We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB B&B, EXCELLENT HOSTS & PERFECT LOCATION”
Review of Glyntwrog House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glyntwrog House
Ranked #16 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My firend and I decided to travel to Betws to get away from the rat race an chose Glytwrog for our two night stay. We received a lovely warm welcome from Janet on our arrival and were shown to our twin room right at the end of the top floor of the house.

The room was gorgeous with an en-suite (I wouldn't stay anywhere with a shared bathroom) and everything tyou could possiblly need, inlcuding lovely fluffy towels.

The breakfast was faultless and clearly the ingredients were of the very highest standard.

Ian and Janet were really helpful when we asked for some guidance on local walks and sent us off with a usefuld map and guide book in hand for out 6 hour walk through the most beautiful countryside. They were also really knowledgeable when we asked about places to eat and drink in the village.

I'd definitely recommend Glytwrog House to anyone thinking of taking a trip to Betws.

Rachel & Tracy

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachellou73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Glyntwrog House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 165 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by our hosts, Janet and Ian, we knew we had selected the ideal accommodation and location. Everything about Glyntwrog House suited us perfectly and we enjoyed an excellent stay. The room (4), breakfast and facilities were all excellent and we could not fail to want to return. Thanks again for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Check on the web-site and pick your room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmarkham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

From the minute we met Janet and Ian we knew our short visit to Wales was worth it!

They are such a friendly helpful couple and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was extremely well appointed and everything was to a very high standard of cleanliness. We had to have the traditional Welsh breakfast of course and this was delicious and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janhunt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My friend an I stayed at Glyntwrog House on Saturday 11th June, 2011. We had only only wanted to stay for one night as we were travelling from different parts of the Country to meet up and visit Beddgelert, Betws-y-Coed and climb Snowdon on the Sunday. Ian was accommodating in being able to give us one night instead of the usual two (over a weekend). We were allocated Room 1 which is a large family room with bunk beds and a really comfortable double bed. The room had two comfy armchairs, a flat screen TV and a lovely view down to Waterloo Bridge which leads into Betws-y-Coed, which is only a leisurely 10 minute walk. The bathroom was very clean and the hospitality tray had all the usuals plus some filtered water which was a nice touch. The room and house are set in a position that we had a brilliant nights sleep with no outside noise at all. Janet and Ian were kind enough to let us have our breakfast early as we were climbing Snowdon (15 - 20 mins drive). The breakfast was great, with a varied choice and set us up for the day. My friend had the vegetarian option and like me was most pleased. The breakfast room was bright and welcoming and you can tell that Janet and Ian pride themselves on their home and those who are staying. We both found them chatty and friendly and happy to be of assistance.
I will certainly be staying there in the future, and can only thank them for making our stay such a pleasant one. The only other thing they could have done for us was to change the weather as it poured down all day.....but we left happy, knowing we will be back.

Room Tip: Ring and ask, Janet and Ian will do their utmost .
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordLucanCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Me and my wife had the pleasure of booking a long weekend in Betws y Coed, staying at Glyntwrog House. The accomodation is very comfortable with many extra touches that give it a special feel. The oweners, Ian & Janet, recommended some great places to visit as well as supplying us with maps and ways to avoid the crowds at Snowdon. Breakfast was cooked to order and every taste was catered for. We feel that the comments made by Pat1187 are hugely unfair and genuinely wonder whether they had infact stayed somewhere else! Janet and Ian would do anything to make their guests stay a comfortbale and enjoyable one and we thank them for their hospitality. We will definitely return when we visit Snowdonia again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen101Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glyntwrog, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2011

Thank you to Helen and Mark for their kind review, we are pleased to hear their appreciation of our efforts to make a Guests stay with us at Glyntwrog the best it can be.

Janet & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Had a wonderful time staying at Glyntwrog House - the room we had (no. 2) was cosy and warm on the chilly nights as well as having a spacious ensuite bathroom - all of which was spotless. The owners of the B&B, Ian and Janet, were friendly and very helpful - providing lots of advice and information about the area. Breakfast was tasty and flexible when we needed to leave early. The only small criticism of the whole stay was that the shower in our room was not very powerful - took me a while to rinse shampoo out of long hair - however the water was piping hot, which is far more important. Plus there was a bath if you prefer bathing to showering. Glyntwrog House is about 10 minute (easy and flat) walk from the centre of Betws Y Coed village - meaning it's wonderfully peaceful and quiet. And it's right next door to a beautiful old coaching inn (Ty Gwyn) so you don't have to go far for a nice meal. There's Wifi throughout the hotel and you can borrow a laptop to use from the owners if you don't have yours with you. If you want a B&B then it doesn't get much better than this - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyCupOfTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel from Christmas Eve through to Boxing Day and found the service here second to none. From the time of booking this hotel through to leaving them i was amazed at how friendly the owners were and found that they would go out of their way to make sure our stay was a comfortable and pleasurable one. The hotel room was clean and warm and little extras such as cherry and mince pies had been left out for guests due to the christmas period. I can't fault the service we received and would have no hesitation in staying there again. The guests needs always seemed to come before theirs and there was a friendly atmosphere from start to finish.....perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
750 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyntwrog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyntwrog House

Address: Dinas Hill, A5, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $97 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyntwrog House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully positioned 4 star Guest House set in own 5 acre woodland at the edge of the village, quiet peaceful location yet a short walk to restaurants and all village amenities and attractions. All rooms en-suite, beautifully appointed and with lovely river and valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glyntwrog House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyntwrog House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing