We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Gem In Betws-y Coed.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ferns Guest House
Ranked #8 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal Gem In Betws-y Coed.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Snowdonia and apart from the stunning scenery our weekend trip was made all the more pleasurable staying at the Ferns. Although our room was compact it was spotlessly clean with good tea/coffee making facilities. The breafast which has been mentioned on other reviews was top notch catering for vegatarian options if desired.
Sarah and Mark were very helpful hosts kindly giving their knowledge to other local amenities.
I had walked up Snowdon on the second day of our visit and although it was amazing the summit was shrouded in cloud with poor visability so on our last night I mentioned to Mark that I would be getting up very early (as the weather forcast was good) and would be walking up Snowdon again and to appreciate the superb vista, they then very kindly prepared a food parcel for me. I would recommend the Ferns to anyone with the knowledge that they would be well looked after by Sarah and Mark and we look forward to our next trip to Snowdonia. Mike C

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We're pleased to have been your base for your first Snowdonia adventure - did you get some good pics on your "dawn raid" on Snowdon? Hope to see you both again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
104
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have stayed here six times in the last two years. It's spotlessly clean with high quality decor and furnishings. The 'full breakfast' is to be recommended and there is always fresh fruit and cereal to start. Mark and Sarah are great hosts and can recommend some wonderful mountain walks, provide weather updates, bus times and nothing is too much trouble. Betws-y-Coed is a great place to base yourself when exploring Snowdonia and Anglesey. Plenty of good restaurants and pubs to visit in the evenings after a day spent walking. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Try Room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It always nice to see you all here at The Ferns and pleased that you managed to get some good weather for your walking here in Snowdonia and Anglesey. All the best Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Top decor, excellent, enjoyable breakfast.
Both Sarah and Mark are very genuinely friendly people out to please you.
I have a choice of venues I can go for my Alpine climbing training, but after my stay at the Ferns 2 weeks ago, I am defintely heading back to Wales.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velsyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing us. We're glad to have been able to support you during your Alpine training here in Snowdonia and look forward to seeing you up here again sometime. Good luck with your assault on The Matterhorn this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Ferns. Mark and Sarah were very flexible and welcoming. Our room was small but clean and comfortable with a compact ensuite. We liked the coffee/tea making facilities within the room. Breakfast was great! We went hiking during our stay and the breakfast really set us up for the day. The atmosphere is lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review, It was lovely that the weather was good for your hike up Snowdon that weekend.... although it did mean that "one or two" other people had the same idea. We hope you had a good time in Snowdonia and we will hopefully see you in this part of the world again (perhaps we'll have one of our larger rooms available for you next time :) ). All the best, Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We would like to thank you for being such wonderful hosts on our brief visit and compliment you on the delightful atmosphere you have created. We appreciate the attention to detail and would make you our first choice of accommodation if we are in your part of the world again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert444_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us and were glad that you enjoyed your stop-over in Betws y Coed as part of your holiday….Bodnant Garden was definately worth visiting. Kind regards, Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

When we arrived at the Ferns we were greeted by Sarah who showed us to our rooms which were newly decorated with lovely clean comfortable furnishings, It had an en-suite with thick, fresh white fluffy towels. Breakfast was very yummy, freshly cooked with lots of choice, a good start to the day. Mark and Sarah were really friendly and advised us with our walk up Snowdonia and places to eat. We recommend the Ferns 100%. Jane, Ali, Michelle & Sara.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janemary22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Many thanks for taking time to review us. We are pleased that you had a good time here in North Wales and that we could be part of your "Snowdon Expedition". All the very best, Sarah and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

When we arrived at the Ferns we were greeted by Sarah who showed us to our room which was a newly decorated family room with lovely clean comfortable furnishings, It had an en-suite which was a little small but adequate with thick, fresh towels. While we unpacked Sarah made us a pot of tea and cake which we had in the pleasant lounge. Breakfast was great, freshly cooked with lots of choice, Mark and Sarah were really friendly and advised us where to visit and eat, they stored our bottle of wine in their fridge and supplied us with wine glasses. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, lovely place, lovely couple. Alan & Glenys.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glenys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for you nice review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and it sounded like you had a good time despite the iffy weather when you were here. Have a great summer. Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#7 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Guest House

Property: The Ferns Guest House
Address: Holyhead Road | Snowdonia National Park, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ferns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly 4* Victorian Guesthouse / Bed & Breakfast close to the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the Gateway to the Snowdonia National Park. We offer 7 comfortable and freshly decorated bedrooms all with: ●en-suite facilities ● digital flat-screen TV ●free WiFi ●generous hospitality tray ●complimentary toiletries ● inclusive breakfast We are perfectly situated for all the shops, restaurants, railway and major bus routes, including the Snowdon Sherpa service, and can offer our guests some private, off-road, parking. Get packed for Snowdonia's Mountains and Coast's activities and attractions: ● Hill walking & climbing ● Mountain Biking ● Canoeing ● Castles and antiquities ● Beaches, rivers, waterfalls and lakes ● Fishing ● Horse riding ● Golf ● Steam railways (including Snowdon Mountain, Ffestiniog etc) ● Mines and underground adventures ● The longest Zipwire in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ferns Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing