We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Afon View Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Oak Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Tyrch Inn(Capel Curig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
192
19
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
19
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsewing kitroom numbereaster weekendbiscuitswelsh breakfastone night stayoff road parkinglittle gempleasant stayexcellent accommodationon arrivalhome from homebreakfast was excellentperfect locationlovely placemany thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 216 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights from 27 Dec. A vert lovely home with nice decor and furniture and lovely vintage elements - i.e. od fireplaces.

Lovely spotless rooms and a nice guest lounge and hte breakfast room was also nice.

Service was fabulous and the breakfasts tasty.

A great place to stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely and the 3/4 double in the single was nice having that bit more room than a standard single. The room is a little small compared to the others.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefank60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Afon View is a delightful place to stay--so perfectly located for exploring surrounding places of interest. It is a lovely comfortable and extremely clean house and beautifully furnished. Our room was perfect---spacious,comfortable and lovely views. The bed --most comfortable and the bathroom large and well equipped.
Barbara and Mike were most gracious and friendly hosts and breakfasts were delicious and served in the gracious dining room.
As a holiday spot we couldn`t have wished for more and we thank Mike and Barbara for a great time. One day we will come back to Betwsy.

Best wishes David and Hellen Carter--Australia

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked Afon View online having visited Betws on numerous occasions but never stayed. A beautiful house, renovated to a very high standard keeping the character of the building - a clever mix of old and modern. We stayed in room 3 - I originally planned to book the cheaper room but liked the sound of the corner bath. Nicest room I've ever stayed in - beautiful decor and so clean - cream carpets with no marks!!!
Weather was atrocious and we had to force ourselves to go out to eat! However we soon returned to watch a film on the flat screen tv on the wall.
We don't always get up for breakfast when we go away but the aroma of cooked breakfast soon got us up! A really good choice of breakfast items and Mike was as attentive as always.
Mike was renovating the four poster bedroom while we were there so we'll have to return to try it out - when the weather's better! Wish we could have stayed longer - despite the weather!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked afon view online, following a little research via trip advisor ect. Afon view was in a great location on the edge of the village. The house is fab and the rooms were great. The only down side is that the bathroom was small, but this is part of the experience of staying in such lovely guest house. If you wanted something else stay in a franchised hotel chain but you would be missing out. We were made very welcome by Mile who could not have been more helpful. He offered advice and recommended local restaurants which we later met him and his wife in.
Our stay was so enjoyable we will diffenately be returning when we can. Our trip was made was very memorable and the guest house was clean, polite and every need was catered to by the friendly management. Breakfast was outstanding.

We got engaged at the top of snowdon and will probably plan our return each year. I'm sure Afon view will be are first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philcoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

With my German partner, I recently spent a whole week at the Afon View since I wanted her to enjoy what is a typical British institution that is more personal and intimate than a hotel. When booking a bed and breakfast room, one must remember that this sort of accommodation is rarely purpose-built but is an adaptation of a former private house to provide facilities for guests. This leads to different room configurations, shapes and sizes. Mike and Barbara have been successful in adapting and decorating their house to make the most of space and to offer guests a decent choice of bedrooms all of a reasonable size. Although we were in room 8, like most B and B guests, we took the opportunity to peek into other rooms when doors were open for cleaning etc. Each room is different but they are all clean, well furnished, tastefully decorated and individual. Bathrooms do vary but we had a full bath with shower etc.
A folder in each room sets out the "house rules" and lists the local eateries with recommendations. A display of leaflets describing all the local attractions can be found on the first floor landing.
The hosts, Mike and Barbara, are both very sociable and caring people to whom guests can instantly relate. Mike is very much the "front man" serving at breakfast, meeting and greeting guests and saying farewell as they leave. He always has time to offer advice on possible sites to visit, provide Internet-based weather hints and to suggest where one can go to eat or drink in and around Betws-y-Coed. (My tip - don't eat T-Bone steak at the Stables Grill room). Even the most minor problem is dealt with instantly - a fuse blew in a bedside light and within minutes all was well!
The above-mentioned breakfast was served on untouchably hot plates and, if you want any combination of other items, just ask!
OK, the A5 road is at the doorstep and the clatter of the infrequent trains in and out of Betws-y-Coed Station can be heard, too, but these are minor points and do not detract unduly from the enjoyment of a stay here. At night, the silence is almost complete. Parking at the rear of the house is a real bonus if you have a hire car and fear for the wing or door mirrors - but birds perched in trees above the car can also change its appearance overnight!
Would I recomend it? Yes, of course!

Room Tip: If you are really sensitive and a light sleeper, then ask for a room at the rear of the house.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonReisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews