We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful B&B in a beautiful country”
Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #5 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We we warmly greeted, provided with tea and a wonderful piece of cake (we asked for and got the recipe). Our room (Room 3) was large, very nicely appointed and very clean. A modern bathroom ensuite was welcome after our journey there. The accomodation was nothing short of excellent. Our hostess was very warm and friendly, and she provided us with a wonderful variety for breakfast - both cooked and otherwise. The Maes-y-Garth is well located just on the edge of the village of Bewys-y-Coed. This was the perfect location for us to spend three days exploring Snowdonia and northern Wales. What a magnificent country. We have no hesitation in rating the Maes-y-Garth with five stars - *****.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 606 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

There is something special about this place. One experiences it the moment Rose opens the front door. I have never experienced such a friendly, warm B&B. Maybe Rose is what makes Maes-y-Garth so special. She is the perfect host without overdoing it.

Great location, with a lovely short walk through the farm to the village. Very spacious and beautiful rooms, ample parking, excellent breakfast. What else can one hope for. Really one of the best B&B's all over the world that we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whalerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My visit to Maes-y-Garth, in Betsw-y-Coed, exceeded all expectations-
Rose and Steve's efforts and attention to detail, stand out as a fine example of great customer care.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayabusaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Stayed at Maes-y-Garth after a search on the internet for a biker friendly B/B in North Wales. We had a wonderfull holiday.

Made very welcome by Rose with a cup of tea and cake. Steve had make room in the garage for our bike. Plenty of room for a few bikes.

Accomodation is excellent value, decorated and maintained to a high standard and spotlessly clean. Superb cooked breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for Rose and Steve.

Short scenic walk to Betws-y-Coed, where there are several places to eat. All in all the best B/B in the world. We will be back next year, if not soon.
Lou and Robbie

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincsLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Very friendly welcome
delicious breakfasts
very comfortable roomy and quiet bedroom
well situated at a 10 minutes walk from town center

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClearF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Just returned from a wonderful 4-night stay at Maes-y-Garth run by Rose and Steve and could easily have stayed longer.
We were met at Betws railway station by Rose and taken home to a very welcome cup of tea and slice of sponge cake. Our hosts were very kind and informative about the area throughout our stay and offered help in all sorts of day-to-day practicalities.
The breakfast room and spacious lounge, which are on a raised level, have stunning views over the beautifully kept garden and the Snowdonia landscape. There are three guest rooms which were always occupied, but peace and quiet prevailed at all times.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable with extra thought given to those things you often forget about (hairdryer and even a sewing-kit (!).
Breakfasts were abundant and excellent: either traditional bacon, sausage and egg or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, all top quality. You just have to tell Rose the day before which you prefer. On the buffet you also have a choice of juice, fresh fruit, cereal and Welsh cakes which, for those used to continental breakfasts as we are, might be enough.
It's a short and pleasant walk over a public footpath through a field and over a charming wooden bridge to the village (10 min at the very outside). This is perfectly easy so long as you remember to take one of the torches provided and are careful crossing the one main road separating the house from the village. It's not especially busy but the cars do drive fast.
There is loads to see and do in the area and providing you plan your day to a minimum, getting around by public transport is perfectly easy if you don't go with a car as we didn't (Rose thoughtfully gave us timetables). During the three days there, we were able to go to Llandudno, Conwy, Portmeirion and Llanberis. But if you plan on taking the train up Mount Snowdon, it's definitely a good idea to book the day before. Otherwise you could well find long queues of people who've turned up on the day having waited for the right weather and who then get allocated a time slot much later on in the day. It's a fab place for all types of walking, from easy to hard, even if you just stay in the Betws area.
All in all, if we return, as we hope too, we'll definitely go back to Maes-y-Garth without looking elsewhere....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boribor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

This is the second time this year we have stayed at Maes-y-Garth we just had to go again. A great place to stay. Fantastic room and great food. Rose and Steve are a great couple and they made us very welcome. Beautiful views. We will be going back again soon............... can't wait................

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenyweenyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,047 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $104 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing