We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Situated in a beautiful part of wales with lovely surroundings. We had booked a superior room for our 20 anniversary, on entering the room our view was of a brick wall with a fence, a very tired dark room which although clean had not been updated in sometime. TV remote broken held together with tape, unable to get sky news, as advertised. Very disappointed with the view as due to booking a superior room for £125 per night I would have thought we may have a lovely view. Opened the windows for fresh air, only to have cigarette smoke greet us from the chefs having a smoke below our room. Outside the Hotel is stunning and sitting reading the papers was very relaxing. We have stayed all over Wales and in Betws Y Coed several times but I'm afraid we will not be going back to this Hotel, obviously this is our personal taste which other people may well like. The Wireless internet is not good and costs £5.00 for 1 hour, however we were charged £7.00 and only stayed on it for 15 mins, took 10 to get on it, then so slow to move to one page so gave up, this is run by a third party.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swan056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    68
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
50
248
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This is probably the best hotel we have stayed in with regard to location and staff. Overall the staff were very friendly, helpful and courtious, particularly Linden who was also most efficient. We stayed in a Superior room which was large with a big bathroom and a wonderful view. The hotel is set in magificent grounds away from the road so it was very peaceful and quiet providing wonderful views from all aspects and it was a joy to walk through their many acres. There is also plenty of car parking - unlike many other local hotels. It is ideally located to visit many attractions and Sites, being a few minutes drive (you could walk if you feel fit) from Betws-Y-Coed village itself which is delightful. Photographs on their website do not do it justice. The only downside is that there needs to be slightly more 'atmosphere' in the bar and restaurant, possibly increase the music volume a little. Also, lower the price of drinks - we would have spent more time in the bar if they had - and they would have earned more (but that comment can probably be said for most hotels). But thats the only thing we can fault - we will certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshuaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Stayed in the mid priced room and whilst not the best value hotel you will find you are paying for a great location in a lovely village which is centrally located to get around snowdonia. Room was a really good size and only slight grumble was a carpeted bathroom the hotel itself was well run, clean and the staff were very friendly. A very enjoyable stay so would fully recommend it

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Clean hotel, in a great location with very friendly staff and service. You'll get more out of it when the weather is dry. It rained whilst we were there and really didn't get a chance to enjoy the views and grounds. The weak point for me was the food; overpriced. The welsh breakfast was average and the dinner I had just wasn't up to scratch; edible but not special and not worth the price. I ate elsewhere after the first evening and had kippers instead of the Welsh.

In short, a good and friendly palce to stay, but if you like your food find somewhere else. Excellent location for Snowdonia.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

we can find no negatives about our memorable stay at this wonderful hotel set in the most beautiful and breathtaking landscape of north Wales.The large conway river meanders along the side of the hotel grounds till it disappears in to the pine clad hills which surround the hotel,gardens and meadows.Great for walks,site seeing,and historical or just relaxing.The hotel is a great Victorian house with many original features and decor to match-we loved it,the whole package.Excellent food,drink,large spacious rooms that are warm and homely,finally welcoming friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bedsbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I stayed at this excellent hotel for a long weekend with my wife,from the moment we arrived to the time we left we were really made to feel welcome by the manager and staff,even chatting to the other hotel guests who were extremely friendly was a pleasure. We ate in the hotel for the 3 nights we stayed and the food was of a very high standard with a different menu on every night, the breakfast in the morning (we had the full welsh breakfast) was also very good. The room we had was very clean and tidy ,the view from the room over looking the river was superb. There is plenty to do out and about from breath taking scenery to castles and much much more.I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing break .

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbrisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Booked with my husband,brother and sister in law for a 3 day festive break at New Year.

Whilst the staff and rooms were very nice the total lack of any festivities ruined New Year.

The hotel had been closed over Christmas and felt cold. Apart from a tree in reception you would not know it was New Year.

The advertised disco comprised of a tiny CD player and disco ball playing the same 2 1980's CD's all night.The New Year was celebrated by watching a small TV on the bar.

if you like a distinct lack of festivites this as the hotel for you.If you are looking to celebrate book elsewhere. The owner was on the premises but did not even acknowlege our letter of disappointment.

  • Liked — Freindly manager/staff
  • Disliked — Do not advertise a festive break and mislead any potential customers
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElainesManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
23.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Property: Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Address: | Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing