We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 great meals - good service and friendly staff too”
Review of Grill Room

Grill Room
Ranked #9 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Welsh, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“2 great meals - good service and friendly staff too”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were visiting Snowdonia for my Mother in Law's 75th birthday, so wanted somewhere nice to eat that wasn't too stuffy. She's also a very fussy eater! We checked out the menu at The Grill during our first afternoon, and booked a table for that night. It was a good choice - the food was well cooked and tasty, with good portion sizes. Our waitress was particularly friendly and good fun; aware when we needed something but not too invasive. The Welsh lamb was beautiful (as you'd expect!) The only slight negative was temperature, as it was so hot in there due to having been very warm and sunny during the day.

So good was it that, rather than risk spoiling our visit by going somewhere inferior, we ate there again the second evening and had another lovely experience with great service.

Recommended, and I would definitely eat there again next time I'm in the area (which will be sooner, rather than later!)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    123
    43
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grill Room”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Food and Service excellent. We had the local trout which was delicious. Lovely setting with great photos of the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kksavory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penmachno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, keenly priced”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good place for slightly more formal, but not too stuffy meals. Portions are generous, quality is good, service is slick, even fast, (but tails off as the evening progresses). Value is excellent. I rate the Grill as one of my top 4 in Betws (along with The Bistro, The Stables and Ty Gwyn). A reliable staple

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Hughes006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Visited twice during our stay in Betws-y-Coed. The first meal was excellent- I did enjoy the braised pork belly. The second visit was distinctly average. The rice in my stroganoff was undercooked and the meal was under-seasoned. My friend had a paella which was cooked with basmati rice! Again undercooked. I would give it 3.5 stars if I could but compared to the the other two restaurants we visited in Betws-y-Coed (rated #1 and #2 on Tripadvisor), it was very much a poor third.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Straightforward and great”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Quick service for a 2/3 full Tuesday night with pleasant attentive staff. Straightforward in respect of the cuisine but all very fresh and cooked perfectly. The trio of deserts to follow was enough for two. The only let down was the coffee. Don't expect find dining just good local produce well cooked and presented

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill Room also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing