We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiker's paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swallow Falls Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Quite simply impossible to beat as a staging post for hiking in Snowdonia - or even a peaceful weekend away in Wales.

Set just off the A5 about 2 miles from Betws-Y-Coed, the setting is both peaceful and handy...and guess what - Swallow Falls itself is about 10 yards from the hotel entrance!

The staff are friendly and helpful, the chalet-like rooms spacious and the pub - although not always overly busy - is friendly and awash lots of like-minded hikers. Its not just a hotel either - there is a youth hostel and campsite on the premises. Its by no means isolated though, Betws-Y-Coed is a short taxi ride away (its walkable - 2 miles or so - but on top of hiking? Not for me). Book in advance though, taxis in the area are like gold dust!

To be perhaps overly picky, the floors are paper thin, so my friend and I were awakened both mornings by the child upstairs treating his/her room as a racetrack. But such is the way of hotels, and not necessarily the fault of the proprietors.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 542 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Convenient location in a lovely area. Stayed for 3 nights, co incidentally in the same room as a previous visit 2 years ago. The hotel is a bit tatty,as is the bar area, however room was clean and neat. Staff were without exception above average in friendliness and politeness which is a big plus. Food was adequate and value for money.The "Tavern" where breakfast is served could do with a revamp as it feels like a canteen.
Would I stay there again, yes, because I know what to expect.But I'd like to see some money spent on improving and updating the establishment

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimCoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

As others have said, reminded us of a motel. Outside room fine, but lacked character, breakfast good - food freshly prepared and hot. Breakfast staff polite and courteous. Bar and dining/breakfast room need some decorative attention. Menu poor. In our opinion, overpriced by at least £45 per night.

Room Tip: An outside room - Rooms 24 +
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorseCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Peter_Jones_61, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We are completely at a loss to understand this review - our top rate for a dble room including breakfast is £85 so are we expected to charge £40 a night? We would soon go out of business. It would be a good idea for this guest to research other hotels in the area to find out the charges! I think he will be very surprised. Very nice to read that our staff get very good reviews as does our freshly cooked breakfast - many thanks for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our mini honeymoon at this Inn, was truly amazing, the location is absolutely beautiful, your can hear the waterfall conveniently across the road, which made our stay very romantic. The staff were very polite, extremely friendly, they made us feel very welcome. Our room was very cosy, with many personal touches. As I am Canadian, I was quite impressed with the pub, with its charming authentic atmosphere, the tavern was very nicely laid out, the decor was beautiful, we dined in both the pub and the tavern and found the food to be delicious and quite hot upon its arrival. We will most definitely return and would recommend this beautiful Inn to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Traveled to Betws y coed and stumbled on this hotel - room was excellent and a pleasant surprise as we didn't know what to expect certainly not a lovely appointed room with a four poster bed- and a gorgeous bathroom and all for £60 with a lovely freshly cooked breakfast.
Granted bar needs some updating but bar food was excellent and really good value. This hotel is by far the best we stayed in during our quick break to Wales - far Superior to a B & B in Conway the previous night where we where charged £65 and the Premier Inn on the Wirral at £82 with breakfast. So well done Swallow Falls hotel we will recommend you here in the Isle of Man

Room Tip: our room with the four poster was divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This reminded me of a motel in the classic road movie style. Nothing memorable apart from the Bentley coupe parked in the staff bay! Our room was spacious, completely lacked any character but was clean and comfortable. We chose to buy a picnic in the quickie mart in the local town. (it was our third night in Wales and we wanted to eat a meal without the smell of chips). The bed was comfortable and we all slept well. The shower was tricky as it changed direction of its own accord. Not the worst motel I' ve ever stayed in...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic mini-holiday in Snowdonia and we really enjoyed our stay at the Swallow Falls Hotel and feel compelled to write an honest, positive review of the hotel (I was a little apprehensive given some of the reviews here, which really are unfair – it is a 3 star hotel after all): Our family room was clean and spacious. The food was tasty and good value (we'd previously had a terrible meal at a pub in Betws-y-Coed itself). The kids just loved the outdoor play area and exploring the hotel itself (lots of little rooms to discover...the garden room with the ping-pong table a hit). Beautiful setting but the hotel is sited on a bend in the road & the traffic goes very fast, making it hard to pull out. Staff were great too. We will be happy to return in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building and was a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Peter_Jones_61, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review and we are so pleased you were happy with your experience here. Again many thanks for mentioning the food quality - we believe we give excellent value for money and most of our guests feel the same.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
1.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
2.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
27 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Falls Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $66 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swallow Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Swallow Falls
Swallow Falls Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing