain Biking ● Canoeing ● Castles and antiquities ● Beaches, rivers, waterfalls and lakes ● Fishing ● Horse riding ● Golf ● Steam railways (including Snowdon Mountain, Ffestiniog etc) ● Mines and underground adventures ● The longest Zipwire in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ferns Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing