We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The staff at The Royal Oak hotel were very friendly and helpful, a warm welcome on arrival after a 4 1/2 hour drive. The room was a basic double an was on top of the Stables bar to the side. The room was cosy but could really do with freshening up and I was dreading getting to sleep hearing all the customers under our bedroom window in Stables. The room however was very clean and the bathroom clean, although the flooring was very grubby and could do with replacing. We went to The Stables in the afternoon to see the menu and have a glass of wine ..........very busy and full of kids and dogs............to noisy for us. We ate at The Grill Bar in the evening and whilst not the best ambiance the food was quite good. The waitress was very friendly and we had a good laugh with her despite being under pressure from the busy and moaning other guest. She also waited on us for breakfast and was still happy and cheerful. Off to bed and when we closed the windows we could not hear any of the noise from the bar under us........however due to the age of the hotel every time someone walked past our room in the corridor the floorboards creaked and bounced our bed.........luckily no one was wandering in the night!! We had a really good sleep. Good breakfast the next day went to breakfast 5 mins before opening 7:40 and still got a cheery welcome. We walked Snowdon on the Saturday, and when returning the room was tidied but could have done with a hoovering as there were still bits which had been there before we went out. Not wanting a big restaurant meal and feeling very tired after our Snowdon achievement we braved The stable bar........still very noisy with walkers, kids and dogs(why?!!). However the Salmon and lasagne were very tasty. Retreated to hotel bar for a night cap and bed. Check out receptionist was very helpful and gave us more maps and information about the area. I would definitely recommend the Royal Oak as Betwsy Coed is a lovely, vibrant town that has something to suit everyone. Having read the room information explaining refurbishment of the bar and restaurant, I would suggest spending some money on doing up the rooms, corridors and bringing the decor behind the front desk up to date

Room Tip: All rooms could be noisy front or side but when windows closed they are quite. Rooms over door look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 779 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

We visited the Royal Oak Grill after a long walk. We were greeted with a smile, so that's a great start. The food was well cooked and very tasty, our party having Goats Cheese and Thai fish cakes to start, followed by the Trout and haddock and chips. All the courses tasted lovely, not over cooked, just done to perfection.
Our waitress was helpful, friendly but not overly so. We will defiantly return the next time we are in the area.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank welshman279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We often spend the afternoon in Betws y coed, and every time we do we make a point of having lunch in the grill bar of the Royal Oak. On every occasion the food has been freshly cooked to perfection and delivered quickly to the table. The choice of menu is varied, we have never had the same dish twice but everything we have had has been very tasty and well presented. I can recommend when on, the salmon, liver, cod, beef and sausages. I would like also to take the opportunity of praising the lady who regularly waits on us at the table who is extremely pleasant, efficient and shows excellent customer care. All the staff seem to have excellent customer care skills. For all those who like real ale, it is well worth sampling the Snowdonia which is well kept and a pleasure to sample.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We travelled down for a mini break and found this little hotel which looks lovely. The rooms are large, the towels are fluffy and the bed was huge. It was a little overpriced but it was a decent stay. It is situated in a pleasant little town with many restaurants and shops. It is also only 30 minutes from Conwy castle which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Spa attached at sister hotel 10 min walk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livvvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed 3 nughts at thid hotel, fantastic location. Great views, great staff , who went out if their way to help.Room waa good value for money clean spacious.We only booked bed and breakfast....the breakfast was great....either full welsh ( worth trying ) or pick from menu...continental or hot.....you cant fault it.
Will reccomend this hotel to friend's, family snd work
collegues.....will try and return again either later this year if possible

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwharfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had two meals at the Royal Oak Hotel grill bar. The customer service was excellent and the food was very good. I can recommend main courses duck, traditional fish and chips, and for a starter, the scallops. The wine and beer is excellent, but most of all, the front of house staff make this place a very enjoyable and friendly place to eat after a hard day either climbing, walking or ambling around this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had lunch here on 6th April 2014. We ate in the restaurant and chose from the lunch menu, 2 courses for £12.50 and 3 for £14.95. We were very disappointed with the pretentious menu and we were not pleasantly surprised when the food arrived. The melon and the pork starter were both very small, with the apple sauce with the pork being larger that the pork! The main course faired not better, the venison was very thinly sliced on a machine so must have then been warmed up and was full of fat and grisel. The desserts were better but nothing to rave about. A very disappointing meal. A previous visit was much nicer but all pleasant memories have now been replaced by a second rate meal.
Disabled toilet also not really nice to use as floor wet, not toilet roll holder so damp loo paper!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
32 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $104 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing