We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B "Just Perfect"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Afon Guest House
Ranked #3 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Could not believe we found this B&B, It is in the perfect location next to the bridge and river with wonderful views from the rooms. Out side in the garden is also table and chairs to sit and admire the surroundings and watch the waterfall. We were met by Mike and Rachel who are fantastic hosts and the owners of Bryn Afon. They have two lovely dogs and the B&B is spotless. The room was fantastic with private bathroom with all the mod cons. Food is fantastic with a great selection for breakfast. There is an information pack in your room which is presented very well with all the history of Bryn Afon and places to eat. Mike and Rachel have great knowledge of the area and will do you a flask if required. Mike and Rachel will cater for your needs and show interest in you and will help you in anyway they can. We cant wait to go back and explore the area a lot more and will definitely stay at Bryn Afon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigers7446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for the lovely review. We very much look forward to seeing you both again some time in the future. All the best Rachael and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 601 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were travelling back to Worcester and not having booked anywhere just knocked on the door as Bryn Afon looked so inviting and the location is stunning. We were immediately made welcome, given a choice of room and offered a nice cup of tea. The room was immaculate and the breakfast amazing. Mike and Rachael are the perfect hosts. Thank you and hope to see you again. Lee and Jo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is no ordinary bed and breakfast, the location is superb, the presentation inside and out is perfection, the welcome is unsurpassed. Mike and Rachael, the owners, made us feel at home instantly, they were genuinely interested in making sure our short break was as good as it could be. They were helpful, friendly, informative and encouraging, suggesting a couple of fantastic low-level walks in the locality (as the peaks were still snowbound). They are the nicest couple you could meet and seem to have the perfect formula for keeping the guests very happy. The room was lovely, immaculately presented, double aspect views over the rivers. You can hear the waterfalls from the rooms with the window open at night. Breakfast was perfection, service and quality was faultless, nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to ensure the attention to detail that makes the difference is ever present. We stayed an extra (third) night and will doubtless be back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abm_traveller_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the trouble to write a review and such a lovely one too; very pleased to know that you both enjoyed your stay at Bryn Afon. And of course, thank you for walking Benji!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic location in a lovely setting. There is nothing negative to say about this great B&B - Mike and Rachel make you feel so welcome and made up a tasty flask of coffee for us every day! We dont usually stay in B&B's but loved it so much we have booked to go back at xmas ........ and of course to get more of those best tasting mushrooms with breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hi Sherry, thanks a lot for the review. Good luck with all your very long walks over the next months. We look forward to seeing you both during the Christmas period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is in the perfect location in Bets-y-coed. You literally cant get any better, right on the river near the picturesque bridge in the centre. It is clean, friendly and exceptionally good value. The breakfast was top quality, easy wifi access, flexible and friendly hosts. As always the most important thing for me is a decent shower.. the pressure was great.

The room i stayed in was a little small but i would expect that staying in this kind of old stone building. I will stay there when i return to Bets for more snowy adventures.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dud75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just stayed with Mike and Rachel at their great B&B the best in Betws-y-Coed. Mike and Rachel are as friendly as can be and they make you feel special and welcomed. The breakfast was outstanding and the location is second to none. If you go to Betws try to book the Bryn Afon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 242jm242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everything about this place is great - the location, house , room, breakfast, service ...but most of all the really welcoming and hospitable atmosphere created by Mike & Rachael. As the title suggests, it is faultless. This was our second stay at Bryn Afon and we'll definitely be going back. A really great stay. Also, a nice touch whilst staying over Easter was the little chocolate treats in the room with the complimentary tea & coffee.

Room Tip: Room 6 for that extra bit of space and comfort and kedgeree for breakfast to set you up nicely for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juanmilanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.3 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Afon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Afon Guest House

Address: Pentre Felin, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $79 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Afon is an elegant Victorian house situated on the banks of the river Llugwy. We have spectacular views of the River Llugwy and the 500 year old stone Pont-y-Pair bridge where the salmon leap in late Autumn. With forest walks starting from our doorstep and with some of the finest restaurants in Betws y Coed and North Wales just 1 minute's walk away, this really is the perfect base for touring the Snowdonia National Park (or for staying locally to enjoy the beauty of Betws-y-Coed). We are able to assist guests with a variety of suggestions on places to visit – from gentle strolls to strenuous mountain walks, mountain bike trails, castles, slate mines, steam railways, gardens, lakes etc, to shopping or eating locally or finding the best local cake and coffee shop. Bryn Afon is easily accessible by public transport; Betws-y-Coed train station and the bus 'station' - both connecting to LLandudno Junction. The Snowdonia Sherpa Bus enables you explore the area and we also have parking in our own guest car park, plus a secure shed to lock up bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Afon Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing