We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it - food and decor just great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Coffee Shop

Alpine Coffee Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it - food and decor just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I enjoyed my visit immensely and would recommend it to my friends. Food was tasty and wholesome and catered for the various dietary needs of my party. Children were very welcome and treated kindly, staff were courteous and helpful when asked about the menu - they knew what was in the meals etc. When the food arrived it was gobbled up by everyone in the group with lots of pleasing comments. It wasn't overly pricey either despite being peak season. Loved the décor, every wall had something different to look at. The message of environmental awareness was not missed but not forced upon us either. Great place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    185
    46
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Quirky café with fabulous décor, and a menu to match. Found it on a day trip and the afternoon tea was better than the Ritz! Had to come back again for lunch.... very very busy, service a little slow, but well worth the wait as the food was delicious. So much choice, and very helpful and charming staff. Wish there was one in my city! Would detour through Betwys-y-coed just to eat here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've been to Betws-y-coed a few times, and always found it hard as a vegan.
This time was no different, until I was waiting for my train home.
I was hungry, so thought I would give the coffee shop a whirl on the off chance that there would be SOMETHING I could eat.
One word.
WOW.
A whole page of vegan goodies!
I had the vegan burger with melted vegan cheese...yum!
The place has a great relaxed feel to it, an oasis from the heat outside.
LOVED the fact that they support animal charities (even if I did find it a little odd that they sold meat AND supported animal charities.)
Was just so nice to have a choice of what I ate, and to feel that they had taken care to provide things I could eat.
The staff were friendly, and it reminded me of the vegan/veggi coffee shop that I volunteer at in Southampton, the Art House.
Will definitely be going there a lot mroe every time I visit Betws-y-coed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just as good when busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I reviewed this coffee shop back in the New Year on a very quiet January day when we were very impressed with the food and service. I am happy to report that the Alpine has maintained its standard and is equally capable of providing excellent food and service on a busy sunny July day. We enjoyed breakfast on the platform and despite the queue generated by the arrival of several coaches the staff dealt with diners quickly and efficiently. We waited less than ten minutes for piping hot delicious breakfasts to arrive. I would recommend this coffee shop to anyone visiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadybugMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent coffee cakes and snacks has a nice area wher you can sit outside. Really handy for refresments before getting on the train service is good and staff friendly

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MJJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Coffee Shop also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Alpine Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing