We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cwm Cottage

A Cosy Lounge and Kitchen Diner with Wood Burner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Cosy Lounge and Kitchen Diner with Wood Burner
The Original Wrought Iron Gate The Wood Burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
A Cosy Lounge and Kitchen Diner with Wood Burner
The Original Wrought Iron Gate
The Wood Burner
The Master Bedroom with Original 130 Year Old Slate Stonework
Towards Machno Terrace viewing Cwm Penmachno
Some Slate Stonework
The Twin Bedroom with Orignal Slatework
The place to go
Afon Machno (River Machno) about 20 metres from the front door!
Cwm Cottage
A lovely period cottage in a stunning setting
A Stunning view of the Cwm
A tranquil winter scene entering Cwm Penmachno
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
catherine...
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at Cwm Cottage. The location is great for all of Snowdonia's attractions as it is very central so most of the main towns are about 30 mins drive away in any direction. Betwys y Coed is a 5-10 minute drive so is very accessible for shops and restaurants. The little village of Cwm Penmachno is charming, everyone is very friendly and there are some nice walks right from the cottage.

The cottage itself is well equipped with everything you would need and is very cosy. John Paul was very quick to respond and gave clear instructions on how to get in to the property which made life easy.

The property was very clean but the ceilings in the bathroom could do with a dust as they were covered in cobwebs (this is really a minor point though as the rest was excellent)

We would definitely return here, thank you for a lovely stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achillies...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Ideal location.. away from it all and really peaceful and beautiful. Word of advise, read the cottage guide sent by Jon in which he clearly calls out essential points like the need to bring towels and buy the essentials. Slightly disappointed that dishwasher tablets were not provided. Overall a pleasant stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B
1 review
“A very relaxing break”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage is surrounded by stunning scenery and is in a very peaceful location.
We spent our week visiting places like Portmerian, the Ffestiniog railway and glorious beaches. Lots of lovely walks near by, we had an great one from the cottage so no driving.
Very cosy cottage and all three of us had a fabulous time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah T
1 review
“Excellent for price but could do with a few extra touches”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was in a beautiful part of countryside but a little further from the town then I would have expected (6miles) to the nearest town Bets-y-coed ... It was tidy but cleaning could maybe do with a review... A few bits could also do with a touch up but more than adequate for a short break. The owner was also very lovely and more than helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Sarah, thank you so much for your review. We appreciate it. We also look to take all of our guest's comments on board. If you could send me a quick email with any specific comments regarding cleaning it would be really helpful. I'm glad you had a great stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar, Germany
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We're really glad you and your family enjoyed the peace and quiet. Cwm Penmachno really is a quiet tranquil place. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
444westie
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peaceful location in stunning scenery”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house was well appointed, good Wi-Fi and kitchen well equipped (although please provide some nice real glasses for wine). Also the house would benefit from a blind on the window of the kitchen door as we were very much on display to the bin men on Monday morning! It was nice to relax on the two huge sofas.
We had some lovely walks-one over the stream and turn left past the houses and follow the track up the cwm-it led to an abandoned farm. Also the old slate quarry is a must see-we walked up to the old lake at the top.
The house has a small front garden with a bench and a tiny pebbled rear area (well enclosed for a small dog)
I would suggest getting some new mattresses for the single beds and guests should be aware that the double is not a queen size.
There are lots of books and games (we didn't use them as the sun shone the whole time)
Also the bathroom is downstairs.
It was silent the whole time and we think the slate walls must be quite thick. It really suited us.
We would certainly go back and the only real downside was that we only had 3 nights. Also if you are coming from Festiniog over the mountain, the turn off to the left has no signpost to Cwmpenmachno.
Good pub in Penmachno but it closes on Mon and Tues
Thank-you for letting us use your home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The silence
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
Thanks for your review. We are glad you had a good time. Thanks also for letting us know about the glasses and the blind. We will look to sort that as soon as we can. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing