We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never mind the rain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Ranked #5 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never mind the rain”
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed here in the middle of March and had a wonderful time despite the weather. The welcome was very warm and the room was wonderful, with little extras that really made a difference. Walking across the suspension bridge in the dark is something to be remembered, and we also enjoyed the cafe at the Conway Falls (not the Falls themselves, it was raining too hard to visit) after a strenuous visit to the treetop adventure high ropes course on the road to Llanrwst.
We will try and go back!

  • Liked — room layout
  • Disliked — bathroom was small
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LizWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    53
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
133
712
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We wanted to get away for a few days for a change of scene and some much-needed rest and relaxation: Tyn-Y-Fron turned out to be the perfect place to do so. With stunning scenery in and around Betws-Y-Coed and a wonderfully warm welcome from Lesley and her husband, we quickly felt right at home. The B&B is comfortable and lovingly decorated throughout, with stunning views which are the perfect backdrop for a hearty breakfast! Lesley's local knowledge proved invaluable in making plans for our short visit and we are looking forward to going back to do some more exploring.

  • Liked — Views
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TourUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Tyn-y-Fron was a highlight amongst the B&Bs we stayed in on our recent 3 week trip to Britain. Our room was quiet, spacious and tastefully decorated with a comfortable king-sized bed, modern ensuite and quality linens. Lesley is a gracious hostess who made us very welcome and offered helpful advice for activities and dining (Betws Bistrot was excellent). This historic stone home has an idyllic location away from main traffic noise with a magnificent view over the valley and is only a short walk to Betws via a picturesque walking bridge. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — quality accommodation in beautiful peaceful setting & warm hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Bitinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Greeted with a warm smile upon arrival and made to feel at home right from the start.
Excellent setting though just a little too early to take advantage of the almost completed decking area wher I imagine future guests (me also) taking a cold beer on a beutiful sunset.
Room was above standard and very comfy, fellow guests almost reluctant to join me for breakfast!!!

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Fried breakfast - was nice but personal choice is grilled
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KThewander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2008

What a place! Just stayed the one night and received an extremely warm welcome from Lesley and 'Tripod'. Great location, lovely room and fantastic breakfast to set me up for the day ahead.
As a business traveller I stay away from home probably three nights a week and have endured all kinds of Dodgy B&B's. This is certainly not one of those.
Hope to return again soon (for pleasure this time) and take advantage of the great countryside that can be seen from the marvelous dining room.

  • Liked — The fantastic welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnboy9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

We spent 1 night at Tyn-Y-Fron and wish we could have stayed longer. It is the best B and B we have stayed in. Brilliant position up a hill away from the bustling centre of Betws-y-Coed yet just a few minutes stroll or drive. Lovely view from the breakfast room and front bedroom but also from the room we had at the back of the house which overlooks the extensive well tended rear garden. The rooms are lovely - extremely tastefully and individually decorated - very comfortable and well equipped. We were made very welcome by host Lesley and by Tony and Benji too. Breakfasting was a delight. I am certain we will be returning to Tyn-Y-Fron.

  • Liked — very high standards
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BreezeofNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Tyn-Y-Fron B&B for our first wedding anniversary and can not rate this B&B and the welcome we had from Lesley highly enough. Anyone going to this part of Wales should definately check out the availability here first.

Everything was perfect from the welcome we had, the lovely large bedroom (Superking Size Bed) and the view we had at breakfast. Lesley cooks breakfast and there was big choice, along with the little extras that she provided (Lesley had bought a local cake for us to try). I also remember seeing Porridge with Whiskey on the Breakfast menu, maybe something to try before climbing Snowdon!!!!.

We were also given suggestions of where to visit in the local area, this included the local Bistro. The food is "out of this world" and a must do.

Thanks to Lesley we had a fantastic stay and will definately be back.

  • Liked — Location, Acoomodation, Breakfast and Warm Welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing- Everything was Perfect
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B

Property: Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Address: Lon Muriau Llanrwst Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyn-Y-Fron Luxury 5* GOLD AWARD QUALITY WELSH B&B . Ideal for that Romantic get away or family stay. With breath taking views of The Conwy Valley, Gwydyr Forest and Snowdonia, Here you can expect personal service and exacting standards, yet with excellent GREEN credentials . We aim to ensure our guests get from their holiday exactly what they want, so our vast local knowledge will help you plan an activity charged day or breath taking sight seeing. We can if you wish advise and make dinner reservations at our quality local restaurants. We provide 5 individually designed and really comfortable bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms . Why not treat yourself to the Valley View suite where you can completely relax with breakfast served in your room while taking in the stunning views. Quality local produce is used in our varied breakfasts and we are happy to cater for special diets. We are only a short 7 min walk from the village of Betws Y Coed and central for all sight seeing in and around North Wales. WIFI is free, as is our private car park. Come and try real Welsh hospitality, we are confident you will want to come back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyn-y-Fron Quality Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Tyn-y-Fron Quality Bed And Breakfast
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing