We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb base, lovely rooms, excellent set-up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stables Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stables Lodge
Bolton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb base, lovely rooms, excellent set-up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I visited at Easter 2013 with my young son. The set-up for walkers and outdoor-types is fantastic. The food in the pub is great value and the pub itself is very friendly with the extra touches to make it cosy. Warm sheepskin rugs in the outdoor seating area and patio heaters created a lovely opportunity to eat in the open and enjoy the fresh air. The rooms are great - spotlessly clean. For walkers, the drying room is fab! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back facing the car park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chucklebutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you are exploring the north Wales inland area. Reasonable price -they charge by the room- clean and in a beautiful place right in the heart of this delightful small town. It has its own railway too with connections to the mainlines; much better than using the car we thought. There is a gymnasium nearby with reduced rates but walks along the riverside and around the Forrest are free! The attached stables bar serve nice coffee but could do with improving their gents toilets (the smell was horrid and the electric hand dryer was about as much help as a chocolate teapot! Other than that a great little find for a week-end stay.

Room Tip: Its set back from the road in a courtyard so all rooms are as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

When visiting places like Betws-y-coed, why spend £150 per night at a big chain, when you can get a clean bed/room/bathroom & breakfast for two for £75. We visited during the XMAS Festival, so checkin was a bit clunky and slow, but we didnt care, we could listen to the carol singers. Checkout is easy, drop the key in the box. As you pay in advance, you cant charge anything to your room or use the late bar at the hotel, but do you really need that for £75 more ?
Ideal place to stay, in the centre of Betws (Although nothing is that far away is it).
Only one issue, if you sleep lightly, you will hear the bells chime next door every hour ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BacardiMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fantastic staff ~ very friendly and helpful.
Family room was poor ~ tired and shabby and not cleaned to a very high standard.
The children slept on a sofa bed which was well worn, saggy in the middle and overall rather uncomfortable.
Welsh breakfast at £9. per head was way too expensive. This was not buffet style, so you have a small amount of everything, rather than more of a few things more to your taste.
Breakfast at Conwy Falls was recommended to us by a couple visiting Betws for 22 years running. Unfortunately we made the mistake of opting for breakfast at the hotel!
In my opinion £85. for this room was way too expensive.
Betws-y-Coed is a beautiful picturesque village with loads to do nearby and we would love to go back. However, we would not stay at the Stables again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the car park are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbysykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel has to be in one of the most scenic areas in Wales. We have often stoped here for evening meals whilst on route to Holyhead so this time decided to spend a night here. We found our stay a big let down. I did at the time of booking tried to book into the main part of the hotel but the booking would not me do so but was in the Stables which we did'nt mind. On arival there was a note on the reception door saying to press and talk into an intercom, after a few minutes wait someone came over to check us in etc. The room was small and not so warm, heat was not on, bathroom was also small and the bath well if you are 3ft nothing it would have been fine. Furniture was a bit on the dated side with signs of wear bit I will have to say the bed was the most comfortable we have slept in in a long time. We took the option of no breakfast as we felt it was a bit on the expensive side, plenty of options nearby.
Our room was to the front, not a lot of noise from traffic but there was a noisey group and the staff seemed to know them as well, the racket continued untill well after 23.00hrs, if there was a direct dial phone in the room I would have contacted reception but none available.
Check out at 10.00am ?? never came across this time of check out in my life, we carried some of our luggage out and was having a coffee in the smoking area, we were going back in at 10.15 after having had our coffee to get the rest of out luggage and was greeted by domestic staff at the top of the stairs asking are we in room no --- as they were waiting to get in to clean, leaving our cups in and cllecting the rest of our belongings we were almost knocked down in the door way by a member of staff looking into the room and he had a face on him as long as today and tomorrow.
Check out is 10am?? never came across this check out time in a hotel in my life.
Overall we felt it was a let down and not what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very clean accommodation in the centre of Betws-y-coed with walkers and cyclists well catered for. Would have liked breakfast included but chose to cater for ourselves, though still paid £85 for a family room. Would go back as superb location for eating and relaxing in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdovey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

we stayed for one night june 6.the service and food is excellent for a very busy bar.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Lodge

Property: Stables Lodge
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stables Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Wales's most popular inland resort and only 10 minutes drive from Snowdon with its mountains and coast. All 18 modern rooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard with color remote TVs, hospitality trays, double glazing and lift. Bike store and drying facilities on site. Located next door to the famous Stables Bistro Bar with meals served all day, every day and regular entertainment by Jazz band and local Welsh choir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Stables Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stables Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Stables Lodge Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing