We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pengwern Country House
Ranked #26 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bucks
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Welcoming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We found this bed and breakfast in the Internet and we booked two nights. Although our room was on the small side it was clean and comfortable. We were greeted with tea, cakes and a warm welcome. The breakfast were delicious and the hostess was very helpful with local information. Unfortunately we stayed on the hottest day this year and we slept with the windows open, not a good idea when the A5 runs past your window. However the views made up for the traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the back if you don't want traffic noise and you don't mind a garden vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We are on our 5th night stay here of six. We found this property via the Alistair Sawday website. This is a great place to stay to explore Snowdonia and North Wales. The house is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable, en-suite and well appointed, the beds comfortable. The TV lounge downstairs is tastefully furnished and has superb views towards wooded hillsides. You are spoilt for choice for breakfast and the full Welsh breakfast option is superb. The hostess, Gwawr, is so welcoming and friendly and Pengwern is a great credit to her. Am happy to recommend Pengwern and would happily return.

Room Tip: the two roms at the front of the house have superb views. The bedrooms have very good radios but do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the sc cottage, great little retreat ideal base for fell walking. Loved being adopted by the house cats, will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sporty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Pengwern is a great place to stay. We stayed at this B&B for three nights late may, and only have good things to stay. It is well situated, and the hostess takes great care of her guests. She helps and advises when asked, but doesn't crowd you if you prefer some peace and quiet. Nitpickers might nag that there's no TV in the room, but the common room is cosy and great to spend some time in the evening. Breakfast is excellent, and Gwawr offers a nice selection. Would recommend this B&B to everyone wishing to explore this beautiful region.

Room Tip: We stayed in the George Wightwick room, which is great ... but beware if you're over six foot ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

First time in the north of Wales and Gwawr really made us feel welcome! A cousin recommended we stay there, she stayed in the 70s and Gwawr remembered her! The breakfasts were delightful and every room was cozy and cheerful. My family and I went because on my mother's maternal line we are related to Richard Sebastian Bond whose house it was. Betws-y-Coed is a very nice little place, we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was my first trip to Wales and Gwawr was a wonderful host. We stayed in the hotel.

On arrival we were greated with Tea and home made cakes which went down well after a 4 hour drive. We sat at the front of the house and looked out at the beautiful view.

Gwawr was very helpful offering advice on both the town and where to eat but also which route to attempt Snowdon including where to park etc.

Breakfast was amazing! There was a good variety including porridge and cereal but the full breakfast was exactly what was needed before the climb.

Our room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. It was a good size and the en-suite had a bath.

The hotel is in a good location to explore the surrounding area but the only draw back is it's a bit of a walk from town. This is fine when the it's light but we didn't risk it in the dark. We got a local cab from town which cost us £5 but the next evening she was fully booked so a cab from the next village came but cost double.

Overall we had a lovely weekend and would definately recommend Pengwern.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is our third visit to this accommodation and it never disappoints. Gwawr and Ian are wonderful hosts and do everything possible to make you feel welcome
We stayed in The Studio, an annex to the main house and completely self contained. Everything was perfect including the welsh cakes Gwawr left for us :)
Seriously, this is a little slice of heaven for 2!
We will definitely return soon

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Afon Gwyn Country House
Afon Gwyn Country House
#11 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tan-y-Foel Country Guest House
Tan-y-Foel Country Guest House
#1 of 2 in Capel Garmon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#2 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coed-y-Fron Guest House
Coed-y-Fron Guest House
#27 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pengwern Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pengwern Country House

Property: Pengwern Country House
Address: Pengwern Allt Dinas, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — Pengwern Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Pengwern Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing