We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Jump into the 80's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swallow Falls Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ Jump into the 80's!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Swallow falls should get 4/5. It really should.
The staff we found were polite and talkative, apart from one receptionist who didn't give particularly clear details as to where the bike room was. However points were not lost there as that may have been fault.

The food was fantastic, filling homely food and the do a great deal with two mains.
The rooms are clean, although you may need to turn the radiator down a tad as it was quite stuffy when we got there.
In the bar there looks like one barman doing prettying all the work apart from cooking, so more praise to him.

Breakfast, was better than a lot of other places and a pretty good selection!
We booked Swallow Falls on booking.com for 3 nights at £50 a night with breakfast for a double room, our room looked out over the river which was very lovely as we could hear the falls.

Now, the only con. The Bike room.
When I finally found it with my wife, the door was open, another key was inside it. A single bike was in there, no padlock. My wife was fairly annoyed that this was supposed to be a secure bike storage. Also I'm not sure how many keys that have for the room, one person said three, then two. So that was worrying. But the most concerning was when I came downstairs the following night there was a different receptionist, she had never sen me before but when I asked if I could check on my bike she handed over the key, there wasn't even a check to see if I was a guest.
Furthermore, there is an alarm system in there, but you guessed it. It's not on. Ever, it seems.

My only gripe. But it's a big one when you have over a grands worth of bike to keep secure.

Swallow Falls is lovely whether you want to bunk it, stay in a hotel room or camp. Food is great as is service on the whole. Plus two pool tables, fantastic.
For couples and families alike, wonderful....
....just don't go for a biking holiday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    175
    80
    47
    42
See reviews for
111
237
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just stayed here for 3 nights to do some walking.
For just over £100 for 3 nights B&B in a single room you can't go wrong.
After reading some poor reviews I wasn't expecting much, but it would seem that some people are expecting 5 Star country house quality for a few quid a night....idiots.
My room was clean and well appointed, the breakfast was very good, and the bar food more than acceptable. The hotel has a good bar with pool table. I would certainly recommend this place and would return....for those of you expecting more..try Storrs Hall in cumbria...I stayed there last month...absolutely faultless...and you will only pay £180 a night B&B ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

For a hotel that has such a privileged location the Swallow Falls is a disgrace. The hotel bar is very badly decorated and is far from welcoming. Didn't eat so can't comment on the food. The bar/cafe around the side is simply awful - no idea what it's supposed to be at all - bit like a school canteen or old motorway service area - it really is weird! To be fair the cakes looked good. Overall a strange mishmash of an establishment that is crying out for the makeover and attention it deserves. Definitely wouldn't recommend anybody visiting.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Betws-y-Coed hotels

wiltshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. I was in the area for work but am planning on going back for a holiday and shall definitely stay there again. The only very slight downside was its location on a bend on a busy road. Having said that, I got out very easily every morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grockleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Quite simply impossible to beat as a staging post for hiking in Snowdonia - or even a peaceful weekend away in Wales.

Set just off the A5 about 2 miles from Betws-Y-Coed, the setting is both peaceful and handy...and guess what - Swallow Falls itself is about 10 yards from the hotel entrance!

The staff are friendly and helpful, the chalet-like rooms spacious and the pub - although not always overly busy - is friendly and awash lots of like-minded hikers. Its not just a hotel either - there is a youth hostel and campsite on the premises. Its by no means isolated though, Betws-Y-Coed is a short taxi ride away (its walkable - 2 miles or so - but on top of hiking? Not for me). Book in advance though, taxis in the area are like gold dust!

To be perhaps overly picky, the floors are paper thin, so my friend and I were awakened both mornings by the child upstairs treating his/her room as a racetrack. But such is the way of hotels, and not necessarily the fault of the proprietors.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Clare,Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Convenient location in a lovely area. Stayed for 3 nights, co incidentally in the same room as a previous visit 2 years ago. The hotel is a bit tatty,as is the bar area, however room was clean and neat. Staff were without exception above average in friendliness and politeness which is a big plus. Food was adequate and value for money.The "Tavern" where breakfast is served could do with a revamp as it feels like a canteen.
Would I stay there again, yes, because I know what to expect.But I'd like to see some money spent on improving and updating the establishment

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

As others have said, reminded us of a motel. Outside room fine, but lacked character, breakfast good - food freshly prepared and hot. Breakfast staff polite and courteous. Bar and dining/breakfast room need some decorative attention. Menu poor. In our opinion, overpriced by at least £45 per night.

Room Tip: An outside room - Rooms 24 +
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorseCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Peter_Jones_61, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are completely at a loss to understand this review - our top rate for a dble room including breakfast is £85 so are we expected to charge £40 a night? We would soon go out of business. It would be a good idea for this guest to research other hotels in the area to find out the charges! I think he will be very surprised. Very nice to read that our staff get very good reviews as does our freshly cooked breakfast - many thanks for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
2.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
685 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
445 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
2.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Falls Hotel

Property: Swallow Falls Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swallow Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Swallow Falls
Swallow Falls Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing