We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the village at a local B&B and the owner recommended this place for dinner. It was so good the first night that we went back the subsequent two nights. Ate twice in the restaurant (three courses for £25) and in the Grill Bar once. The food was really good and great value for money, while the service was excellent with attentive and friendly waiting staff. The only tiny complaint was that on the trio of desserts (crumble,pie etc) the custard was out of a can. As everything else was very home cooked we were disappointed a real custard wasn't made. However this did not overshadow three excellent meals out. Oh, and the wine list was comprehensive and reasonably priced too - bonus!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank shelagh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 788 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Another great stay. Staff always friendly and welcoming. Thanks for the surprise. Room fantastic, great view. Ideal base for touring. Food, as always, out of this world. Can recommend the Stables Bar for lunch. Already planning next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westbr00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Only average because of the room choice. A shame because the reception staff were good, the food was good and the service good too. This place is big and busy but seems to have everything under control. The parking arrangement works but when the sun is out and there are lots of people in Betws y Coed parking can be a bit tight. Our problem was that we had one of the slightly cheaper rooms which means a room at the back with no view and also a bit gloomy. Not a big problem (the room is a decent size and perfectly ok) but it was rather stuffy so we had the window open - which then means you hear the noise of the generator and the smell of food cooking is quite strong throughout the evening and night and then again early in the morning when breakfast is underway. When we checked out there was an over-charge that the receptionist very quickly sorted. We told her our problem with the room, she said that next time we could try the front (more expensive) rooms, but warned us we would then have to cope with the noise of traffic. Basically that is the choice, noise and food smell at the back or noise at the front. Shame, especially when the staff seem so good. We would go back to eat here, but not to stay given the choice on rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Experienced a thoroughly enjoyable weekend with excellent service from all staff and outstanding food. The atmosphere is very relaxing and friendly. Probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at and we look forward to our next visit. We can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Lovely meal at this nice hotel on the main street in Betwys - the restaurant has a harpist on a Weds night and she really adds to the experience. Lovely room, chandeliers, tasteful decor and very attentive staff. Even though there was a large party in, service was very good - I would have said 'excellent' but the waitress didn't mention there not being a 'compote' with the cheese board and when asked about it she said 'It is freshly made up, and there is none left', she said this to the next table too - so why was none 'made up'?! I was also unhappy to see an 'extra' drink on the bill (I hate that type of thing), but apart from these little things it was really very good. Lovely choice on the menu, if you want 'medium rare' steak, I would ask for 'rare' as it was well done in my view. But everything else was great - very reasonably priced for standard of food. May stay here next visit on strength of evening meal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were offered a lovely comfortable room when we stayed at this hotel and asked if we were happy with our room. We mentioned that we would prefer a view of the fields and hills surrounding the pretty village and we were offered an equally lovely room with a super view which we enjoyed staying in. The food in the restaurant and grill were excellent as was the service. We shall definitely be returning to this delightful part of Wales again and hope to use a similar super deal via travel zoo.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist if you have any doubts about your room and they will be pleased to assist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikejones1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

It was my first time booking for a large group of people and every step of the way I found The Royal Oak to be very helpful. We were 12 group of ladies with a mission to climb up Mount Snowdon and we stayed at The Royal Oak in Betws-y-Coed as our base. On booking, the hotel were very accomodating arranging rooms, close to eachother, in The Lodge which is located at the back of the hotel. Rooms were charged at £80 per room per night. We arrived at 1:30pm and alongside our key we were given a free car park voucher. To achieve the best rate for breakfast I booked it advance. The hotel receptionist, on finding out we were climbing Mount Snowdon, arranged for breakfast to be served at 7am and advised us to leave before 8am before the area around Mount Snowdon became busy. From the hotel Llanberis is a 25 minute drive from Mount Snowdon and with the advice from the receptionist we were able to start our trek, with ease, at 8:45am.

In the room there was a TV, speakers for your Ipod, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, fresh towels, firm mattresses on the bed, shampoo and body wash in the shower and it was toasty warm. They do have a rule of no take aways nor red wine in the lodge, which is fair enough. The room was immaculate and spacious.

Overall our visit was very pleasant and the staff very friendly. I would stay again and recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Medcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
786 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $125 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing