We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstandingly comfortable and well-appointed B&B”
Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #4 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2009

I spent five extremely pleasant nights at Maes-y-Garth, and, despite somewhat irregular North Wales weather, very much enjoyed my time at Betws-y-Coed. The room was spotless and nicely furnished, and the bed so comfortable that I slept at least as well as I sleep at home. Rose's breakfasts, as others have noted, are superb. All in all it was a very pleasant stay, and I would certainly try to stay at Maes-y-Garth if in the area again. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonmouthForester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 609 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2009

Welcome included tea, cake and a big smile. Our room was faultless and breakfast is like a top five star hotel. Rose and Steve looked after us like family and made our stay just the best. Steve helped us with local routes to enjoy on our days out and made his garage available for our bikes. There aren't words enough to describe how good our stay was here - Thank you Rose and Steve for the best B&B we have ever experienced. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We returned with friends and received a warm welcome with a tray of tea and a lovely slice of cake and the welcoming attitude continues during your stay.

We had the two double bedrooms, which are spacious and beautifully decorated .The breakfast room is very tastefully decorated and the breakfast presented, on beautiful china, is a wonderful start to the day. The cooked breakfast has proper meaty bacon, a perfect egg cooked by Steve, hash browns, tomatoes etc and there is also a choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurts and welsh cakes.
Have booked another visit as it would be difficult to find a welcome and a place as good as this.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnicagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Our nicely decorated, spotlessly clean room with comfy beds had stunning views over the Conwy valley. Everything you could need and more was provided. Umbrellas, walking sticks maps etc. were available too. We were made very welcome by Rose and Steve with tea and home made cake. The whole house is well maintained, clean and airy and the dining room looks over the balcony, where you can see many pretty birds on the feeders and beyond that is the stunning valley. Breakfast is very good with plenty of variety, herbal teas, fresh fruit, cereals and the full english, nicely cooked. There are sitting areas outside in the well kept gardens and it is very peaceful at night. It is only a short walk to Betws-y-Coed, where there are several eating places. The only small downside is that parking can be a bit tight with a long car if they are full. Reasonably priced and very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyholsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

This B&B is a cut above the rest with stunning views, excellent accomodation & friendly owners. We were welcomed with a fresh pot of coffee and traditional welsh cakes, our room was very large and had everything we needed to make our stay extra special. Maes-y-Garth is set in the most stunning location with spectacular views and only 10 minutes walk to Betws-Y-Coed.
We were made very welcome and we will be going back!!! Thank you to the Dolans ;x)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishcouple09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

The plan was to 'get away from it all' for a few day's - just me and my Cruiser.
It couldn't have been better. I can only re-iterate what's been said before. The bedroom (2) was sumptuous - the comfort of the bed was difficult to leave each morning. The bathroom, a good size and the shower, splendid. The breakfast - I chose the fried - was delicious and very filling and the bike safely locked in the garage each night.
I was particularly impressed with the level of imposition from Rose and Steve - if you want to 'shoot the breeze', no problem; if you want to be simply left alone, again, no problem - I've had other hosts attaching themselves like lipets!
Only thing to look out for is when leaving the Maes-y-Garth's drive, its difficult to see anything coming up the drive from the main road. You cannot see them and they cannot see you until you're almost under their wheels - I was nearly creamed when a car sped up the (connecting) drive unaware of the drive I was coming from - maybe a mirror could be fitted??.
Anyway, highly recommended B&B - give it a go - will exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagnarokWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

The best accomodation we have ever had we could not fault it, our room was very tastefully decorated as was the rest of the house,the breakfasts were wonderful plenty variety and nothing was any trouble .Rose and Steve were very friendly without being too imposing. If we visit Wales again(which i'm sure we will)we would love to stay there again.Go on try it you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliaScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#5 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#3 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
417 reviews
14 mi away
Plas Tan y Graig
Plas Tan y Graig
#1 of 12 in Beddgelert
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $109 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing