We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Tyrch Inn(Capel Curig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveler rating
434
264
90
29
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
264
90
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillstables barstables lodgesunday lunchlovely hotelsuperior roommain restaurantlambfish and chipshotel restaurantate herenorth walesan evening mealone night stayboth nightscouldn't faultlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 833 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went to the Royal Oak, Betws y coed for lunch as it was Valentine's Day. We were greeted by local Welsh speaking staff and their attention was fantastic throughout. The choice of menu was very impressive - two or three courses for a very reasonable price. The food was excellent as was the service. We had a lovely time. Diolch yn fawr iawn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked for the Valentine's dinner. The dining room was nicely decorated with heart shaped balloons on the table. The roaring fire was very welcome on a wet gloomy night. Staff were friendly and attentive. Food was tasty, well cooked and good value at £30 a head. The wine list was fairly basic but acceptable. The dining room had a nice atmosphere and we relaxed in the bar area with coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekenderrhosonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed for a one night break bought on travelzoo. The weather was dire and we were just missed by a falling tree on the A5. Very friendly welcome and free parking Nice standard room with comfy bed and quality linens. Exceptionally clean bathroom despite being small. Spotless toilet - some Hotels could learn much from this one on standards of cleanliness. Staff VERY friendly it was quiet but had a lovely meal in the restaurant with a very good menu to choose from and superb waitress catering for all our needs. Good breakfast beware of very large full Welsh Breakfast - good but big! Only one criticism we stayed in our room for a few hours after arrival and before dinner because of the awful weather and radiator struggled a bit to heat room but bearing in mind the suffering in Wales with no power in many places we really should not complain. Good value for money and will return and recommend to friends

Room Tip: Standard are fine but superior and deluxe are bigger better views and feature furniture such as 4 posters depends on purpose of stay and length
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillypenguin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent the night at the Royal Oak on an £89 Travelzoo deal, well if you get the chance do it, bed breakfast and 3 course evening meal beat that if you can, the food was excellent and you had the choice off the menu not a set one, £50 was the value and that was included in the £89 total, the hotel is clean nice and we'll presented well with a stay and we might even go again with the offer

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank malouShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A one night stay in January at the Royal Oak was most enjoyable. Well situated in the center of the village for a pleasant stroll around the local shops. We had a warm welcome at reception. Our room was clean and very comfortable. Very warm (just turn down the radiator or open a window if you are too hot, better than being cold!). The bed was particularly comfortable. The bathroom was as you would expect in a refurbished 'character' hotel, not perfect but still very good. The supply of hot water was amazing - piping hot as soon as you turn on the tap so the plumbing system must be brilliant.
An earlier reviewer moans about creaking floorboards - yes there are a few in the corridors but this is an old 'character' building, albeit refurbished, not a brand new building! So you should expect a few quirks or go and stay in a brand new building in the center of a city. The one star review further below is certainly not representative on the basis of my visit.
We dined in the Hotel Bar Grill and the food was very good, not brilliant but very good. I wasn't paying 5 star prices so I don't expect 5 star service/facilities/food. Breakfast was excellent - could not be better. Everything you could want, very well cooked. An earlier reviewer objects to cling film on pastries at breakfast - well if there are only a few people staying overnight in the middle of winter, all coming to breakfast over a couple of hours then yes leave the cling film on to keep the pastries fresh! I can cope with removing it if I want a fresh pastry. The staff were very friendly both at dinner and breakfast.
The hotel and village were quiet as you would expect in mid winter and it may be a lot noisier in the summer, but for a short winter break it was great. I will definitely return.
The waterfall Swallow Falls is near by and well worth seeing especially in winter when it is in full flow. But you need £1.50 in the right change for the turnstile!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arth007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews