We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our weekend break in Wales..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Having previously stayed at the this hotel, some years ago, we were delighted to win a break through a magazine and return for a Winter break.
The hotel is set in a beautiful location, that only few get to really experience.
Surrounded by woodland and a flowing river, it really is very picturesque.
We were lucky enough to have stayed in the hot tub room, which overlooked the river. A real treat, especially in chilly November, but highly recommended!!
While the hotel is absolutely stunning I feel it is worth mentioning a few points.
The front of house receptionist is always ''vey welcoming'' but sometimes can make you feel you're in the middle of the Spanish inquisition every time you go out!
Simply saying 'Have a nice day'' is enough.
We also felt a ''little uncomfortable' at being constantly asked if we were eating in their restaurant this evening??....Surely if we wanted to eat within the hotel we would have booked a table?
I would also suggest writing some instructions on using the shower as not everyone would automatically know how to use this.
This hotel is the idea place to unwind and take in the beautiful,peaceful surroundings of North Wales. It is ideally situated within walking distance of Betws Y Coed and all the little delightful shops it has to offer.
Would we return? .Probably not, due to the issues raised, but that's not to say it isn't a truly stunning place.

Room Tip: Would advise booking a riverside view room....Stunning!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here in October and it was an excellent stay from start to finish. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food was gorgeous, one of our party has specific dietary requirements and they always cater well for her with no trouble at all. The rooms are beautiful and the grounds and views are stunning.

I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for seven nights mid August for the third year in succession and the excellent facilities, food and service have remained at the highest standard. Our little dog is welcomed and we feel comfortable and relaxed for the whole week. As an older couple we do not feel rushed and could indeed spend the whole day at the hotel with our newspapers, coffee, good food and scenery!! The staff are friendly and helpful but discreet at all times and any request is promptly dealt with. The food and service is exceptional and we are looking forward to our next visit in 2014. Can't imagine going anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Had a standard room towards rear of hotel which was excellent as spent more time in the public areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited for a week early in September and were lucky with the weather most of the time. Delay in writing review due to circumstances beyond our control. As always the hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Andrew does a great job on reception and in just about every other department 'front of house'.ably assisted by Jill who always seemed to be on hand when anything was needed.
As regular visitors over recent years all we can say is that for location, service, food and general attention to detail for the needs of guests Craig-y-Dderwen can not be faulted in any respect. We will be back again as soon as we have a few days free.
Keep up the good work everyone it's always a pleasure to stay at this fantastic hotel..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bb62StokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent location, with the bedroom balcony overlooking the river. Very quiet location, but only a short walk to pubs, restaurants and shops in the village.
The service and food at breakfast and dinner were excellent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was very clean throughout, there was not a problem that the staff could not find time to help with. Although the whole party were English, except myself, they were all treated as if they were the most important person there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike4903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel is a little bit of heaven in Snowdonia. The staff were helpful and very friendly I need to mention Andrew in particular he was absolutely on the ball with every aspect of the hotel from Reception, Restaurant, Bar and any advise about locality etc. He is a very charming man, nothing was too much trouble for him. Our evening meal was exquisite and we had the taster puddings OMG your chef is also wonderful. The room was perfect and my husband really enjoyed the Hot Tub Bath in our room. This hotel has managed to get everything right AMAZING. I cannot wait to re-visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
556 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.5 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Address: | Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $141 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing