We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already thinking about our return journey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Afon View Guest House
Ranked #19 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked afon view online, following a little research via trip advisor ect. Afon view was in a great location on the edge of the village. The house is fab and the rooms were great. The only down side is that the bathroom was small, but this is part of the experience of staying in such lovely guest house. If you wanted something else stay in a franchised hotel chain but you would be missing out. We were made very welcome by Mile who could not have been more helpful. He offered advice and recommended local restaurants which we later met him and his wife in.
Our stay was so enjoyable we will diffenately be returning when we can. Our trip was made was very memorable and the guest house was clean, polite and every need was catered to by the friendly management. Breakfast was outstanding.

We got engaged at the top of snowdon and will probably plan our return each year. I'm sure Afon view will be are first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philcoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

With my German partner, I recently spent a whole week at the Afon View since I wanted her to enjoy what is a typical British institution that is more personal and intimate than a hotel. When booking a bed and breakfast room, one must remember that this sort of accommodation is rarely purpose-built but is an adaptation of a former private house to provide facilities for guests. This leads to different room configurations, shapes and sizes. Mike and Barbara have been successful in adapting and decorating their house to make the most of space and to offer guests a decent choice of bedrooms all of a reasonable size. Although we were in room 8, like most B and B guests, we took the opportunity to peek into other rooms when doors were open for cleaning etc. Each room is different but they are all clean, well furnished, tastefully decorated and individual. Bathrooms do vary but we had a full bath with shower etc.
A folder in each room sets out the "house rules" and lists the local eateries with recommendations. A display of leaflets describing all the local attractions can be found on the first floor landing.
The hosts, Mike and Barbara, are both very sociable and caring people to whom guests can instantly relate. Mike is very much the "front man" serving at breakfast, meeting and greeting guests and saying farewell as they leave. He always has time to offer advice on possible sites to visit, provide Internet-based weather hints and to suggest where one can go to eat or drink in and around Betws-y-Coed. (My tip - don't eat T-Bone steak at the Stables Grill room). Even the most minor problem is dealt with instantly - a fuse blew in a bedside light and within minutes all was well!
The above-mentioned breakfast was served on untouchably hot plates and, if you want any combination of other items, just ask!
OK, the A5 road is at the doorstep and the clatter of the infrequent trains in and out of Betws-y-Coed Station can be heard, too, but these are minor points and do not detract unduly from the enjoyment of a stay here. At night, the silence is almost complete. Parking at the rear of the house is a real bonus if you have a hire car and fear for the wing or door mirrors - but birds perched in trees above the car can also change its appearance overnight!
Would I recomend it? Yes, of course!

Room Tip: If you are really sensitive and a light sleeper, then ask for a room at the rear of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonReisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently stayed at Afon View, my wife and I in the four poster room, our friends in a standard double.

Both rooms were very comfortable, had small but very nice shower rooms. Some have mentioned the shower rooms are small, older building dont always lend themselves to ensuite conversions, so I wouldn't direct any criticism on this part.

The front facing rooms may by some considered a little noisy, from both traffic and late night passers by, but again not a real issue.

The breakfast was very nice, with the usual cereal, fruit juice, fruit salad selection followed by a traditional welsh breakfast.

Parking available to the rear, we actually parked on the roadside outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old_Perculier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm not sure I am able to express well enough to justify how wonderful and incredible the stay I had at Afon View. I travelled solo for the first time. I couldn't have been more fortunate than to have found this lovely B&B. My "single" room felt like a large room. The bathroom was very roomy. The shower was invigorating and especially a welcome relief after a hard days walking up Snowdon. The B&B was immaculately clean. The hot breakfasts presented on warmed plates. The gardens rich with colourful flowers and green lawns. Above all of this, the owner of the Afon View, Mike, gave such a warm welcome. Mike was very helpful and knew the area very well and gave lots of recommendations for local food and drink. It was my first time in Betws-y-coed too. I had such a wonderful stay that I have booked again to go back in September this year. Thanks to Afon View!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balbinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Afon View for 3 nights to celebrate my partners 40th birthday. We stayed in room 4 which was the 4 poster room, it was a good size with a small leather sofa in. The bathroom was a ok size however is was newly refurbished and was done to a very good standard and had a lovely double shower. The whole house is beautifully decorated too. The breakfasts were very good as was the hospitality. The location is excellent just a short walk to the heart of the village. Some lovely places to eat and shop, in partical do book at The Bistro a fab meal.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank classychick31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed with my wife and 12yo daughter for two nights. This was a nice B&B in a lovely old building. However, the building made fitting out the rooms difficult. The room was small, but getting a triple occupancy B&B is very difficult. The bathroom was extremely small and the shower was terrible.... no water pressure (we were on the third floor) and the drain was pretty much blocked. For the money it was reasonable.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank ScottMob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have just returned home (12-07-2013) having spent four nights in a guest house that is truly hard to match up to. The service, breakfasts and cleanliness of The Afon View Guest House are fantastic. We have visited on three previous occasions during the past ten tears and it really does get better and better. It is located in the centre of Betws Y Coed and gives great access to Snowdonia and well as the coast. A big thank you to Mike and Barbara for being great hosts. Peter & Pam (From Southport)

Room Tip: All rooms are well furnished and comfortable. Rooms are on 1st & 2nd Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenwood Guest House
Glenwood Guest House
#7 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon View Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $109 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afon View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afon View is an elegant Victorian house situated in the village of Betws-y-Coed, in the Snowdonia National Park. Close to the restaurants, shops, sherpa bus and the train station. We have 7 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and all have been refurbished to a high standard. Private free parking, Free Wi-Fi, Drying Room Facilities. Ideal for Snowdon, Zip World and Surf Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Afon View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon View Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing