We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, fantastic &friendly hosts”
Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #5 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here a number of times and wudnt stay anywhere else as Tracey & stefan makes you feel so welcome I, ve stayed in just bout every room and they are lovely decorated & comfortable, its very central to go and visit the surrounding areas, the home cooked breakfast sets you up the day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flynn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 607 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were made to feel most welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room had everything we needed and more. Breakfast was delicious. Tracey and Steve were both very helpful in advising places to eat and even booking up for us. We left feeling as if we had made two very good friends and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We enjoyed our very pleasant stay at Maes -y - Garth, 5* exceeds itself, room lovely, bright, extremely clean, great en-suite. Breakfast was declicious, beautiful location, nothing was too much trouble for Tracy and Stefan, they made us so very welcome. Very helpful in advising the local best places to eat, and have no hesitatiion in recommending a relaxing stay here in Maes-Y-Garth. We will certainly return. Thank you Tracy and Stefan for arranging the beautiful bouquet waiting in the lovely room on our arrival. Take our word well worth going to Betws-y-Coed and staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rays2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Can the best get better?
Well....er...YES it can.
Always admired Rose and Steve's attention to detail

But Tracey and Stefan have really grabbed hold of the baton and polished it into a beacon.

All rooms spotlessly clean. day after day.
Even when you have trudged through rock and ice.

Your waterproofs are wetted out, so are you and your other layers.
within minutes once the radiator in the shower room kicks in, everything is dry.
Boots/cagoules etc? - simples...just place them in the drying room.

There is nothing I can complain about.
20 years of staying in guesthouses, hotels, B&B's, Inns, Travel Lodges...etc etc

Breakfast?
I can state that there is no equal.
So now your're awarded a Meldrew star.
Your double Michellin?...I hear its not far off?

Amazing Maes Y? - 'O'MYG

Room Tip: All rooms spotlessly clean. day after day. Even when you have trudged through rock and ice. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorMeldrew001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Yet again our stay at Maes-y-Garth has easily met our high expectations. I cannot find any faults with this B&B.

This year we stayed in Room 5, which is large, comfortable, warm and very clean. As I don`t eat a full English/Welsh breakfast it was good to be able to select the bits I like or just have fruit, cereals and toast etc.

Tracey and Stefan are wonderful hosts. They are friendly and their attention to detail shows such pride in their guest house and the service they provide.

We wouldn`t stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Due tobusiness requirements I often have to work away from home and over the years I have encounterd many hotels and other places to stay, some good & some bad, but not many as good as Maes-y-Garth. Excelllent & Impeccably clean accomodation with a lovey cooked full English to start day. I've stayed at Maes-y-Garth on a number of occasions and I've had the plesure of trying out the majority of the rooms and all are great. Some small and cosy others large and spacious, but all live up to an excellent standard. When ever I'm required to visit North Wales I always try to book Maes-y-Garth as my 1st Choice accomodation, even if it means having to travel a bit further than I would normaly would to get to my place of work.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a great room, cosy and tucked away at the back of the property over looking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I wanted to visit Snowdon to take my little boy up on the train. Because of weather the train cancelled and refunded my money - The B&B however wanted 100% payment 28 days before our booked dates. Had we wanted to cancel up to two months before - it would have cost me 50%. This seems somewhat draconian. Yes - I should have read the terms and conditions before booking - I understand that, and that is why we still went this weekend, but it is the longest period cancellation policy I have come across during years of extensive travel.
The B&B itself is nice - very clean, great location, close to but not in the village, and good size rooms etc, although for a five star rating I felt the breakfast was a little disappointing. The owners make a point of getting to know you and are friendly - they went out of thier way to invlove by young son in any conversation.
Ordinarilly we would consider staying again, but effectively being made to take the weekend and not being able to cancel and re-book at a later date means that we never will.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey R, Owner at Maes-y-Garth, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Russell, Simone and Louis

We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy and feel that you were made to continue with your booking when you would have preferred to cancel.

When you intially emailed to cancel your booking you advised that is was not possible to move your booking.

As a business it is necessary for us to have a cancellation policy and ours is no different to the vast majority of bed and breakfasts. Up to 2 months prior there is no charge, then up to 1 month prior the cost of one room night is payable which is equal to the non refundable deposit that some bed and breakfasts take up front. Cancellation within 1 month of the arrival date incurs full payment unless we are able to re-let the room.

We did try and re-let your room up until 10 days before your arrival date when you asked us to amend your booking from a twin room to a family room, If we had had more time we may have been able to re-let your room and then no cancellation charge would have been due.

Despite everything we hope you all enjoyed your weekend including your trip on the train up Snowdon on Saturday.

Once again sincere apologies.

Kind regards
Tracey and Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
696 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,050 reviews
1 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#4 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $104 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing