We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunny September”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #2 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunny September”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just had a 2 night visit to maes-y-garth for our 3rd time and would like to say a big thank you to Stefan and Tracey for making out stay warm and welcoming once again. The room had a beautiful view which we wish we could take home with us. Breakfast still as filling as ever (fried eggs are special :) ) The b and b as a whole is a clean and fresh place to stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a weekend break. Its ideally situated so u can just jump in your car and visit different places. Looking forward to our next visit.

colin&jean corby

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
367
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Totally loved my 2 nights at the mea y Garth b&b, we were greeted by a lovely woman very polite and helpful We were then shown to our gorgeous room with amazing views and left alone to enjoy our weekend, the b&b is well situated for amazing country walks and ascending snowdonia. I'm going back again next year can't wait

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPRoberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just had a 3 nighter at this lovely B & B. We have stayed in a few in our time, but this is definitely the best!

Very welcoming hosts, happy to help in any way they can. It is situated in a great location, easy to reach Betws y Coed, and easy to find.

We had room 4, which has beautiful views to wake up to, also clean and modern. Room is spacious and bed amazingly comfy!

Breakfasts were delicious, with plenty of choice.

Would definitely recommend a stay here. Thank you Tracey and Stefan.

Room Tip: Room 4 - amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just returned from our 2 night stay at Maes-y-Garth. Tracey and Stefan were extremely friendly hosts and were constantly at hand to point us in the right direction should we of needed it. The B&B is lovely - very cosy (not sure what the other guests comments are about?!) very clean, and literally everything you can think of is provided - even down to a small sewing kit in the drawer! The torches came in very handy for our walk into Betws-y-coed for the evenings. (A beautiful town and well worth a visit - literally only a 5-10 minute walk away).
The breakfast is fantastic (and what incredible views as well!) and set us up for our climb up Snowdon yesterday (what beautiful views! It was well worth the climb.... don't get the train... the climb is amazing in itself!)
We loved this town, and loved the B&B. My partner is even thinking of returning for his stag doo. Thanks again Tracey and Stefan... May see you soon! Amanda and Paul x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witho12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Maes y Garth was to be the luxury portion of our honeymoon, judging by the photos and description on the website. Arrived late on a cold rainy night- be forwarned the sign/entrance is very small and easy to miss. No light on outside to welcome us. Room was fine but not very cozy. Bathroom nice and large but no counter space. Breakfast standard. Host polite but business like. Pricey for what you get, but such is the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Withingmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hi Tracey and Stefan. I do not usually remember to give feedback but in your case this is a must. I can't thank you both for such a wonderful stress free experience from the welcome at the door to the good bye at the end. First off, the welcome, everyone in the country should pay these two people a visit to see how customer service should be done. The room was first class on tap refreshments by way of coffee, tea, hot chocolate and endless biscuits, many hotels b&b only provide one set of biscuits but everyday they were replenished. The morning breakfast outstanding, and a real friendly atmosphere with other guests all created by Tracey and Stefan. The garage to lock away the bikes and the boiler room to dry out the kit ( luckily, did not need the boiler room) every detail thought about and nothing was to much trouble, when people say let me know if there is anything we can do I actually believed them because they mean it. If you are contemplating where to stay this is the place for any type of trip. I am going to return soon. Thank you thank you very much. See you soon. Regards Will

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at Maes Y Garth in Sept in Room 3. It was everything we hope a B&B should be, newley renovated and decorated, very clean, a short walk or very short drive into the centre of Betws-y-coed, very comfortable beds, great breakfast and stunning views. Congratulations to Tracey and Stefan you deserve the success i'm sure you will have

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Property: Maes-y-Garth
Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing