We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rynys Farm Camping Site
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Me and my girlfriend booked to stay in the Shepard's hut for two days in July and i can say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! First off i must say i was really put off by the review below by "Raulmeireles" after reading their review i was unsure of what i was letting myself in for but decided to book just the same. When we arrived we we're greeted by Carol and i can honestly say she is the opposite of the review below! she was very helpful and very pleasant more like a best friend than an owner. She showed us to the Shepard's Hut and gave us all the information we needed. The Shepard's hut was very cosy when we entered as Carol had left the fire on, and the kettle boiling for us upon arrival as the weather was raining buckets which was very nice of her. The Hut itself has a fold out double bed which is very comfortable and spacious. The hut has a small outside kitchenette, with a gas hob, pots and pans, plates and cutlery and a small fridge to keep your food cold, so its pretty much everything you need! There are two sets of toilets on the site, one block has one male and one female but the bigger block has 2 male toilets with 2 male showers and i assume the female block is the same. The toilet blocks we're always clean and the toilet roll holders we're always full! The shower are on 10p meters and are boiling hot which is great especially in the weather we had! There a few good walks from the site to various places which we loved, also i must mention that we took our 5 month old Siberian husky puppy with us and that wasn't a problem, which is great because not a lot of campsites allow dogs. At the campsite the rules are written clearly in the toilet blocks which include, No noise or drinking between 8am and 11pm, No music at ANY time and the rest are pretty much keep the place tidy and respect the needs of others! So in conclusion dont be put off by the bad review we found Carol quite the opposite and super friendly :) We will defiantly be returning to this campsite again

Room Tip: Give the Shepard's Hut a go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Day_tripper1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My family have visited Rynys Farm Campsite many times over several years. We have always enjoyed our stay and waxed lyrical over the fabulous scenery all around the site. Whether with our grown up children plus their offspring or as a couple, we look forward to spending time there and love to just potter about or walk through the fabulous wooded area spotting as many birds as possible.

The owners are super friendly and helpful every time we have camped at their site. I particularly recall a mid week visit when Carol drove up to a camper van nearby and a gentleman very gingerly got out of her car and she assisted him into his van and proceeded to put various bits and pieces inside. It transpired that he had fallen on the hillside above the farm and was injured.Carol had taken him to hospital and collected him when he was discharged and organised for a low loader van to take him and his vehicle to his next destination. The gentleman was effusive in his praise of her attention to him. Apart from the lovely area and the simple but spotless facilities of the site, this is what draws us back to Rynys Farm. We know that we can ask for assistance and the owners will do their utmost to oblige.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralFresh_air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We have just returned this afternoon from spending a lovely weekend at this campsite. We were greeted by Gareth and Carol in a very friendly manner and Carol showed us where we could set up our caravan. We were in a lovely spot (and were almost alone on our field!!) with fantastic views of the mountains, peace and quiet apart from the sheep and a few chickens clucking around the caravan. We enjoyed several walks around Betsw-y-coed and also walks from the campsite itself. Carol was brilliant at advising us on where to go and which routes to take to get there. We enjoyed excellent eggs from the farm for our breakfast this morning and I'm gutted that I forgot to get more to bring home!! The shower/toilet blocks were basic, but more than enough for our needs, showers run on a meter, 10p for 2 minutes, 50p was more than enough for a hot shower!! We will definitely return with the children, they will love all the open space to run around and play. This is exactly how we like our camping/caravanning experiences to be.....calm, with friendly owners and like minded people on the site. I am amazed that one of the other reviewers found Carol to be the rudest person he had ever met.......we thought she was absolutely lovely. I can only imagine it must be another Carol....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have probably an unjustified but yet still passionate hatred of the Camping and Caravanning Club. From my experience they turn camping at a campsite from what should be a relaxed affair into a full list of rules and regulations with symmetrical and clinical set pitches. I’m guessing this is a caravan owners dream but for me something I hate.

Rynys Farm Camping Site is what camp site should be. Situated in a very friendly location with breathtaking surroundings. Open fields where you can set-up pitch anywhere you want with the odd tree dotted about. This does make finding a flat spot to pitch your tent more difficult but is that not part of the appeal.

I spent a long weekend at this site about 2 years ago and returned during July, 2011. Intended to spend 3 days but extended for 7 using this campsite as a base for trips around Northern Wales and the Snowdonia region.

This site is basic but that is what I like about it. The following facilities are available:
-Toilet block, not large but big enough. Showers at a small charge. I think 20p for a few mins but could be wrong.
-Games room with pool table
-Washing facilities
-Clothes driers (small charge) though no washer

This camp site is close to Betws-y-Coed but it is not a short walk (no paths and would be along a road) and if you want to pop-out to visit the shops or one of the restaurants you would probably want to drive. There is a pub within walking distance including a café just at the camp site entrance which has free WiFi.

What a camp site should be and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank mark_ncl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
2.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#3 of 15 in Bala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.3 mi away
Plas Curig Hostel
Plas Curig Hostel
#1 of 1 in Capel Curig
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rynys Farm Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rynys Farm Camping Site

Property: Rynys Farm Camping Site
Address: Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL26 0RU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Also Known As:
Rynys Farm Camping Site Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing