We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. We didn't want to come home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Afon Gwyn Country House
Ranked #13 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed in the Alice Suite situated at the front/side of the house for three nights. This suite is the largest of the rooms available and is beautiful. A super king bed which is great for these hot nights and is extremely comfortable. Lovely furnishings and a large area with sofa and chairs with a large tv and dvd player. I am very critical when it comes to cleanliness and I could not fault the whole house. The breakfast area was situated in a large airy conservatory and the breakfast quality was excellent. Gareth and Rana were lovely hosts. They were friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The surrounding area is outstanding for lovely mountain or riverside walks. Thank you so much for your kind hospitality looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipernotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 374 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Although we visit N Wales about twice a year, this was our first stay in Betws y Coed. We chose Afon Gwyn becauses we'd stayed with the owners when at Muriau Park in Caernarfon. They were an obviously good choice, having recently taken over the Afon Gwyn.

Fantastic 5 star accommodation, on A470 (towards Blaenau Ffestiniog) just outside Betws y Coed.

We had the groundfloor White Room -spacious & spotlessly clean ideal for disabled access. the view from the room was a craggy hillside covered with foxgloves, ferns and other naturalised wild flowers. This room is at the back.
The Breakfast room is very light and airy and the food is second to none. There's a well presented buffet of fruit, cereals etc and a delightful range of cooked food too. Try the fantastic award winning sausage, or the eggs Benedict.

Gareth and Rana, the owners, are very friendly, helpful and offer tips on where to go/park/eat and even gave us a lift to the Ty Gwyn on our first night. Great service!

This is definitely Very Highly Recommended accommodation.

An ideal base for day tripping around the area, being pretty central for N Wales.

Nearest restaurant is the renowned Ty Gwyn coaching inn -the food's so good we ate there all 4 nights- about a 10-15 min walk or a couple of mins in a car from Afon Gwyn.

We're already planning out next visit to Afon Gwyn / Betws y Coed as we enjoyed our stay so much.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual - different size/furnishings and thus have different prices. There are two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay in the Alice Suite. The new owners have just arrived and made our stay very enjoyable. Gareth and Rana are excellent hosts and Afon Gwyn will, I am sure, continue to be one of the best luxury B and B 's in North Wales.

The location, rooms, breakfasts and hospitality in my opinion can not be beaten and we will return as soon as we can with family who we know would like to share the experience.

After a long day's walking I can think of nowhere better to relax and get a really good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Any of them, but the Alice Suite is the only room with a bath if you need a long soak after a long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Afon Gwyn (Rupert Room) for two nights last weekend for our first wedding anniversary and can not recommend it highly enough. All previous reviews sum it up nicely.

In Brief,

The Afon Gwyn is set in beautiful surroundings about 15 to 20 minutes walk into central Betws-y-coed.
Great Hospitality with excellent local knowledge and advice.
Spacious and impressive room with a massive luxury bathroom. Rupert room has a view out over the manicured lawn and woodland behind.
Outstanding breakfasts with good range of choice.

I have already recommended this to family and friends and would have no hesitation in booking Afon Gwyn for a relaxing break.

Finally, if you are looking for good places to eat then I would suggest Ty Gwyn. Ty Gwyn is about a 5 minute walk from Afon Gwyn and have a good menu, I can recommend the Lamb Wellington.

I can also recommend the Royal Oak Hotel. We chose the 4 course set menu and found it good value for money and a very nicely presented meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieT2825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Having enjoyed a 4-day extended break at Afon Gwyn last month, we were very impressed with the whole experience. Situated adjacent to the River Conwy and on the fringe of Betws-y-Coed and the Snowdon Mountain range, it provided us with an ideal location to enjoy the comforts and relaxation of North Wales and was central for many of the main attractions in the region that we visited. The house reflects the ownership: Warm, friendly and an aspiration to excellence. The standard of our room (The Robinson Room) was of the highest standard, cleaned and cared for daily. The remainder of the house had a very homely feel and this was equalled by the approachable and accommodating personality of the host, Tim. The quality of the food was outstanding and presented meticulously, with a more than adequate range of cooked and continental options to choose from. Furthermore, Tim's long-established connections with local restaurants provided us with an ideal opportuntiy to dine out at very affordable prices and enjoy a real variety of cuisines. If you are keen to enjoy a retreat which offers privacy, beautiful surroundings, delightful food and an engaging host who always goes the extra mile, I cannot recommend Afon Gwyn Country House enough. Many thanks, Tim!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSThatcher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A great location on the outskirts of Betws, just inside Snowdonia National Park surrounded by any number of beauty spots, activities and walks. The host (Tim) was brilliant from start to finish. Would definitely recommend and definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barracloughjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having returned from our three night stay in the Sorrell Suite from the 18th to 21st March 2013,
What can we say but Fantastic, the welcome given by Tim is unmissable, yes you do have to take your shoes off, but there is a convenient boot room by the front door and slippers are provided if needed. The whole house is beautifully decorated and kept to a fantastic standard. You cannot fault the homely atmosphere, and the want by Tim and Di for your stay to be perfect in every way.
The Sorrell Suite was of extremely high standard quiet and very cosy, The selection for breakfast is vast and all locally sourced, you could not ever go away from here feeling hungry, as all our full English breakfasts were perfect especially the last two (Sorry Tim ) Thanks Di.
We cannot recommend this B & B highly enough, and look forward to returning.
Mandy & Nigel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Gwyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Gwyn Country House

Address: Coed Celyn Farm, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $108 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Gwyn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Afon Gwyn, our lovely country guest house, situated in the beautiful hills of Snowdonia, just outside the pretty town of Betws-Y-Coed. Visit Wales 5 star rated with Gold Award it offers superlative bed and breakfast in stylish, spacious rooms and suites. We have added lots of luxurious extras to make our guests feel at home. The perfect place to stay to explore all North Wales and Snowdonia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Afon Gwyn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Gwyn Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing