We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent weekend stay”
Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #3 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
caerphilly
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent weekend stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

thanks to Tracey and Stefan for a fantastic weekend i stayed with my wife in room 1 from the 7th to the 10th of September we have stayed in many b&b`s but this one has got to be the best from the warm welcome to the fantastic room the biscuits with the tea and coffee in your room is a nice touch we had the best nights sleep ever the bed was so comfortable we asked Tracey for the make of the mattress which she has emailed to us as you will find nothing is to much trouble for her the breakfast was fantastic with a good choice from a full cooked to cereals to fruit and a selection of yoghurt everywhere in this b&b is spotless the views of the mountain is fabulous we are hoping to stay here again and again it was a perfect location for us only a short walk across the road and bridge into the lovely town of betws-y-coed even umbrellas for your use if it is raining this b&b was perfect in every was for us we did not want to leave congratulations to Tracey & Stefan for recently achieving the well deserved five star rating
Martin & Eileen--South wales

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic room 5 has a balcony but i am told this room is booked well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin61Caerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
379
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Thanks to Tracey and Stefan for fitting us in - literally last minute for a 50th birthday break following a bit of a disaster...... This is simply a great place to stay. I have really high standards and was not left disappointed! Everything is spotless, breakfast was super, room was great and views were fantastic. The owners really make the difference - so friendly and helpful and totally committed to the success of their business - and it shows. We really can't wait to go back soon. Only down side is it is so good everyone will want to stay here and certainly return once they have been!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessnic40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

From the moment you arrive you'll feel at home.We stayed in the wonderful room 5 with access directly to a patio, which allowed me to pop out for the occasional cigarette without disturbing other guests.The room was immaculate,modern,beautifully decorated and had everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay.The bed was heaven on earth and the large walk in shower was wonderful after a long hot day.The views from the rooms across the mountains are breathtaking to wake up to .
Tracey the owner was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.If I had to be anywhere within a hundred miles of this B&B I'd be stopping here if possible.
We walked over to Betwys-y-Coed for dinner (across a path that takes five minutes)and ate at The Stables where the food was excellent and great value for money.
The breakfast was delicious and a good choice was offered.
Can't wait to stay again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed the w/e of 31st August with my wife & I in Room 4 & my 2 daughters in room 2.
We all agreed the rooms & specifically the breakfast were excellent. We walked across the road, footpath & bridge into Betws on both evenings & ate in the Bistro (Fri) and Stables (Sat) - both meals very good value.
Climbed Snowdon on the Sat morning & the timing for breakfast was exactly right for the Sherpa bus to take us up (9.10am leaving Betws) - we have stayed in other 4/5 star places here who serve a much later breakfast & is non-negotiable - not the case here & as said above, breakfast was superb.
Weather was not great & we could not take advantage of the outside balcony seating, but apart from that, great place & congratulations on your 5th star!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesCardiffboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a first trip away with my son, who's seven. Having visited the Snowdonia area numerous years ago I knew that Betws-y-Coed was pretty central for most things, I was not aware of places to stay however. Saw the pictures on the internet and phoned up to book. From that first contact I knew I had chosen well, the owners could not do enough to help, even suggesting Room 4, which was spot on for our needs.

The room was spotlessly clean, well decorated and the bedding fresh and clean. The surrounding views were superb from the veranda. Breakfast as described by other reviews was outstanding. Both owners took time to get to know you, and shared their knowledge of the area to suggest things to do. I can't find anything to fault. Our stay had friendly, professional hosts with quality accommodation, which is a hard combination to near let alone achieve as this place has.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in rooms 1 and 5. My husband and I had room 5 on ground floor with dorrs which lead out on to small seating area which was lovely to enjoy the views.
Tracey and Stefan have it just perfect. The bed linen was crisp and fresh, the beds comfy. Quality coffee and biscuits on the welcome tray. Lovely breakfast in the dining room overlooking the valley. Will definately be back.Congratulations on your recent review too it is well deserved.

Room Tip: We liked room 5 for the french doors on to the small patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenBPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Cant add much more to previous reviews it as good as they say, but to say room 4 with a balcony is brillant with lovely views over Betws-y, Top class food served with friendly smiles, double garage for the motor bike, Tracey & Stefan are 5 star hosts. Place to stay if your in north wales.

Room Tip: room 4 excellent views with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Property: Maes-y-Garth
Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing