We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House, Fantastic Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Afon Guest House
Ranked #2 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I booked the "Mini Suite" for my mum and dads Wedding Anniversary, they had a fantastic two day break and had nothing but praise for Mike and Rachel and there lovely Guest House. They were particularly impressed with there hosts going "the extra mile" being so helpful at every step of the way. They said the room was lovely, comfortable and had exceptional views of the river. No complaints at all. Thank you for making them so welcome and making thier stay so enjoyable. I'm sure they'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hi Lynsey, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure looking after you mum and dad. So pleased to here that they enjoyed their wedding anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 601 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

I left Bryn Afon feeling thoroughly looked after and there is nothing more I could have asked for from my stay,

The location is perfect. The service from both Mike and Rachel is outstanding, and Mike is a fantastic cook! We had gone on to stay at a swanky hotel for a night after visiting Bryn and I missed the superb quality of the breakfasts that we had here. Even with the down sides; the rooms we stayed in weren't particularly big and lacked a bath, they just didn't seem to matter one bit. The decor and the array of artifacts found in each room really makes up for it. Plus they have a guest lounge and we were offered tea (proper filter tea of course) and cake on our arrival in there, as we had arrived after a long days travel.

I am sure the B&B gets many repeat visitors and I can't wait until I can find an excuse to holiday here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MXS160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really enjoyed meeting Mike and Rachel, they were very friendly and hospitable. My room had a problem with the shower and Mike was on hand to sort it out immediately. Really loved the decor of the rooms and the close proximity to the river was a real bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river - they are just gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zumayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Thanks so much to Mike and Rachael for the hospitality. My room (Room 1) was beautifully kitted out. I loved the Pure Lakes products in the bathroom and the locally made wool throw on the extremely comfortable bed. All the finishing touches with Welsh objects were delightful.

Breakfast was superb and set me and my friends up for the whole day. The flask of tea offered on the day of our walk up Cnicht with your OS map was the cherry on top. I will definitely visit again, and look forward to trying your home-made baked beans. And thank you Rachael for directing me to the Galeri where I bought my first Sarah Anderson jewellery set, I can't wait to wear it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review on Bryn Afon. So pleased to hear that you found the Sarah Anderson jewellery; it is lovely. Both Mike and I look forward to seeing you again at some point. All the best, Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Could not believe we found this B&B, It is in the perfect location next to the bridge and river with wonderful views from the rooms. Out side in the garden is also table and chairs to sit and admire the surroundings and watch the waterfall. We were met by Mike and Rachel who are fantastic hosts and the owners of Bryn Afon. They have two lovely dogs and the B&B is spotless. The room was fantastic with private bathroom with all the mod cons. Food is fantastic with a great selection for breakfast. There is an information pack in your room which is presented very well with all the history of Bryn Afon and places to eat. Mike and Rachel have great knowledge of the area and will do you a flask if required. Mike and Rachel will cater for your needs and show interest in you and will help you in anyway they can. We cant wait to go back and explore the area a lot more and will definitely stay at Bryn Afon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigers7446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for the lovely review. We very much look forward to seeing you both again some time in the future. All the best Rachael and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were travelling back to Worcester and not having booked anywhere just knocked on the door as Bryn Afon looked so inviting and the location is stunning. We were immediately made welcome, given a choice of room and offered a nice cup of tea. The room was immaculate and the breakfast amazing. Mike and Rachael are the perfect hosts. Thank you and hope to see you again. Lee and Jo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is no ordinary bed and breakfast, the location is superb, the presentation inside and out is perfection, the welcome is unsurpassed. Mike and Rachael, the owners, made us feel at home instantly, they were genuinely interested in making sure our short break was as good as it could be. They were helpful, friendly, informative and encouraging, suggesting a couple of fantastic low-level walks in the locality (as the peaks were still snowbound). They are the nicest couple you could meet and seem to have the perfect formula for keeping the guests very happy. The room was lovely, immaculately presented, double aspect views over the rivers. You can hear the waterfalls from the rooms with the window open at night. Breakfast was perfection, service and quality was faultless, nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to ensure the attention to detail that makes the difference is ever present. We stayed an extra (third) night and will doubtless be back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abm_traveller_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the trouble to write a review and such a lovely one too; very pleased to know that you both enjoyed your stay at Bryn Afon. And of course, thank you for walking Benji!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.3 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#4 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#3 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Afon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Afon Guest House

Address: Pentre Felin, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $111 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Afon is an elegant Victorian house situated on the banks of the river Llugwy. We have spectacular views of the River Llugwy and the 500 year old stone Pont-y-Pair bridge where the salmon leap in late Autumn. With forest walks starting from our doorstep and with some of the finest restaurants in Betws y Coed and North Wales just 1 minute's walk away, this really is the perfect base for touring the Snowdonia National Park (or for staying locally to enjoy the beauty of Betws-y-Coed). We are able to assist guests with a variety of suggestions on places to visit – from gentle strolls to strenuous mountain walks, mountain bike trails, castles, slate mines, steam railways, gardens, lakes etc, to shopping or eating locally or finding the best local cake and coffee shop. Bryn Afon is easily accessible by public transport; Betws-y-Coed train station and the bus 'station' - both connecting to LLandudno Junction. The Snowdonia Sherpa Bus enables you explore the area and we also have parking in our own guest car park, plus a secure shed to lock up bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Afon Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing