We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELSH RAREBIT FOR LUNCH!”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014

After a lovely day walking around the impressive town of Betws-y-Coed, we decided to have lunch here. Parking was a little awkward but managed to park on a small car park directly opposite the hotel.
We both decided to try the Welsh Rarebit which was absolutely delicious! Very substantial too.
Look forward to a future visit!

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LynStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 791 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

On our way from France & heading to catch the Holyhead ferry we stopped off at the picturesque Wales village of Betws-y-Coed.We weren't disappointed.The friendly little receptionist who greeted us did a very good job.We didn't need the superior deluxe suites for our stop over so the receptionist recommended to us to stay in the courtyard rooms & avail of the pub grub & have breakfast in the main Hotel.
The breakfast was the best ever.All local produce with the bread being baked up the road.Fantastic breakfast & a great place to stay.Wonderful outdoor shops nearby to help you enjoy the great outdoors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I recently booked a special birthday for my wife, in which i upgraded to one of the special rooms which was very nice facing out onto the river across the road.The food was excellent with a big hearty breakfast to start the day, which kept us going till our evening dinner. I asked for a nice table for our special occasion and they duly applied with balloons etc. The meal was one of the best i have ever had and great value. there was also access to the spa down the road.The staff where very accommodating and i would recommend the Royal Oak to anyone. Fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: upgrade as its not to much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney-j-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came in here twice, the first time to see about our evening meal, and the second time for coffee. Both times there was that uncomfortable feeling of invisibility where you can see the staff, but they just don't acknowledge you. Prices were on the steep side too, so needless to say, we left both times. I have the feeling that this hotel can do better - maybe because I had children, they were just not that interetsed in us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sandiepTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We dropped in here for refreshments during our visit to Betws-y-Coed.
Very pleasant relaxed, comfortable atmosphere.
We didn't eat but the menu looked good and reasonably priced.
Seemed to be a popular hotel.
Staff very pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the village at a local B&B and the owner recommended this place for dinner. It was so good the first night that we went back the subsequent two nights. Ate twice in the restaurant (three courses for £25) and in the Grill Bar once. The food was really good and great value for money, while the service was excellent with attentive and friendly waiting staff. The only tiny complaint was that on the trio of desserts (crumble,pie etc) the custard was out of a can. As everything else was very home cooked we were disappointed a real custard wasn't made. However this did not overshadow three excellent meals out. Oh, and the wine list was comprehensive and reasonably priced too - bonus!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank shelagh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Another great stay. Staff always friendly and welcoming. Thanks for the surprise. Room fantastic, great view. Ideal base for touring. Food, as always, out of this world. Can recommend the Stables Bar for lunch. Already planning next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westbr00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
552 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $119 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing