We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay in Snowdonia”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Living Room/Diner showing original staircase and log burner
Fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Outside view of cottage complex
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Bedroom window views over Llugwy valley
Bathroom with bath/shower, basin and WC
Bathroom with bath/shower, basin and WC
Outside view - Ty Llugwy is cottage on far right
The view from your cottage!
A lovely wintry view of the cottages
The view from the window
Stunning views over the Ogwen Valley
Llyn Ogwen is only 4 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DeanWinch...
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Snowdonia”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October intending to do some mountain climbing; unfortunately, these plans were slightly put on hold by the weather and we returned back to our holiday cottage wet, disappointed and dishevelled - but this was a lovely place to return to and really lifted the spirits!

The cottage is in excellent condition, and perfectly placed for exploring Snowdonia. The owners have clearly gone to a lot of effort with the house and it shows - everything that can be done for your convenience is done, and the little extra touches such as a welcome tray containing Welsh Cakes and Bara Brith really add that something special.

We intend to return to Snowdonia to attempt the climbing once more and will definitely be returning to this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Such a shame that the weather spoiled your plans though. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future and will try our best to reserve some better weather for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stenward
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in October. Great central location for Snowdonia National Park. Cottage is really nicely presented and has everything you could ask for in a self catering place. Very clean & tidy. Log burner is to keep you warm on the cold nights. Views are fab.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate the time taken to do it and we really hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Shower that is impossible to use without soaking the bathroom (have a bath instead).
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Ty Llewelyn. The free WiFi is all part of the high standard of service that we aim to deliver, and we are always striving to make our guests' stay an even better experience. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ceri J
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best self catering we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We got married in capel curig this weekend and booked all three cottages for ourselves and our bridesmaids and best men to stay in. We knew the cottages when they were previously used as a mountaineering hut and they have been so lovingly restored and the views are unrivalled. Staying here helped make a perfect weekend. We didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so glad that we made your weekend even more perfect! Congratulations on your marriage and we hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B
Sevenoaks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic retreat in a wonderful location”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed for a week in February 2013. The property is a beautifully restored cottage in first rate order.
Initial booking & communication was spot on. The cottage is newly refurbished so the interior was in excellent condition and the whole cottage was immaculately clean.
The cottage was extremely well equipped and made for a relaxing stay.
The location is fantastically placed for trips up Siabod and is within easy travelling distance of all the other popular climbing / walking locations.
Overall we were extremely impressed with the cottage and it's owners.
We shall certainly be returning again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, so glad you enjoyed your break here and we look forward to your return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage in a perfect setting”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We were delighted with this little cottage. It had everything we wanted. The welcome was delightful, with little touches such as a laid fire and milk etc on arrival. Beautifully decorated and secluded.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness and decor
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendy a
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fab property/fab location - just fab!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We came across Ty Lugwy last November & instantly fell in love & knew we had to stay there. Half way up a mountain with excellent views, peaceful & quiet although not too remote to be far away from Betws y Coed & its great selection of places to eat/drink/shop! Everything about the cottage was outstanding especially the underfloor heating & as it snowed some part of every day we were there (we stayed 1 week) it was the best to to put icy cold feet on a warm floor! Everything about the cottage was to a very high standard & had everything we wanted & more (how mary other holiday rentals provide big fluffy towels & a comfy bed & bedding?) We often stay B&B in Betws y Coed but after staying at Ty Llugwy even for a short 2/3 night break we will be looking to book the cottage as well as visting again for a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the cottage, the location!
Liked least: It was all perfect - nothing to dislike!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2013
Your kind comments are truly appreciated, thank you, and we look forward to your return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing