We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely hide away”
Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #4 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

we stayed at this lovely bb,tracy and stefan where the perfect hosts,nothing was any trouble,the breakfasts just cooked to perfection, it was spotlessly clean ,it was the whole package towards a very lovely hot week in north wales and an ideal great base to travel around surrounding area's.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgesselaine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 608 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Tracey and Stefan were very welcoming and we soon realised we couldn't have made a better choice.The room was great with a huge king size bed which was very comfortable. Everywhere
was spotlessly clean-huge fluffy bath towels were superb. Lots of choice on the breakfast menu and the locally sourced food was excellent and was cooked to perfection.We are looking forward to our next visit to the Maes-y-Garth and would without a doubt certainly recommend a stay here.
The location could not have been better and we particularly liked the walk into the village over the suspension bridge.

Room Tip: room 3 was lovely and cool in the very hot weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Stefan and Tracey, who couldn't do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Their advice on where to go and what to see was invaluable and over three days we only scratched the surface of one of the best holiday destinations in Britain.
The guest house was immaculate and everything was spotlessly clean. The situation and the views from the terrace were very picturesque. The breakfasts were superb.
Our bedroom was stylishly decorated, sizeable and with extremely comfortable beds.
This is quite the best guest house run by two very enthusiastic people to a very high standard and we shall certainly stay there when next in the area - we'd be mad not to!
And there is parking in the grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just arrived back from Maes Y Garth what a beautiful guest house we had a lovely room with a kingsize comfy bed with doors leading out to small patio where my husband enjoyed is first cup of tea in the morning, really nice bathroom with lovely thick white towels plenty of choice on the breakfast menu.Tracey and Stefan the owners very friendly and helpful anything you wanted to know you only had to ask, It's one of the best places we have stayed in and we will definitely return I would strongly recommend this place

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I always read reviews BEFORE I book an hotel or Restaurant and the reviews I read about Maes y Garth seemed too good to be true. How wrong I was and I so pleased that I made the decision to stay there.

The owners Tracey and Stefan were the most friendly hosts I have ever met, nothing was too much trouble for them and they really seemed to enjoy trying to ensure that you were comfortable.

We had room 5 and it was really lovely. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed, plenty of tea and coffee, horlicks and chocolate available and the towels were changed on both the days we stayed there.

The breakfast room was superbly designed with fantastic views of the Welsh Mountans and the breakfast was exactly as much as you wanted. Superbly cooked and I like the idea of choosing what you want for breakfast the day before. It gave you the choice of almost everything you could think of and, because Tracey and Stefan knew what you had ordered, it was cooked whilst you had your fruit or cereals.

We were enjoying my partners birthday and Tracey very kindly put our champagne on ice for us and took delivery of the flowers I had arranged.

We will most definitely return and, hopefully, long before the nexy birthday.

Thank you to you both and best of luck, you thoroughly deserve to succeed.

Room Tip: Read the reviews and try to discard the reviews that are obviously written by friends or neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed with Tracey & Stefan on a 2 Night break to walk up Snowdon, this was the first time we ever stayed in a B&B, it was fantastic from the moment we arrived. Two of the most helpful and friendly people you could ever meet, the room was spotless, smelled lovely and was so very comfortable, COTTON bed linen, crisp and white, towels crisp and white. Lovely clean cutlery and crockery and the breakfast did not have a wisp of grease on it and tasted so very pleasing,the packed lunch was great value.
I would not hesitate to recommend the B&B, the surrounding area was so pleasing to the eye and a very nice little village full of places to eat and drink.
Thank you Stefan & Tracey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Maes-y-Garth and would definitely recommend it. We have stayed in far more expensive 4* hotels that are not as good as this. From the warm welcome from Tracey upon arrival to the excellent breakfast and the comfortable beds, you couldn't ask for more. We stayed in room 5 which has its own terrace with a lovely view. The view is even better from the upstairs breakfast room. As this was our first time in North Wales Tracey and Stefan were most helpful with places to go and travel instructions, nothing was too much trouble. There was even a packed lunch available (at £5 each) and although we didn't take up the offer ourselves others that were staying did and said they were good value for money. The Maes-y-Garth is in an excellent location and the 6 minute walk into the village is quite enjoyable, especially as we were blessed with plenty of good weather whilst we were there. Even if the weather had been wet there are umbrellas available for guest use and torches for use on the walk back from the village in the evening. Tracey and Stefan have really thought of everything. Well done to you both, you are doing a fantastic job. We will definitely be back again. Many thanks for a lovely stay, Paul and Wendy (Watford)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#5 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#3 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
417 reviews
14 mi away
Plas Tan y Graig
Plas Tan y Graig
#1 of 12 in Beddgelert
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $109 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing