We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice coffee with added bonus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cadwaladers Betws-Y-Coed

Cadwaladers Betws-Y-Coed
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cadwaladers was established in 1927 in the little village of Criccieth by David and Hannah Cadwalader. Over the years, we have expanded our popular ice cream and coffee cafes all over Wales and England, bringing the best quality service and products to our customers. We are proud to still serve our traditional recipe ice cream developed by Hannah Cadwalader (which still includes the famously secret ingredient!) and now our specially developed exclusive blend of espresso, hot chocolate and loose leaf tea which have been designed to redefine the standards of excellence in hot beverages. With our competitive prices, special products and caring team, we can assure you that we can provide options for all the family, including gluten free ice cream and cakes.So bring your friends, children, partner and dogs! To our lovely cosy cafés and relax in comfort whilst our friendly team treat you to the very best Wales can bring, served with a great deal of love and care.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice coffee with added bonus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

When a party of 5 of us visited Cadwaladers, 3 of the party ordered cakes, ie 2 muffins and 1 scone. These were beautifully presented along with tasty ice cream samples. Much nicer than just a cake.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lymmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    16
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Flavours: Peppermint & Chilli; Sage and Onion: Wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stopped here again for an ice cream. This time they had Peppermint & Chilli as well as Sage and Onion ice cream.

Interesting. We liked it, but not for everyday!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alias_Ned_Flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“brillant! good value, yummy,delcious,in village centre. service very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

very pretty village, senery fantastic everywhere you looked! had lovely meal at royal oak and the ty glywen hotel

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
173900
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum! (Criccieth)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

It's brilliant! I used to go as a kid (late 80's / early 90's). I took my wife on a nostalgia trip only to discover the place has been transformed! Firstly I was pleased to find it open at 7 pm on a Sunday, secondly I Iove the way it is now a cafe and you can sit in with great views of the bay. The ice cream is as great as I remember!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank 173900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Excellent Ice Cream; Excellent Service; Friendly helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We took a short trip to Betws for a mornings drive and shopping. It was miserable weather and we wanted a brief refreshments stop.

In the Station tourist shops, much frequented by touring coaches, is Cadwaladers. We recognise them from their other shops in Wales and knew their ice cream to be good, so we stopped and had coffee and ice cream.

We had a weaning baby with us, and the staff were most helpful in offering small fruit to the baby to handle, which was above and beyond any expectation. Thank you so much.

We loved the ice cream, baby loved the fruit and we all enjoyed the shelter and rest stop.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alias_Ned_Flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cadwaladers Betws-Y-Coed also viewed

 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cadwaladers Betws-Y-Coed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing