We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glan Llugwy Guest House
Ranked #24 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Jean and Graham were absolutely lovely to stay with. They were very helpful about sights and places to eat around Betwys and just great people. We stayed two nights and the second day, our room was neatly done as if we had just arrived-it was a definite luxury to return to after our long hike. I also very much appreciated the bath robes and the spotless bathroom.
As for the breakfasts, they were proper English breakfasts as my boyfriend would say and they tied us over till the afternoon. My boyfriend and I also enjoyed our morning chats with Jean and Graham, they were wondeful and we would definitely return for another stay:)

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontrealCanucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 95 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2008

Back again in beautiful Betws, staying at Glan Llugwy, this time for a short break of four nights. My husband and I had a wonderful time celebrating our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and both our birthdays and, as always, Graham and Jean excelled themselves - they really are the best hosts ever.

In addition to all the written information provided, they have a wealth of personal knowledge about the area, the attractions, where to eat, etc. and nothing is ever too much trouble. They are constantly striving to improve the premises and the service they offer, and our upgraded en-suite room was lovely. The guest lounge is extremely comfortable and very welcoming after a long day walking. Although it would seem to be an impossibility, I am sure Graham's breakfasts just get better and better - they certainly keep you going all day!

The Glan Llugwy Guest House & Graham and Jean cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank onlyjonely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The views are stunning, the rooms are spotlessly clean and well equipped, and the breakfast fills you for the whole day! We were unable to stay in their new excellent en-suite room but we were supplied with bath robes for the 2 metre walk to the bathroom which was only being used by us. The welcome is terrific and we intend to visit many more times.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank saies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Had a relaxing stay at this B&B and can well recommend the new On Suite bedroom with beautiful views out across the river.
Jean and Graham made us feel very welcome and the information booklets in the rooms came in very handy.
Once you have had one of Graham's breakfasts you don't need to eat for the rest of the day!
Would recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for somewhere which is like a home from home.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheshire6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends. From the outset the owners were really friendly and helpful - recommending places to go, where to eat, how long it takes to get there, etc. The rooms were spacious with comfy beds and the bathroom (shared between 2 rooms) was spotless. The breakfasts were great - you got everything you asked for and we never made it beyond the cooked breakfast. Glan Llugwy is easy to find on the main road and has parking which is a definite bonus. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

My husband and I loved our stay. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. There were even robes for us! The breakfast was the best English breakfast I've ever had. They really go out of their way to please. The owners are a wealth of knowledge on places to eat. They are so friendly! Everywhere they suggested was great. We loved Alpine Coffee Shop for cream tea, soup, sandwiches, etc. They directed us to the best fish and chips I've ever had - Harbour View in Conwy. The walled city of Conwy is a must see. We loved walking around the walls of the city. They are really high, so you can see for miles. I felt that it was a fantastic bargain for what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megbabem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

As a regular at the Glan Llugwy I have nothing but praise for the owners, Jean and Graham. Both are very friendly and very very helpful. There is nothing that is too much trouble. The rooms and beds are extremely comfortable and always spotless.
The house is perfectly placed for a stay close to the centre of Snowdonia National Park and it's amenities. There are many good places to eat close to the Glan Llugwy and other good ones within a short drive. I use it as a base for trips into the mountains of Snowdonia and knowing that I have a good and comfortable place to return to at the end of a day, no matter what the weather has been like, is comforting.
Best of all is the 'Graham' Breakfast. This, in itself, is worth a trip to the Glan Llugwy. It is sometimes difficult to drag oneself away from the house because one wants to spend more time enjoying the experience of such a superb meal.
Overall I have no hesitation in recommending the Glan Llugwy as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgmprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.8 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,050 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aberconwy House
Aberconwy House
#11 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garth Dderwen Guest House
Garth Dderwen Guest House
#21 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#8 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
296 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lledr House Hostel
Lledr House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Dolwyddelan
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glan Llugwy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan Llugwy Guest House

Address: Glan Llugwy Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $78 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Victorian Guest House, in the village of Betws-y-coed within the Snowdonia National Park. with stunning views over the Afon (River) Llugwy. We have 4 Guest bedrooms (1 Double En-suite 1 Twin Room with Private Facilities, 1 Double Standard and 1 Single Standard these two rooms share a bathroom) with all usual facilities for your comfort. We are also able to offer our Guests Private Parking which is a premium in this area. We would like nothing better than to ensure your stay in this beautiful area is one not to be forgotten for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glan Llugwy Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing