We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my word....LUXURY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Afon Gwyn Country House
Ranked #13 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We returned from a 2 night stay this weekend and i can honestly say i have never been made to feel more welcome or been in a B&B of such quality. We had such a lovely warm welcome and from the moment we arrived we felt like we had stepped into a second home. The room was utterly spotless and total luxury, beautifully kept and lovely and cosy and warm. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and the breakfast room light and airy and relaxed. I was gutted to have to come home and sad to leave the sweet little private garden at the back of our room The Robinson Suite. Overall a fantastic stay and fantastic value for money...it deserves every single one of its 5 stars as do Simon and Sharon. We will DEFINITELY be back guaranteed!

Room Tip: Robinson Suite...private garden beautifully kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkerbell1976_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 374 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here last Friday and we wish we'd stayed the whole weekend. It is beautiful and peaceful. The rooms are amazing and we had the best nights sleep here. Attention to detail is second to none and has some extraordinary touches. We will be returning soon and I urge other travellers to stay here too. You will NOT be disappointed! Thank you, Annie & Paul Westlake

Room Tip: They are ALL unique and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I can't rave enough about this place. I was 8 months pregnant and tent had flooded. Begged husband for a hotel and we ended up here. Tim the owner is friendly and attentive. Place is super spotless and rooms amazingly comfy and with lovely touches. We extended our stay as we loved it so much and tried two different bedrooms. En suites are to die for! Very luxurious. Beds super large.
Breakfasts amazing- plenty of choice and very filling. The homemade waffles with stewed apple was stunning! Tim is an amazing cook. Our stay turned a terrible holiday into a romantic relaxing break. We can't thank Tim enough!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busty_Caver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Located just outside Betws-y-Coed, a lively village very close to Mt Snowdon - Afon Gwyn is the perfect location for an active trip to Snowdonia with Tim and Di providing the warmest of welcomes even in the wettest of weathers. The beautiful house is well designed with spacious (immaculately clean!) rooms and the Rupert room we stayed in had a very impressive bathroom with walk in shower. Breakfast is worth getting up for and although all the food was great I can particularly recommend the eggy bread or pancakes - delicous!! Internet speed was a little slow - most likely related to connectivity in Snowdonia so download any required information before you leave home. Also, restaurants in Betws-y-Coed get booked up fast so be sure to make reservations ahead of time - we absolutely loved the 'Ty Gwyn' with the 'Bistro' coming in second favourite (although the Bistro's service was poor).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NessieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This B&B has a lovely location, close to river and about a mile walk along a very quiet paved road to get into Betws. Our room was clean, nice linens and very spacious. Bathroom was also very well laid out and had a nice shower. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and plenty to eat, extremely well cooked with top class ingredients.
Being picky to mark it down on anything but the turn in off the road is very tight when coming from Betws and watch out for the 'no shoes' policy ;-(

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

At first, I thought that the price was per person and not for the two of us. Afon Gwyn is a beautiful house in an amazing setting. The presentation of everything was stunning and everything was immaculate. Tim and Di were perfect hosts and the breakfast was to die for. Very impressed !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This really is the best place we've stayed for a long time. Beautifully designed and presented, the rooms are immaculately clean and elegantly decorated. Everything is new, there is nothing cheap or tatty. The food is excellent and a warm welcome is given by Tim and Di. We had a peaceful and relaxing stay in a real 5-star venue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nephilim-Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Gwyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Gwyn Country House

Address: Coed Celyn Farm, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $108 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Gwyn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Afon Gwyn, our lovely country guest house, situated in the beautiful hills of Snowdonia, just outside the pretty town of Betws-Y-Coed. Visit Wales 5 star rated with Gold Award it offers superlative bed and breakfast in stylish, spacious rooms and suites. We have added lots of luxurious extras to make our guests feel at home. The perfect place to stay to explore all North Wales and Snowdonia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Afon Gwyn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Gwyn Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing