We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much better than 3 stars.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So much better than 3 stars.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Have stayed in the hotel and Lodge accommodation many times over the years, but this was my 1st visit in over 2 years. Chose to stay in the Lodge accommodation, and it has been refurbished to a good standard, offering really good value for many. Royal Oak is simply the best place to stay in the area, excellent location in a beautiful village, and the surrounding area is simply stunning.
I can only confirm what other comments have highlighted, the staff in the restaurants and reception extremely attentive, and nothing is too much trouble, receptionist booked my group a table and taxi to another restaurant a few miles away. That's not to say that the food at the Royal Oak fails to deliver, there is a choice of 3 venues that cater for all tastes and budgets, where ever you eat the quality is very good. Stay in the lodge accommodation or hotel either way, you will not be disappointed, I will not wait 2 years for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    202
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
139
346
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is located bang in the middle of Betws-y-coed,so their car park is available ( very handy when the village is choc full of visitors. ). We stayed for one night in one of the deluxe rooms that overlooked the river & which featured a 4 poster bed & we were perfectly happy with that. We decided to go for the dinner/bed & breakfast deal ( which I didn't fully understand ! ) however, the evening meal & breakfast next morning were excellent. I couldn't fault the staff either.They were polite, friendly & attentive. My only minor gripes were the narrow, steep staircase up to the room, & the fact we couldn't seem to switch the radiator off, so we had to open the windows to stop the room being uncomfortably hot. Summing up, I would say this is a nice hotel in a great location, with good food & staff & I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forfarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The wife and I needed somewhere to stay as we climbed Snowdon a couple of times in training for a trip up Kilimanjaro in a few weeks time. This place was recommended to us and I've got to say an excellent hotel with THE most friendly staff I've ever come across. Ideally located if you are walking and right in the middle of the very pretty town of Betws-Y-Coed. Would thoroughly recommend and will stay there again when we next do some walking

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTFWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

35 in our group for a weekend break were made very welcome by excellent staff. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the food very good and we had a most relaxing and enjoyable time. Highly recommended for groups or individuals to enjoy local sight seeing or a relaxing time. The hotel will need to spend soon on the fabric of the building and facilities but this did not detract from our stay.

Room Tip: En suite deluxe rooms are very good value and well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have been to the Royal Oak on a number of occasions and can still extol its virtues after every visit. The staff must rank among the most friendly anywhere in Great Britain, always willing to oblige and they are always pleasant to its clientele. I have never heard a bad word spoken about this hotel, and would praise the decor and the meals with equal affection. Our visit this year was for three nights, but we could easily recommend The Royal Oak, Betws-y-Coed for longer stays as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenandcath79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a great hotel our room was clean and very comfortable. Only stayed 1 night had lovely evening meal couldn't fault it I would like to mention jan the waitress as she made us feel very welcome. Breakfast enjoyable would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisatb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caernarfon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, pub, restaurant!! Good price!! Food lovely. Weve been lots of times over the years and have NEVER been dissapointed with this hotel. Please call in if your in town, enjoy you meal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meira76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing