We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable accommodation in a stunning location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swallow Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swallow Falls Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation in a stunning location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked through group on offer so excellent value for money which included a cream tea for two. Room warm, clean & cosy. Staff polite & helpful. Only down side was our bar meal on first eve my partner had the steak pudding which only had one piece of steak & suet was hard and not edible at the edges, also I found the bar area cold there didn't seem to be any heating. Location opp the swallow waterfalls a sight to be seen, 5 mins from Bettws y Coed which has some shops, pubs, plenty of walks without getting into the car. We drove to Llanberis, the Padarn Lake is beautiful and the scenery whilst driving has a definite wow factor - an area to put on your to do list

Room Tip: We had a standard double room very comfortable, would have liked a bath with shower so would check n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mange57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    147
    66
    41
    37
See reviews for
92
183
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed november 2011 .shown to our room at the back and was shocked to discover it was a disabled room hand rails no bath and disabled shower chair sat in the wet room. We was not told this when booking if i had kmown i would have stayed elsewhere. The food was grim evening meal and breakfast also. Dirty plates cups and cutlery.dirty clothes and finger nails on the waitress. Deep fat fried full english tomatoes made my partner retch i am not fussy but this food was awfull. The pub area is uninviting and was not the cosy inn we expected.grest location but thats the lot really. Will not be staying again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guyj34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Betws-y-Coed hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

All in all a good clean hotel that is dog friendly, isn't going to win any awards, but the location is fantastic. Dont get too excited about breakfast, but the evening meals are nice. Not sure what the bar would be like in the summer, did have the feel of a local sports bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
132 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

stayed here for one night in the lodge rooms. It was freezing outside but when we opened the doors into the room we were met with a toasty warm room. Goo size and large with a big sofa bed. Bed was very comfortable.

Very reasonable price. My only criticism was that there was no phone or phone signal in the rooms and no internet which was difficult as I had no way of telling my partner that I had arrived or ability to work.

Customer service is obviously very important as they opened the breakfast room early for us as we had a meeting to attend so had to leave early.

Overall and excellent place to stay with the sound of rushing to water to send you to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in the low season, so the hotel was quiet - as in we barely saw any other guests and were the only people in the huge breakfast room each morning!
Our room was very comfortable and clean and it was nice to have the deep bath after we'd been out walking in the rain.
We ate in the bar on the first night. I wouldn't recommend this unless you're happy with very basic pub grub. The food was mediocre and the atmosphere was awful. It was pretty empty and cold - the same as the 'tavern' room where breakfasts were. I guess this would be better in peak season.
Given that there were so few guests, you would expect attentive service, but we didn't really receive service at all. In particular, at breakfast we were told by the waitress that the menus were on the counter and we could come and tell her what we wanted when we'd had a look at them.
This place is OK for the low price, the room was nice but I'd recommend eating elsewhere. The Ty Gwyn up the road was lovely, really friendly with a great log fire. They have rooms for not a lot more money so I think I would stay there in future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the YHA which forms part of the complex. Whilst basic the rooms are of a generous size were clean and warm. The hotel has some interesting benefits including a sauna, table tennis room and sports facilities. The staff were very helpful.

We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel and it was generally good with big portions.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel but we did eat in the pub twice because we thought it was extremely good value and also very tasty. If, like us, you were a bit loose with the purse strings in some of the pricier establishments and wanted a cheaper option, then this is the place for you! The menu offers a two for ten pound option - with a wide selection of pub classics to choose from. From Chilli Con Carne to Lamb Hot Pot, there is enough selection to impress even the fussiest of punter. My other half enjoyed the fact that there were nicely cooked peas.

As a slight aside, despite the good value, portions could be slightly bigger. As a larger man, I went away a little bit underfed and as a result positively gorged myself on my B&Bs selection of free biscuits.

The pub is in close proximity to the magnificent Swallow Falls and is therefore a good choice if you have just made the 2 mile treck up from the village. If you fancy, the pub has a pool table and a duke box, which we spent many a happy hour on.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Falls Hotel

Property: Swallow Falls Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Swallow Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Swallow Falls
Swallow Falls Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing