We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply stunning!”
other travelers have booked this property
View of the cottage from the bottom of the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage from the bottom of the garden
The double doors of the lounge open up to breathtaking views of the garden & surrounding mountains. Luxury bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
View of the cottage from the bottom of the garden
The double doors of the lounge open up to breathtaking views of the garden & surrounding mountains.
Luxury bathroom
Quaint country kitchen with all modern appliances, view of hot tub and fields!
The view from the back terrace!
The view when leaving the cottage and heading down the drive.
A fun way to serve your drinks!
Washing up with a view....
Start the day with breakfast in the dining room.
Lunch on the veranda....
Sun downers on the terrace.
Cosy nights in.
We welcome wildlife to Kestrel Cottage, extra bird feed available for our avid bird watchers!
Feature wallpaper, Kingsize bed with new mattress and bedding.
The bathroom cupboard is fully stocked with essentials.
Incredibly deep bathtub with a view!
Modern design, double bed with new mattress and bedding, garden view.
View from front bedroom, looks out on to the garden and mountains.
This photo is of the master bedroom. It has now been new.t decorated but shows you the size.
We love to attract the local birds to have their lunch! Binoculars are available in the lounge.
State of the art hot tub!
View whilst relaxing on the couch.
View into the lounge from the veranda.
Lounge with log burning fire, 55inch flat screen tv with sky package and unlimited wifi.
The hot tub at night time....bliss!
6 person hot tub with numerous individual settings to suit all guests needs. Enjoy
Lambing season is in full swing! You will see lots of sheep and lambs as you approach the cottage!
Sunsets from the cottage driveway.
The view as you walk out of the cottage towards the farm at sunset....
Beautiful beach that the digs love to run on just a 30 min drive from the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PhilipWal...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply stunning!”
Reviewed March 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My wife and I (and our two dogs) stayed at Kestrel Cottage for the first time last month . We are so glad to have found this little slice of paradise!

The location could not be better - right in between Betws-y-Coed and Capel Curig in the Snowdonia mountains, within easy reach of picturesque villages, Swallow Falls, and Conwy castle. We loved the Ugly House tea room (just a stone's throw away).

The cottage itself is hidden away, overlooking the most beautiful valley. The house is lovely and well-equipped. The hot tub was a really nice touch - there's no better way to rest aching joints and enjoy a clear night sky! Beth and Ben did everything possible to make us feel welcome and 'at home'.

By far the best thing about Kestrel Cottage though is THE VIEW from the terrace! It has to be seen to be believed - especially at sunrise.

Thank you for a lovely stay - we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Kestrel Cottage. Beth and Ben Lucas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It gives us such pleasure when our guests enjoy the place as much as we do! All the best, Beth And Ben Lucas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MrsJillyE
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely, comfortable and great position for peace and quiet - wonderful”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed at the lovely Kestrel Cottage in Betws y Coed with friends and dogs. We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay. Weather was mixed but fortunately when we were out and about the weather was great and we enjoyed some lovely sunshine.
The scenery is spectacular everywhere. We visited Swallow Falls, which is magical: Caernarfon although couldn't take the dogs inside the castle but managed to visit the smallest pub in North Wales where I had a very good Bloody Mary; Beddgellert which is truly beautiful and where we walked by the river, saw some lovely Welsh Black cattle, a common merganser (type of duck) fishing, and visited Gellert's grave. Betws y Coed was lovely, particularly the brilliant Anna Davies shop where I bought some unusual Christmas presents.
Thank you so much to the owners of Kestrel Cottage , who make it like a home from home with a gift basket of Welsh goodies, including tea, coffee, bread, butter and beautiful biscuits.
We sat in the hot tub and saw the stars and had a lovely time. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay at Kestrel Cottage. We are thrilled you had such a fun holiday. Beth and Ben Lucas x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic, secluded, wonderful!”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

As a family, we are no strangers to the delights of the North Wales countryside and we were really looking forward to our stay at Kestrel cottage; it certainly did not disappoint!.

Accessed just beyond Betws-Y-Coed via a small track through a working farm the cottage is actually very easy to get to, only a few gates to open (and close...just to keep all the live stock where they should be) and then you arrive at your destination, right next to a very pretty stream complete with it's own waterfall.

Before we even set out, the instructions and communication with Beth was superb so we were able to gain access easily and get settled with no drama. Waiting for us was a lovely welcome hamper and other goodies that helped us get over the long drive as well.

After exploring all of the rooms it was clear that Kestrel cottage was a cut above the usual holiday home fare. The cottage was beautifully finished, cosy and welcoming. It was also extremely well kept and very well appointed, I don’t think we have ever had a holiday cottage before with so many creature comforts thrown in…especially not a hot tub which was very welcome after a few long days out exploring the North Wales hills and coastline.

We took our dog with us and he was well taken care of as well, with treats already in the cupboard and even some doggy grooming products on hand.

The cottage was really well positioned for exploring in general, we enjoyed several days at the beach with Llandudno and Conwy both less than 30 mins drive, it’s obviously good for those looking to explore the mountains as well. As a small aside, for those interested in Wild swimming it is particularly good with loads of great lakes close by, Llynnau Mymbyr the nearest only a few mins drive (not swum until this trip but a lovely lake), and more well known spots such as Llyn Padarn not much further either.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday at Kestrel Cottage, there is nothing we could fault and would happily come back for another stay in the future.

Thanks Beth :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Dear Richard and family, we are absolutely thrilled that you had a superb holiday at Kestrel Cottage. Always lovely to hear where are guests have explored to during their stay. Many thanks, Beth and Ben Lucas x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahbc12...
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is ideally situated between Betws-y-Coed and Capel Curig, near Swallow Falls and The Ugly House, so it is in a perfect location for exploring Snowdonia. We managed to visit Caenarfon, Llanberis and Snowdon, Anglesey, Surf Snowdonia and Zipworld, all within a short drive. The cottage is thoughtfully provisioned, and provides very comfortable and stylish accomodation with beautiful views from every room. The owner Beth could not have been more welcoming, and was very responsive to any concerns. We are already looking forward to our next visit to Kestrel Cottage ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Sarah, thank you so much for taking the time to write us your superb review. We are thrilled you got to do so much exploring while staying at the cottage. We really look forward to welcoming you to the Cottahe again soon. All the best, Beth and Ben Lucas x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2017
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you had a relaxing holiday. All the best, Beth and Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JosieBHAF...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We love the Snowdonia region and have stayed around this area many times but have never found the right place to keep going back to - we have definitely found at Kestrel Cottage! Location was good for lots of walks, near lots of restaurants in the town and provided stunning scenery.

The cottage itself was very comfortable, and very clean on arrival, there is option to get it cleaned throughout your stay although we did not required this. There was lots of lovely goodies waiting on our arrival that was a nice touch. Hot tub was absolutely spot on after long walks.

To make our stay that little bit easier, the owners were very informative and always at the end of the phone if we needed anything. They even let us get shopping delivered to the cottage before our stay and put it all away for us ready for arriva, once again another thoughtful touch.

A wonderful place to stay and we can't wait for our return, even the rain didn't dampen our spirits.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2017
Dear Fran,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Ben and I are thrilled that Kestrel Cottage will be your home away from home in beautiful Snowdonia. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again. All the best, Beth and Ben Lucas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing