We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy pit stop”
Review of Alpine Coffee Shop

Alpine Coffee Shop
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Decided to grab some lunch whilst walking around the village on a red hot day. Outside under the canopy was a lovely shady spot and comfy seating. Plenty of choice on the menu and reasonably priced. I ordered a Mediterranean platter and it was gorgeous. So gorgeous I bought my favourite chutney so I can enjoy at home. Unfortunately walking home and bobbed in the local spar only to find same chutney at a quid less! I don't mind paying more but not a quid extra for same product anyone can buy. Anyhow.. staff are friendly, lots of cake choice and as for choice of teas the list is endless. Kids really enjoyed the hanging monkeys and gorilla water feature/ wishing well. Worth a visit if in the area.

1  Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kakop63, Owner at Alpine Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hello there, thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Apologies for the chutney, however as we are a small business we only buy in small quantities and therefore pay more for our products in comparison to places like Spar that but in huge quantities and so can charge less because they pay less. If you are so unhappy with paying £1 more, next time you visit the coffee shop we will give you your money back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 687 of 823 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I love this place! And the sustainability aspect makes it perfect! Food is delicious and the atmosphere is great. Love the orang-utan pictures!

Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kakop63, Owner at Alpine Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you very much and may you live forever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stopped here for lunch. The café is very busy but the queue kept moving so didn't have to wait too long for our food. We had sandwiches and goat's cheese quiche - there was a good selection of light lunches and cakes, but it was quite expensive for a self service café serving basic meals. Although it is a large café there was only one single toilet for men, women, children and baby changing which obviously led to continuous queues around people eating their food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Annie1141476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kakop63, Owner at Alpine Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit, as you pointed out yes we do only have one toilet. However I would like to tell you the history of our toilet........it has taken me from August 2008 until January 2014 to be able to get a toilet in the coffee shop due to planning restrictions and as you've been able to see for yourself we are fairly limited for space to put a toilet. So just be grateful we have a toilet. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

what a great place and so great to see a place catering for special dietary requirements, I enjoyed my free from Ginger cake and soya cappuccino whilst my husband enjoyed his Americano and cake. .Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dwaite7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stumbled into this coffee shop during our week in Snowdonia. It was very busy and long queues but there is a sign outside explaining that this might happen during busy periods. We ordered a Mediterannean sharing plate as well as a toasted sausage and caramelised onion sandwich. The food didn't take too long, and it was reasonable enough. The platter came out and there was a great array of little bits and pieces to chose from. The sandwich was delicious as well! After the food we ordered a take-away capuccino - and we were blown away! It was yummy. We went back 3 times for coffee to this place. The atmosphere in the cafe is great too. Would highly reccommend, but do expect to wait to order your food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grendo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kakop63, Owner at Alpine Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we're glad you enjoyed your visit so much, it's unfortunate you had to queue but we hope it was worth it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Coffee Shop also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Alpine Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing