We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glan Llugwy Guest House
Ranked #22 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Our party were five persons staying for three nights taking part in a walking competition, centred around Betwys, and had found this B&B through the comments made on Trip Advisor. We had wanted somewhere within easy walking distance of the town centre that would provide a good breakfast and clean accommodation with strong traditional B&B values.

In common with other reviewers, we were met by Jean and Graham on arrival, when we were shown the rooms and organised the arrangements for breakfast and packed lunches. We had booked three rooms (single, twin and twin en-suite) that were all on the first floor. The non en-suite rooms were served by a toilet/shower room. There are a further two rooms on the second floor, along with another toilet/shower room.

The rooms were very clean and well presented. There were generous supplies of tea/coffee/hot chocolate drinks to make in your room along with a small pack of biscuits and a kettle. There was more than enough storage space, with two chests of drawers, a wardrobe that had plenty of hangers. In the non-ensuite twin, a sink was in the corner with a vanity light, an armchair, alarm clock/radio, portable tv, reading light above each bed, a luxurious bathrobe, hand and bath towel per person.

For breakfast, there was orange juice > choice of cereals > full cooked breakfast, toast, with tea or a cafetiere of coffee. The full breakfast was cooked tomato, sausage, bacon, fried or scrambled egg, baked beans, mushrooms, fried bread, black pudding. The quality of the ingredients was excellent and not once during our stay was anything overcooked. Well done Graham!

We ordered packed lunches and these were also excellent and very generous portions. We were asked which type of filling we would prefer, we chose a mixture of ham, cheese and tuna. In the lunch bag there would be a sandwich (i.e. two slices of bread), carton of pure orange juice, packet of crisps, slice of fruit cake, chocolate bar and a piece of fruit. On the first day Graham made two sandwiches for each of us, he said he thought "we would need the energy". As it happened we were too exhausted to eat them all so reverted to one sandwich for the following days. However, I thought this typified the generosity of spirit in both Graham and Jean.

I would certainly recommend this B&B to practically anyone. Perhaps the only exception would be the type of person that prefers to watch Sky tv for a lot of their time. That would be a problem as there is no satellite signal in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldmko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 96 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2009

Me and a mate only spent 1 night here but were made to feel totally at home. Jean and Graham were great hosts. As soon as we got out of the car they both came out and greeted us and welcomed us to the village. The room was immaculate with a great view of the river lugwy outside. In the morning we were treated to a massive cooked breakfast,(I couldnt manage it all!) and had a chat about the local area and sights to see. Overall it was a great place to stay and we will be returning a.s.a.p.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoctorOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Jean and Graham were absolutely lovely to stay with. They were very helpful about sights and places to eat around Betwys and just great people. We stayed two nights and the second day, our room was neatly done as if we had just arrived-it was a definite luxury to return to after our long hike. I also very much appreciated the bath robes and the spotless bathroom.
As for the breakfasts, they were proper English breakfasts as my boyfriend would say and they tied us over till the afternoon. My boyfriend and I also enjoyed our morning chats with Jean and Graham, they were wondeful and we would definitely return for another stay:)

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontrealCanucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Back again in beautiful Betws, staying at Glan Llugwy, this time for a short break of four nights. My husband and I had a wonderful time celebrating our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and both our birthdays and, as always, Graham and Jean excelled themselves - they really are the best hosts ever.

In addition to all the written information provided, they have a wealth of personal knowledge about the area, the attractions, where to eat, etc. and nothing is ever too much trouble. They are constantly striving to improve the premises and the service they offer, and our upgraded en-suite room was lovely. The guest lounge is extremely comfortable and very welcoming after a long day walking. Although it would seem to be an impossibility, I am sure Graham's breakfasts just get better and better - they certainly keep you going all day!

The Glan Llugwy Guest House & Graham and Jean cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank onlyjonely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The views are stunning, the rooms are spotlessly clean and well equipped, and the breakfast fills you for the whole day! We were unable to stay in their new excellent en-suite room but we were supplied with bath robes for the 2 metre walk to the bathroom which was only being used by us. The welcome is terrific and we intend to visit many more times.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank saies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Had a relaxing stay at this B&B and can well recommend the new On Suite bedroom with beautiful views out across the river.
Jean and Graham made us feel very welcome and the information booklets in the rooms came in very handy.
Once you have had one of Graham's breakfasts you don't need to eat for the rest of the day!
Would recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for somewhere which is like a home from home.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheshire6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends. From the outset the owners were really friendly and helpful - recommending places to go, where to eat, how long it takes to get there, etc. The rooms were spacious with comfy beds and the bathroom (shared between 2 rooms) was spotless. The breakfasts were great - you got everything you asked for and we never made it beyond the cooked breakfast. Glan Llugwy is easy to find on the main road and has parking which is a definite bonus. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
#25 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#5 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#3 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#6 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glan Llugwy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan Llugwy Guest House

Address: Glan Llugwy Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $80 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Victorian Guest House, in the village of Betws-y-coed within the Snowdonia National Park. with stunning views over the Afon (River) Llugwy. We have 4 Guest bedrooms (1 Double En-suite 1 Twin Room with Private Facilities, 1 Double Standard and 1 Single Standard these two rooms share a bathroom) with all usual facilities for your comfort. We are also able to offer our Guests Private Parking which is a premium in this area. We would like nothing better than to ensure your stay in this beautiful area is one not to be forgotten for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glan Llugwy Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing