We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and special”
Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #4 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Once again had another great holiday at Maes-y-Garth. This will have been our 3rd visit since last May. We have stayed in both rooms 3 and 4 and both are excellent. Room 4 has a view across the valley. Tracey and Stefan are excellent hosts, very accommodating and friendly - nothing too much trouble. We look forward to seeing them again before the year is out.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet either having a view of the valley or the garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 608 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you want a PERFECT stay with exceptional service and breakfast, then stay at the Maes-y-Garth. This was our second time of staying at this bed and breakfast and once again we had a lovely stay. Tracey and Stefan go out of their way to make sure everyone who stays with them gets 5 star treatment. The rooms are large and modern furnished, lovely and clean and well stocked. The breakfast is varied and freshly cooked with the view from the dining room to make you gasp, even on a rainy day. Tracey will even provide you and your party with a packed lunch, in a picnic bag, so you don't even have to worry about that, especially if you intend to walk most of the day. Betws-y-coed is just a short stroll away and offers various restaurants and lots to do and see. Cannot recommend this place more highly then I do. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, so don't worry about getting a good room, but if you want a balcony, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my second stay with Tracey and I wasn't disappointed. Rooms 5 Star (all of them)
If you are after that little bit more this is the place to come, has the extras that you sometimes wish you had.

Views wonderful of the mountain.
Food fab
Company great
Location good for both car and walking

Thank you x

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 479Valerie972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The accommodation is immaculate and very well located in the stunning Snowdonia National Park and if walking is not you thing the hosts are very informative about the many local attractions available to suit all ages and all abilities. This lovely B & B is situated a short walk from Betsy-y-Coed town with a wide range of restaurants. We received a very warm welcome from Tracey and later met Stefan who together with Tracey provided an excellent breakfast with a wide variety of cold and hot food, locally sourced and freshly cooked.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guest house to others and have already done so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at maes-y-garth numerous times its so clean, beautiful location, really friendly atmosphere Stefan & Tracey make you feel so welcome I class them as friends now.cant wait for my next visit your never disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flynn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our second stay at Maes-y-Garth and as previoulsy we received a warm welcome from Stefan and Tracey. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable with stunning views across the valley. Breakfast is first class with plenty of choice and keeps you going for the day. We would not hesitate to recomment this guest house and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SapphireB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Technically this is a fine B&B, rooms are nice, location is good, view is nice. But unfortunately we did not like the experience at all. Reception was very hostile, instead of the expected welcome, we were "welcomed" with hostility, since we made an error in our booking. Since that very bad start we did not get a long. Every question was one to many. Requesting for some cinnamon with the porridge ended up in an explanation of how silly it is to have cinnamon in your porridge.

As said before the rooms are ok. Shower is terrible (no water pressure at all) , but the beds and towels are high class. The B&B has 5 rooms, which gives it more of a hotel-feel than an B&B-feel. We will not return to this place.

Room Tip: Room 4 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey R, Owner at Maes-y-Garth, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Margriet and Jerry
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and felt that we were hostile towards you. We may have looked shocked and surprised on your arrival (as we were worried that we had made a mistake with your booking) as you arrived a day earlier than booked and we can only assume you interrupted this look as hostile which was never our intention. On arrival we quickly reassured you that as luck had it we did have a one night gap in an alternative room so we would be able to accomodate you, we also advised that the next morning we would transfer your belongings over to the room you had booked so you would not need to waste your day waiting around.

Sorry but we do not understand your comment every question was too many as we try our best to be as helpful as possible to all our guests.

Unfortunately we were not able to accomodate your request for cinnamon with your porridge on the morning you had porridge as we did not have any, we do however always ask about dietary requirements before arrival and had we have known that cinnamon was required we would have got some in. We are unsure who you had your discussion with about how silly it was to have cinnamon with your porridge, we can only assume it was with other guests as we did have a couple of guests express shock at your banging on the kitchen door whilst we were cooking to request cinnamon.

We appreciate that you main disappointment may have been on departure when you felt you should receive a room rate discount. Back in April when you booked you booked one room and then same day asked to upgraded your room and whilst your booking was confirmed accordingly you felt the upgrade should have been free as you were on honeymoon.

Again sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us however hopefully you enjoyed your time in Wales.

Kind regards
Tracey and Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#5 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
1,053 reviews
1 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#3 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenwood Guest House
Glenwood Guest House
#6 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#8 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $105 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing