We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & Fantastic.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #2 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly & Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room was gorgeous, very modern & clean. Tracey and Stefan were very friendly and welcoming, only stayed one night, comfortable beds, fresh towels and a well cooked breakfast, wish we could have stayed longer. Would definitely recommend and will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
365
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this B&B on New Years Day (sorry, only just got round to leaving a review) and we thought that this was one of the best B&B's we had stayed in. It was very clean and tidy and the couple that run it are very lovely. They made us feel very welcome and on arrival even gave us the choice of rooms. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and they even got up early just for us as we wanted to head off walking in the Glyders early. The view from the breakfast room is probably the best in the house. A great added bonus was the option to order a packed lunch for the next day. Overall, we were very impressed with this place and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very spacious but didn't have much of a view, but this wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blatch_and_Netty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Me, my husband and seven month old Daughter stayed at this fantastic B & B this September for a three night stay. Going anywhere with a baby can be a little stressful with so many things to think about, but from the moment I spoke to Tracey on the phone to make the initial inquiry I felt at ease. Both her and Stefan were welcoming and accomdating to our needs during our whole stay. Our room was tastefully decorated, comfortable and immaculately clean. Breakfast was also tasty, well cooked and served in a dining room that had a beautiful view overlooking the valley.
The Maes-y-Garth far exceeded our expectations and is in a perfect location to act as a base to explore snowdonia and north Wales in general. We highly reccomend this B&B to others.

Claire and Stephen Jones,
Cardiff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire-PJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Maes-y-Garth is a great B&B in an lovely location just a short, pretty walk from Betws-y-Coed. Tracey and Stefan work hard to ensure that their guests are well looked after and deliver an excellent friendly service. Spotless rooms, extremely comfortable beds and fresh towels, linen and biscuits daily. A well cooked tasty breakfast, offering plenty of choice, served in a gleaming dining room with a fantastic view. This is an outstanding B&B that deserves all the accolades it receives - Tracey and Stefan could certainly show many 4 and 5 star hotels how it should be done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoMa85_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Location, accommodation and hosts Tracey and Stefan....perfect! Welcoming and helpful...with a genuine interest in creating a friendly atmosphere for all their guests. Room was outstanding.... tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean, with beautiful views across Betws-y-Coed from our balcony.
As a previous reviewer has stated, the walk across the beautiful suspension bridge and through the station to the village IS magical!
This will definitely be our first choice of B&B when we come back to stunning North Wales.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

A really great B&B in a great location. Just a 10 minute walk to Betws-y-Coed where there are plenty of places to eat. Tracey's attention to detail and cleanliness is excellent, and she and Stefan are mines of information on local attractions and routes. A huge breakfast sets you up for the day and Tracey will make packed lunches if required.
We had room 4, in the front of the house, and its balcony gives a great view of the sunsets.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B and would very happily stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: We would recommend room 4 which has a king-size bed, a balcony and a sunny outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyBHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We agree with previous ratings. Maes-y-Garth is a beautiful location and so convenient to Betws-y-Coed. Tracey and Stefan made us most welcome. We liked the thoughtful attention to detail and the standard of service and comfort that we enjoyed during our two night stay. We would certainly consider staying at Maes-y-Garth again.

Room Tip: There are rooms of different sizes, so you can request the room that suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Property: Maes-y-Garth
Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing