We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Abbey End

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerry W
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

By far the best holiday cottage I've ever stayed in. Very comfortable, great for families or groups of friends as we were. Well equipped, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. I thinm we will make it a yearly retreat. Higjly recommended!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2015
Hey guys thank you for taking the time to review our cottage ,
would be good to see you back here in the near future you we"re all so friendly .
best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
535mike
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay and forget about the fast pace of life for a while.”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Owners Brian and Rob were a pleasure to deal with. on hand whilst allow you to relax and and enjoy their cosy warm cottage. Abbey end is spacious with every comfort catered for.
A great base for exploring the mountains and coast.
Liked most the beautiful walks and homely feel of the cottage.
Least liked the rain and leaving.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2015
Thank you for a fantastic review, was great to meet you, so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucyZ5294...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, ideal for climbing Snowdon or a cosy getaway”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

First of all, Brian & Rob the owners are absolutely lovely & you can tell Abbey End is their pride & joy from the effort they have put into it being so beautiful.
The cottage has everything you could possibly need & the local curry takeaway was the best i've ever had (although we had just climbed Snowdon)
Bonus: If you like cats, visit the friendly hotel bar next door!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2015
Thank you for this brilliant review so glad you both reached the top of Snowdon as planned ,Were so happy that abbey end was the perfect place for your weekend stay,
Love to see you return here sometime in the near future as so many of our guests are already doing so ,
Thanks again and take care ,
Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine L
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thanks for an excellent stay”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Hi guys,

thanks for an excellent weekend break. The house is fantastic and the stream running beneath entering within the garden was great that clear Welsh Mountain water. Would highly recommend to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2015
Great, so glad you enjoyed your break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookmytri...
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A True Gem - Highly Recommended”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here over New Year for 4 nights, 2 families of 2 adults and 2 kids (and a little dog), and we all had a fantastic time. Extremely well appointed, tastefully decorated, spacious, with a great sized garden that features a stream, includes broadband, and located just a short drive from Llanrwst and Betws-y-Coed. The owners left a nice selection of Welsh goodies, and also live next door, so handy in case of any problems (of which we had none!).
We did a lovely little walk locally, you drive up the road opposite the cottage, bear left to the top of the hill and just on the left there’s a woodland walk, on a National Trust site, to Cadair Ifan Goch which has outstanding views of Snowdonia National Park. It’s steep in places so not good for the less mobile, and the walk takes about 45/60mins in total. Being lazy one night we had Fish & Chips from “Tir a Mor” in Llanrwst, 10min round trip and the best battered fish we’ve ever tasted.
We’ve rented welsh cottages fairly frequently over the last few years, including in the centre of Betws-y-Coed, this ranks up there with the most comfortable, pleasant, and enjoyable stays we’ve had, and we'll definitely be returning.
Thanks again to Brian and Rob.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feel.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2015
Guys,Just to say a big thank you for taking the time to review our cottage ,Our aim is to ensure our guests have a great break here always .
best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottagelo...
1 review
“Excellent all round!”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The cottage is absolutely lovely, really big, clean and cosy. We Would definitely stay again. It suits couples, groups and families. Beautiful surroundings too!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2015
Thank you for choosing abbey end for your stay, we will keep on improving this cottage to become one of the better places to stay in this area
Hope to see you return in the future.
best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth N
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful spacious cottage in a great location”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My husband and I spent two very enjoyable weeks here in August with our daughters (8 and 11). The property was in fabulous condition, very thoughtfully and tastefully decorated. We loved the big lounge/dinning room, with lots of sofas and plenty of room for the kids to play, watch TV etc. The kitchen was well equipped, and the welcome basket of Welsh goodies was a lovely surprise. Bedrooms were very comfortable: the 11-year old loved her cosy single room up under the roof with a view to the mountains, and both doubles had spacious king-size beds. We really appreciated having the run of the garden, and the owners were more than helpful in dealing with any problems we encountered. The location of Abbey End is great for exploring the coast (Conwy, Llandudno) as well as Snowdonia, and there is a great selection of brochures about all the local attractions.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2015
Thank you for taking the time for giving us such a great detailed review on abbey end .you were great guests,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing