We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two day relaxation :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #2 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Two day relaxation :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Tracy & Stefans B&B. The welcome we received on our arrival was wonderful and the information Tracy gave us about places to go in the area was extremely helpful also. The room was beautiful, bed was heavenly after strolling through Wales. Stefan and Tracy's attention to detail is brilliant, they seemed to have thought of everything, from the selections of drinks,biscuits & toiletries in the room. The breakfast was perfect, you had a choice of full breakfast or you could opt for a smaller cooked breakfast. As well, there was a choice of fresh fruits, yoghurt and cereals accompanied with fresh orange and tea or coffee. Thank you Tracy and Stefan for your hospitality and the use of your umbrella and torch, came in very handy. Me and Keith thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was a pleasure staying with you both. We would not hestitate to recommend your accommodation to friends and family in the future and look forward to staying with you again ourselves. Thank you :-)

Room Tip: No fitness centre or swimming pool, but if they did have I am sure it would be amazing :-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NHanne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
365
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

An excellent B & B in Betwys-y-coed with easy walking access into the village itself. The B & B run by Tracey and Stefan was superb. Nothing was too much trouble and if felt you had known them for years. We would highly recommend this B & B and shall certainly visit again it had all the comforts of home, excellent views, decoration/cleanliness, food and most of all a friendly atmosphere. Thank you again P, J & E

Room Tip: Rooms 3 & 5 especially 3 have patio doors onto the verandah with exquisite views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

A lovely B & B. We stayed in room 4 with balcony and superb views over the valley. A spacious comfortable room and very clean with everything we needed and more. A lot of thought has gone into this B & B. Tracey and Stefan made us feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. They have a huge knowledge of the area and have lots of leaflets and books (if required) to help plan your day. Excellent cooked breakfast. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

EXCELLENT B&B

We highly recommend Maes-y-Garth, Tracey and Stefan are welcoming, friendly and helpful – nothing is too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a delight, lots of choice, well cooked and well presented. Location is great with the added bonus of beautiful views. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay, the full breakfast is superb I love the sausage ( no greasy offering here) just good food well cooked and as much toast and coffee as you want. Tracy and Stefan run the B&B like a five star hotel and everywhere very clean and shipshape nothing is too much trouble for them, when you are in room four out on the balcony looking out over the pine covered mountains it rivals any Swiss vista.I cannot wait to return yet again.

Room Tip: Room four with the balcony every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mar1an1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Once again had another great holiday at Maes-y-Garth. This will have been our 3rd visit since last May. We have stayed in both rooms 3 and 4 and both are excellent. Room 4 has a view across the valley. Tracey and Stefan are excellent hosts, very accommodating and friendly - nothing too much trouble. We look forward to seeing them again before the year is out.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet either having a view of the valley or the garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlwood
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you want a PERFECT stay with exceptional service and breakfast, then stay at the Maes-y-Garth. This was our second time of staying at this bed and breakfast and once again we had a lovely stay. Tracey and Stefan go out of their way to make sure everyone who stays with them gets 5 star treatment. The rooms are large and modern furnished, lovely and clean and well stocked. The breakfast is varied and freshly cooked with the view from the dining room to make you gasp, even on a rainy day. Tracey will even provide you and your party with a packed lunch, in a picnic bag, so you don't even have to worry about that, especially if you intend to walk most of the day. Betws-y-coed is just a short stroll away and offers various restaurants and lots to do and see. Cannot recommend this place more highly then I do. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, so don't worry about getting a good room, but if you want a balcony, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Property: Maes-y-Garth
Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing