We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maes y Garth is more like a small quality run hotel than a B&B!!”
Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #2 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
1 review
“Maes y Garth is more like a small quality run hotel than a B&B!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2009

If you are looking for B&B in Betws y Coed look no further than Maes y Garth. This spotlessly clean , comfortable, high class accomodation will satisfy even the most discerning of guests. The beds are comfortable, the rooms very tastefully furnished, the food excellent and the hospitality of the owners Rose & Steve very warm indeed. On our arrival we were greeted with pots of tea and home made cake and nothing was too much trouble for them for the whole of our stay. This is most certainly the best value for money acommodation we have ever stayed in when in Wales.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
383
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of Feb/09. Had Room #1 which had an amazing view of the fields across the road with the town and hills in the distance. Rose and Steve were very warm and friendly and very helpful in providing information about the local bus service, restaurants, etc. There is ample parking on the property which from what I understand is difficult to find with some of the B&Bs in Betws.

The room was very quiet, clean and comfortable and had everything one could need. The breakfasts were substantial with cereals, fruit and yogurt along with eggs that came with either sausages/bacon or smoked salmon.

What I found really neat about the location was the route to get to the center of town - it takes you along a path that passes sheep barns and fields, over a suspension bridge and then past a centuries old church and cemetery. All this in a short 10 minute walk!

All in all, I really enjoyed my stay in Snowdonia and I would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Superb place to stay, run by great people. Couldn't fault it in any way. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We were delighted with our stay at Maes y Garth and could not fault it. Our room was a really good size and we recieved a warm welcome. The views when having breakfast were fantastic and set you in a good mood for the rest of the day. Will try and stay here on every visit to Snowdon, awesome....

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank active32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Desperate for a relaxing few days away from day to day life we contacted Rose at maes - y -garth as we had heard fantastic reviews from a friend that had stayed and they said it was the perfect place to stay with its breathtaking views and welcoming hosts.
Upon arrival Rose greeted us with coffee and delicious home made cake... (a taste of the fantastic cooking that was to greet us each morning but more on that later!)
We had booked the family room as we were taking our 3 month old baby with us and needed space for a travel cot, which Rose kindly supplied us, and was delighted with the size room on offer to us including two comfy rocking chairs ideal for relaxing on in front of the plasma screen tv in the room. The decor was beautiful with finishing touches that you feel would be suited to your own home it was easy to forget that you were in a B&B and not a top quality hotel. The ensuite was spotlessly clean and bright with a powerful shower and selected toiletries provided and plenty of towels on offer.
Each morning we looked out of the breakfast room patio windows at the splendid views of Betws - y - coed and discussed with Rose the many attractions on offer around us and maps were also helpfully provided, before tucking into the best full breakfast with endless supplies of coffee to kick start our day.
I highly recommend this B&B not only for its facilities but also its very welcoming hosts Rose and Steve, nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay and we were made as welcome as if we were friends visiting them in their home.

  • Liked — large clean rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank s1mmo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Reason for trip - 33rd wedding anniversary celebration
Date 22nd - 25th January 2009

This is without a doubt one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. The location is brilliant with the village of Betws-y-Coed within 10mins walking distance. (Torches and umbrellas are lent to you). The standard of cleanliness is high and all the rooms well appointed. Breakfast was amazing eg. fruit juice, fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt , full cooked breakfast with not a hint of grease. You could sit and watch the most amazing array of birds visiting the bird feeder on the balcony.
Rose lent us champagne glasses and put our champagne in the fridge to cool (and even gave us an anniversay card)!
Rose and Steve are the best hosts and it was a privilege to stay there. I can't recommend it enough and will be doing so to all my friends. We definitely want to return!!

Tony & Margaret Barry.
Hertfordshire, England

  • Liked — The accomodation and definitely Rose & Steve
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed here for three nights whilst attempting to climb Snowdon and could not have hoped for a warmer welcome. Everything was well kept and tidy, the location was very quiet and the breakfasts were of a standard I have not found anywhere before. To be served food of that quality in a restuarant you would be expected to pay a very high price. All round an excellent place to stay and should I be returning to that part of the world it will be the first place I check for availability.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorAdventurer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,021 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#4 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Property: Maes-y-Garth
Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing